RSS

Daily Archives: October 17, 2011

Author Spotlight no.22 – Lynn Goodwin

To complement my daily blog interviews I started a series of regular Author Spotlights and today’s, the twenty-second, is of author of articles, stories (and much more), Writer Advice.com guru and writing tutor Lynn Goodwin.

B. Lynn Goodwin is the author of You Want Me To Do What? – Journaling for Caregivers (Tate Publishing). Her stories and articles have been published many places including Voices of Caregivers; Hip Mama; the Oakland Tribune; the Contra Costa Times; the Danville Weekly; Staying Sane When You’re Dieting; Small Press Review; Dramatics Magazine; Career; We Care; and The Sun.

She’s taught workshops and written reviews for Story Circle Network. She also writes for StudySync and Caregiver Village. She facilitates writing workshops and publishes Writer Advice. She’s also a Manuscript Consultant.

And now from the author herself:

The California Writers Club recently asked me to list my principal genre. I listed book reviewer, author interviewer, flash fiction writer, fiction writer, article writer, journaler, personal essay writer, e-zine editor, writing consultant, and education writer. Truthfully, my primary interest fluctuates, but I circled “flash fiction writer” as my favorite form because my best writing often mimics fiction even though it’s tied to my life and might be mini-memoir.  I cross genres.

A writing partner once convinced me I am on my own unique path and I should not want to be on hers. She writes memoir and focuses on one project at a time during the hours her kids are in school. That sounds good to me, but it’s not who I am or where I am. I’m a writer hurrying to answer requests, keep up with assignments, and find time for my own stories. My writing blurs the lines between fiction and creative non-fiction.

I love my life. I love writing. The short version of my bio reads, “B. Lynn Goodwin is the author of You Want Me to Do WHAT? Journaling for Caregivers and the managing editor of Writer Advice. She also writes for StudySync.net and CaregiverVillage.com.” In 31 words I show the world that I write constantly in varying genres.

You Want Me to Do WHAT? Journaling for Caregivers offers encouragement, instructions, and over 200 sentence starts so no one ever has to face the blank page again. I’ve used the book with caregivers for spouses, parents, and special needs children. I’ve shared it with nurses and social workers. I’ve also discovered that they work for anyone facing writer’s block. If I had a chance to do one thing differently, I’d call the book You Want Me to Do WHAT? Journaling for Everyone. You can get copies quickly from Amazon or you can order them from independent bookstores.

Writer Advice will be fourteen years old this October. The e-zine includes author interviews, book and website reviews, a contests and markets page, writing advice, a Flash page which includes the winners of our annual Flash Prose Contest, and much more. To receive notices, including requests for submissions, subscribe (no charge) by e-mailing Lgood67334@comcast.net.

I host a book club called The Joys of Journaling at Caregiver Village, I write essay questions and more at StudySync, and I write book reviews and teach classes at Story Circle Network. In addition I often draft short stories and essays that tell my story. I carry my journal because there’s always one more observation or discovery to write down.

If anything here intrigues you, visit me at Writer Advice. You can e-mail me from there, and I’d love to hear from you.

Yes, please do get in contact. Thank you Lynn. :)

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with Daniel Silver – the one hundred and sixtieth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, directors, bloggers, autobiographers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me. You can also read / download my eBooks here.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

BLOGFLASH! fantasy author Catherine Stovall ‘Stolen’ giveaway

Catherine Stovall is a new and upcoming author of fantasy fiction. Her novel, Stolen, is the first in the Requiem of Humanity series. Catherine received her Associates of Science in Criminal Justice from Colorado Technical University. After working in the Criminal Justice field for several years, she has decided to dedicate her life to her true passion, creating captivating works of fiction. She currently lives in southeast Missouri with her husband, three children, and pets. You can read my recent interview with her here and guest post entitled ‘When bad titles happen to good books’ here.

And the reason for this blogflash? Catherine’s publisher Untreed Reads is offering a reader of this blogflash, Catherine’s guest post or interview a chance of winning a complimentary eBook copy of Catherine’s debut novel ‘Stolen‘. All you have to do is leave a comment (hopefully just as complimentary! :)) at the bottom of this page between Mondays 17th (when this blogflash was posted) and 24th October and you’ll be in the draw. Thank you. :)

And thank you Catherine and Untreed Reads for including me in your blog tour!

If you write (or read, or both!) and would like to take part in this blog in some way then feel free to email me.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2011 in blog, competitions, ebooks, interview, novels, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Podcast: Bailey’s Writing Tips – Episode 041 (17 Oct 2011) – NaNoWriMo

Episode 41 of the Bailey’s Writing Tips podcast was released Monday 17th October.

The yearly ‘50,000 words in the month of November’ project NaNoWriMo was looming and a topic for conversation on Twitter, especially between one of my followers (also a followee) Catherine Noble and myself. So the idea of doing an episode of my NaNo experiences was hatched and a few days later, the podcast episode aired.

The websites mentioned in this episode were http://nanowrimo.org, http://storyaday.org and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nanowrimo and concluded with a 257-word first-person short story called ‘Flickering.

The podcast is available via iTunesGoogle’s FeedburnerPodbean (when it catches up), Podcasters (which takes even longer) or Podcast Alley (which doesn’t list the episodes but will let you subscribe).

Details of the other episodes (interviews, reviews, red pen sessions etc.) can be found here.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2011 in NaNoWriMo, novels, recommendations, tips

 

Tags: , , ,

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,551 other followers