RSS

Daily Archives: November 4, 2011

Flash Fiction Friday 007: ‘On the Bridge’ by Mia Johansson

Welcome to Flash Fiction Friday and the seventh story in this weekly series. Tonight’s piece is a 542-worder entitled ‘On the Bridge. At eight pm.’ by short story author, photographer and spotlightee Mia Johansson. You can also read her story ‘The Jazz and the Blues’ here.

On the Bridge. At eight pm.

Maybe it won’t rain. I can still do a few laps. I really need to move my legs. One day I will start to run. I know I will miss the marathon this time but maybe next year. This team of trainers, seems they are new. And quite young. Big too. Wonder if they train football. Let’s see who is coming now. Two ladies and a girl. Never seen before. And my friend? He’s not here. Strange, he used to be on the track at this time. It is surprisingly how he can still keep moving. So much energy. At his age! It’s impressive I must admit. He must be seventy or so. He always walks the opposite direction than the others. In fact it is the best way to meet people, to see their faces and make contact otherwise the only thing you see is the back side, the butts, which in fact is funny because you always can compare them and make a “top ten” award list.  And then the way they move and shake their buttocks! I thought it was only women that are funny when walking, but guys can also be funny. Really funny! It was that guy, a quite young man, relatively big, tall and…fleshy that was running. It looked like he was swimming. His head was leaning ahead quite a bit but enough for not falling and smashing it into a flat oversize pumpkin while his arms had their own destiny. From behind it looked like he had two shuffles making his way through the air. Or it looked more like a rooster, waving his wings when looking for… I don’t know what. A chick, maybe?!

- Ok. Rain, please! Now! It’s the time. Soon she’ll be here. Are you ready? Come on! Don’t waste more time or they will miss each other.

Damn it! It started to rain.  I only managed to do two laps. Maybe tomorrow will be better weather. Well, I need to get some parsley and sugar anyway. And it’s getting late. Curious there is no traffic on the highway. Usually there are a lot of cars this time of the day.

“Excuse me! Excuse me!”

“Hm?”

“Can you tell me please where the bus station is?”

“You have to go back. You were going in wrong direction. If you go back a few, than at the next cross road you should …. You know what, I can take you there. I live here around.”

“How long have you been here? Is it far your place?”

“One year. No, not really.”

“One year? Doing what?”

“Writing. A book. And you?”

“I am playing the violin.”

“Really!? So you were coming from a concert. Your accent is… Where do you come from?”

“Yours too. I am from N. And you?”

“S. It’s almost same country. Neighbors! Funny. How strange life is some time. We both have traveled thousands of miles. To meet here. On the bridge. At eight pm.”

- More rain?

- No. It’s not necessary. We needed it just to get her out of the track otherwise they would have missed each other.  

- Sure?

- Yeah. No need for more rain for now. Let see what will happen next.

- Ok!

I loved that, thank you Mia. :)

Mia Johansson is a civil engineer living in Sweden, author of the fiction novel “Unfinished discussion about God – The diary of a time traveller” expected to be published 2012, and other short stories. She is an occasional photographer interested in the architecture of old and modern cities, street life, a good cup of coffee and jazz. I have just recently joined Google+ (late to the party, I know) and Mia is already there; you can view her stunningly attractive albums here. You can also read more about Mia in her spotlight and her other FFF story ’The Jazz and The Blues‘.

If you’d like to submit your 1,000-word max. stories for consideration for Flash Fiction Friday take a look here. You can also now read / download three of my free eShorts (and a workbook) from Smashwords (more eBooks to follow).

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with Agent and Radio Litopia host Peter Cox (who has a wicked laugh, I’ve asked him to bottle it but I think I may be waiting a while) – the one hundred and seventy-eighth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, autobiographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

 
48 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2011 in short stories, writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,531 other followers