RSS

Author Spotlight no.63 – Kevin Broden

29 Feb

Complementing my daily blog interviews, today’s Author Spotlight, the sixty-third, is of comic book writer and illustrator, TV animation scriptwriter, novelist and interviewee Kevin Broden.

Seeking a career in comic books, Kevin Paul Shaw Broden took art courses throughout his education – only to eventually that no matter what the media, he was a storyteller at heart.

Kevin has been telling stories ever since.

His first published story was a science fiction tale that appeared in his college newspaper.

Since then he has written for television animation, including the Japanese series MIDNIGHT HORROR SCHOOL. Kevin is a member of the Animation Writers Caucus of the Writers Guild of America.

For over the last ten years Kevin has been illustrating and co-writing the online comic book FLYING GLORY AND THE HOUNDS OF GLORY which can be found at http://www.flying-glory.com.

The granddaughter of the world war two super heroine Flying Glory, Debra Clay discovers she has inherited super powers and convince her high school friends to become heroes to help support their rock band.

THE CLOCKWORK GENIE is Kevin’s first full-length novel.

He will soon be releasing a novel version of his online serial REVENGE OF THE MASKED GHOST.

And now from the author himself:

I’m writing this on my iPad, using a wireless keyboard, and I’m reminded of how as a child I had a watch with an attachable keyboard. It had enough memory in its note pad to hold a few thousand characters. That’s what I said, not words, characters. But I remember how on a long car trip, I ‘typed’ out one of the very first stories I ever wrote.

I would go back and change words to make them shorter so that I could write more of the story.

The basic idea of that little story was about aliens coming to earth and having to live as humans.

It wasn’t great, but I was only starting. What was important was that I kept writing because I had to know what was going to happen to my alien characters. Starting at the beginning and discovering the rest of the story as if I was the reader. Enjoying it as I went along.

In my first novel CLOCKWORK GENIE, I began with a concept and then began writing the first scene that lead into the second, and the third, and so on. It was only at the end that I looked back at where I had come from and found the bumps and potholes along the way that needed to be cleaned up, or discovered I had made a wrong turn with this part of the story or that. So I made the corrections and discovered all new characters and parts of the story that I hadn’t known were there before.

My second novel, REVENGE OF THE MASKED GHOST, available this month, came about in a very similar way.

I started with a simple question: “How does a family react to discovering that one of them is a costumed super hero?” With that in my head I began to write, and before I knew it I had the first chapter done.

I was soon writing chapter after chapter, first releasing them online as serial. I did very little outlining or plotting, I just kept writing. Not really knowing where I was going 25 chapters came into existence and completed the story.

Again, I went back and cleaned up the story where needed, but chose not to do much rewriting other than where I discovered major mistakes. Like using the wrong type of car as a taxicab in 1934.

As an author I find that the best stories come when I’m enjoying it as its being written, discovering what happens to the characters as if I was the reader picking up the book for the first time. I am fascinated to learn about my characters lives as they are living them on the page.

I really had fun writing CLOCKWORK GENIE, and equally had fun chasing after the characters of REVENGE OF THE MASKED GHOST.

Am looking forward to writing my next novel and the fun I will have with all the new words and characters.

I hope the readers enjoy them as much as I have writing them.

A creative writer’s watch, I love it! :) You can find more about Kevin and his writing via…

His blog: http://kevinpsbroden.blogspot.com

Pulp Serial: http://revengeofthemaskedghost.blogspot.com

Webcomic: http://www.flying-glory.com

Novel: CLOCKWORK GENIE for sale at Amazon.

You can also read my interview with Shannon Muir, Kevin’s collaborator on a number of his projects.

  

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with romantic comedy author Sheryl Browne – the two hundred and ninety-fifth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me. You can read / download my eBooks from Smashwords, Sony Reader Store, Barnes & Noble, iTunes Bookstore and Kobo. And I have a new forum at http://morgenbailey.freeforums.org.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,373 other followers

