RSS

Daily Archives: February 10, 2012

Flash Fiction Friday 021: ‘Albeit it for small mercies’ by Morgen Bailey

Welcome to Flash Fiction Friday and the twenty-first piece of flash fiction in this series. This week’s is a 272-worder by yours truly. This story will feature, alongside two by Cindy Vaskova and Susi Holliday, in my podcast this Monday, 13th February, so I’ve gone for an unlucky theme and, me being me, decided it could only be in the often-morose second person point of view. I started writing it when walking the dog this morning, finishing about 30 seconds ago. :)

Albeit for small mercies

You get laughed at when you’re clumsy and you know it’s because you’re tired. Or at least that’s what you’ve put it down to.

You hear about a girl (a young woman you suppose, she’d have to be over 18) winning the Euro Millions, started the week before because she was ‘feeling lucky’ and you can’t help ‘feeling jealous’.

Not that you’re unlucky. As such. You have your health – apart from your bad back. And your puffy feet when you sit too long at your computer.

You have a roof over your head, although it’s taking more than your wages to keep it there. And you have a job, albeit a part-time one instead of your full-time because they can’t really afford you anymore.

But you’re still there, and you’re grateful because you like your colleagues – apart from your Line Manager who makes your life a living hell. When he’s there. Which is most of the time. But you count yourself lucky because he keeps you busy. No time to think about the bills, the demands, the eviction notice looming.

There’ll still be a roof over your head – albeit one on four wheels. A ‘people carrier’, so plenty of space. Especially since there are no longer any people to carry.

You’d thought of down-sizing, even enquired at the garage but the best they’d do was a swap and you didn’t see the point.

It passed its MOT a few weeks ago and the service was cheap so it’ll last you a while and as you take your coffee from the man behind the counter, you smile and thank heaven for small mercies.

###

I did warn you. :) And yes, I heard this morning about a young woman winning the Euro Millions on Tuesday, the second time she’d played it because she ‘felt lucky’. :) I don’t own a people-carrier but do own more of my house than my bank and have a great boss (soon to be ex-boss as I leave to be a full-time writer) so I am, all-in-all, very very lucky. :)

If you’d like to submit your 1,000-word max. stories for consideration for Flash Fiction Fridays or 50-2,500 word stories for review for Short Story Saturdays, do let me know.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with mystery novelist John Barlow – the two hundred and seventy-sixth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at Smashwords.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in ebooks, podcast, short stories, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Welcome to Short Story Saturdays – short story reviews

I know it’s only Friday but I’ve come up with a new feature: Short Story Saturdays, alias SSS on the top menu bar, (because I didn’t have enough to do :)). No, actually the reasons are two-fold; 1/ I love short stories. 2/ I’m quite often asked to do book reviews and I don’t have time. So what better solution than to review short stories. :) It gets your writing grilled (firm but fair, I promise) and it gets me reading a new short story a week… as if I need the excuse to read but I don’t as much as I should, or want to, so give me a deadline (Saturday afternoons) and I’ll be there… er, here.

I picked Saturdays because of the alliteration with Short Story but also it won’t interfere with the day job although I’m leaving that at the end of March to write full-time so it won’t interfere at all. :)

I’ll be starting tomorrow, Saturday 11th February, with a story I’ve already read. The reviews themselves won’t be in-depth, just a couple of hundred words at most (as the author spotlights will still be the main feature Saturday pm) but we all like feedback on our writing and I enjoy giving it. :)

So if you have a story of between 50 and 2,500 words you’d like me to review, do email me. I’d also like a quick third-person biography, if you’d like to provide one, a photo or two (again optional) and links to your website and if appropriate, where people can buy your book/s –  in other words the same sort of thing as listed at the bottom of any of the guest interviews, spotlights etc.

You’d then be welcome to copy / paste the review on your website for your visitors should you wish, although point them to your page here would be fantastic. I’d also be happy to copy / paste into the relevant story’s page on Amazon, Smashwords etc. if appropriate (if you provide the link).

If you’re feeling braver, I also in-depth critique fiction of ideally up to 1,000 (I can go up to 2,000) for my Podcast. Like everything I offer, this is totally free. I do it because I love it (especially short stories) and I’m a struggling author too. :)

Speaking of short stories, my contribution to Flash Fiction Fridays follows in an hour. Seeing as I’m going to record it for Monday’s podcast (13th February) it’s an ‘unlucky’ story written in my favourite point of view, second. :)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in podcast, short stories, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,350 other followers