RSS

Daily Archives: January 16, 2012

Post-weekend Poetry 005: ‘Empty’ by Julia Kavan

Welcome to the new Post-weekend Poetry and the fifth poem in this new weekly series. This week’s piece is entitled ‘Empty’ by Julia Kavan.

Empty

I see you
Flesh and blood
My derelict home
Banished, empty, all alone
Ripped apart
Soul from bone

I see you
Broken, decayed
Mindless, soulless
Unafraid

I see you
A battered shell
A staring unseeing
Hollowed out human being
A vision from Hell

I see you
Flesh and blood
My derelict home
Stupefied, shuffling, all alone
A slave forever
Your soul has flown

Wow, my type of poem. I asked Julia what prompted this piece and she said…

Many writers start out writing poetry, and I had a couple of poems accepted and published in print anthologies under another name around ten years ago. Empty was originally written for a themed competition on a writer’s forum. The prompt was ‘zombies’.  I think my interpretation of what it was to be a zombie at that time was of some emotionless being with its soul removed. I wondered what that soul might think if it could look back at its old body. It was later published by the now closed Absent Willow Review website, with some wonderful artwork.

Thank you Julia. :)

Born in the University city of Cambridge, England, Julia has spent most of her life living in Cambridgeshire – atmospheric and the perfect inspiration for ghost stories. She has taught creative writing classes for the last ten years, whilst writing screenplays, tackling a novel and experimenting with short stories.
A true Scorpio, her tastes definitely err towards the dark side. Her favourite painting is Salvator Rosa’s L’Umana Fragilita. Her music collection includes Holst, Orff, 30 Seconds to Mars and Linkin Park.

She devoured horror stories as a teenager, including James Herbert and Stephen King in her list of favourite authors, moving on to Clive Barker and Peter Straub. As a child she would watch anything that even vaguely looked as if it may be scary… so perhaps it is only natural that this is the area her writing tends to wander into – even if she doesn’t always intend it to! Her short erotic horror story, Dreaming, Not Sleeping was released by Etopia Press last year, and she is currently working on a supernatural mystery set in East Anglia.

You can find Julia via her website http://www.juliakavan.com, Twitter and Facebook.

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with  – the two hundred and fifty-first of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at Smashwords.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2012 in ebooks, poetry, short stories, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,521 other followers