RSS

Daily Archives: October 22, 2011

Author Spotlight no.24 – Louise Crawford

To complement my daily blog interviews I recently started a series of Author Spotlights and today’s, the twenty-fourth, is of romantic suspense author Louise ‘L.F.’ Crawford.

Louise or L.F. Crawford holds an M.A. in Psychology – handy in developing characters and their murderous motivations. She started writing 16 years ago and is an award-winning author of over 18 books. Crawford writes a romantic suspense series featuring substance abuse counselor Blaize McCue and Homicide Detective Stephanos Zoloski.  The 4th book, Blaize of Trouble is coming out from Mundania Press soon.  The second book in her paranormal suspense series with Beverly Hills Detectives Art Murry and Billy Kidman, Fortune Cookie Karma is now available in e-formats and paperback from Mundania Press, www.mundania.com.  Three of her books were nominated for the Romantic Times Magazine Reviewers Choice award for Best Mystery. (www.lfcrawford.com).  Two have been on the publisher’s bestseller list.  Her books have won the Eppie for Best Mystery and been a finalist for Best Mystery three times.  She is currently working on the second book of a new IN BLOOD thriller series featuring Jane Blackwood, a stunt helicopter pilot who cannot remember the first 12 years of her life, her foster brother Nelson Blackwood, who’s developed a passion for killing, and Jane’s love interest, Detective MacCaffrey, who wants to put Nelson behind bars.  Fans of “Dexter” should check out this series.  You can read an excerpt from the first book, Born in Blood at www.newconceptspublishing.com.  For a look at her fantasy and romance novels, check out her other web site: http://www.louisecrawfordbooks.com.

And now from the author herself:

I started writing for fun when a friend asked me if I’d like to write a spy novel (think Robert Ludlum) together. Since she lived in another state, we mailed chapters back and forth over the next year or two.  No email back then and I typed everything on an IBM Selectric borrowed on the weekends from a friend.

We finished the book, sent it off to a few publishers and got some nice rejections, as in encouraging. She didn’t want to pursue it, I did. I wrote a vampire novel, which went through many permutations before I sent off the first chapter to a Best First Chapter of a Novel contest, and won!  The idea of traveling to the conference and meeting agents, etc., was too overwhelming for me at the time and I didn’t go.  I did send it out to a new agent who had me rewrite the dark fantasy into a romance novel.  Though she never sold it, I learned a lot about writing query letters and submitting my work from her over the next few years.  Then she quit the business and I started submitting on my own.

By then I’d written the first in my fantasy romance series, based on a dream: MARIAH’S LOVE, which was one of 5 finalists for Best Fantasy Romance in Romance Writers of America’s annual contest.  I’d also started writing short contemporary romance with Ramona Butler, a humor writer who wrote funny stories for the newspaper, in one of my critique groups.  Our short contemporary romance, PIUTE PRIDE, renamed, HIGH FLYING LOVE, was a finalist in the RWA’s annual contest in the same year.  It was eventually published in Australia and we’ve now re-released it for Kindle.  MARIAH’S LOVE was published by New Concepts Publishing and is being re-released from them, along with RHIANNON’S CHOICE, JARAD’S RETURN, and DARIUS’S REVENGE.

I’d also written the first book in an edgy chick-lit, mystery series, although chick-lit didn’t exist back then.  BLAIZE OF GLORY, featured a creepy serial killer stalking a victim that got away 15 years earlier.  The “victim” Andrea “Blaize” McCue, is now a substance abuse counselor.  Because her life’s in danger, she meets and eventually falls in love with, Detective Stephanos Zoloski.  I wanted to have each book deal with different aspects of recovery.

Since the Blaize/Zoloski series featured a female protagonist, I also wrote a new paranormal suspense series with a male protagonist, Beverly Hills Detective Art Murry.  The first book came from a dream about a headless corpse.  The paranormal twist came from a Voodoo sorcerer who shakes Murry’s hand and completely freaks him out.

My newest “In Blood” thriller series features a female helicopter pilot and her brother in a Dexter-like series that I hope will appeal to both male and female readers.  I had fun riding in a helicopter and interviewing a pilot and mechanic for that series. That’s it for now!

You can find more about Louise and her work via… www.lfcrawford.com and www.louisecrawfordbooks.com

Thanks Louise (I love Dexter by the way). :)

Since Louise sent me the above information she has received her first review – a 5-star one no less :) – “BORN IN BLOOD is the latest novel by L. F. Crawford which grabs you by the throat from page one and doesn’t let go until you close the cover on the last page. This is a novel with strong characters and outstanding descriptions. It gives a whole new view of what is family, as well as, what constitutes a serial killer. This is a book well worth anyone’s Holiday List, library shelf, or kindle. This is one that you will share with fellow mystery readers. You’ll find yourself rooting for the underdog and discovering areas of California you thought only existed in motion pictures. This is an outstanding read. Patricia E. Canterbury, author of Every Thursday.

Great stuff! :) The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with novelist Jane Davis – the one hundred and sixty-fifth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, autobiographers and more. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate the author further. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found at here. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me. You can also read / download my eBooks here.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2011 in ebooks, interview, novels, writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,577 other followers