RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 020: ‘The Flame’ by Lesley Fletcher

07 May


Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the twentieth poem in this series.

This week’s piece is by poet and artist Lesley Fletcher.

The Flame
As the flames die slowly with the night,
Extinguishing the day
Smoke silhouetting through the quiet air
Taking shape of snapshots
Of memories, not long forgotten,
Igniting sweet desires instead;
Of candles burning every night
And romance in the atmosphere;
The scent of rare patchouli
Teasing in the shadows;
Nostrils slightly flared.
Soft rock music fills
The gaps between silent knowing glances
Mismatched glasses toasting
Filled with cheap Chianti
As the bottle gathers wax.
Cracker crumbs fall in between
Well-worn cushions of the couch.
Baby-doll pyjamas barely
Bothering to cover.

&

The night falls inaudibly.
Stealing eyes’ content and gentle smile
Baccarat crystal shattering
Falling from her fragile grip,
Onto the shining marble floor
Mimicking a blood bath
Is Châteauneuf-de-Pape.
Slumped in true abandon
Of this life she’s earned to live
Returning to her heart’s true love
If only in her vivid final dream…
Lasting an eternity
Meeting her rebirth
Embossed upon her soul
As the next life starts de novo
And the flame again ablaze.

I asked Lesley what prompted this piece and she said…

Inspiration Import is the name of the company I set up many years ago without knowing exactly what I would do with it. I just loved the word ‘inspiration’ and of course the ‘import’ part is the vessel which brings the inspiration to me. I have always maintained that my inspiration has come from my art but I realise that this is somewhat of a cop-out. It really comes from my heart. I am a bit of a headline reader and sometimes scattered in many directions but if something touches my heart as far as humanity is concerned it sticks and stays. Many of my stories are experience-based (with) a bit of research and a lot of listening. When I say listening, I mean not just listening to words but to nuances and to emotions. If I am able to provide a piece of art or a story or poem that has the ability to evoke a strong emotional response that further lights my desire, and imagination to write.

Thank you Lesley. Me being me, I honed in on the ‘dark’ and loved the mimicking blood bath. :)

Lesley Fletcher is a self-taught artist who realised later in life that her calling was in the field of writing books and producing art with the emphasis on printmaking.

She has published three fully illustrated children’s / young adult books and currently working on a fourth which will also provide space for her various types of art.

The books and all their illustrations both interior and cover work are Lesley’s art.

Her upcoming book, ’5 Pillars of the Gypsy’ is a combination of art and verse; it being her first book for adult audiences.

Over the past three years she has managed two trips with Habitat For Humanity; one to Tajikistan and one to Jordan. Each of these trips included short stops in Istanbul. As a result she became interested in and had the privilege of learning about Islam and its parallels with Christianity along with cultural customs.

As a volunteer with Literacy Unlimited and Friends for Mental Health, Lesley supports and encourages education as a way to break barriers, through knowledge and understanding. As an adventurous laid back spirit she is very adaptable to a variety of enjoyable experiences and takes delight in every one of them.

Lesley Fletcher can be found on Twitter @gypsyles, LinkedIn, Google+, at her website, http://www.lesleyfletcher.com, and welcomes making new friends in our ever-changing world.

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with romance suspense author Alexa Bourne – the three hundred and sixty-third of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum and you can follow me on Twitter, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me.  I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) :) on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are weekly episodes, usually released Monday mornings UK time, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2012 in ebooks, poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Post-weekend Poetry 020: ‘The Flame’ by Lesley Fletcher

  1. Books & Art - Spirit & Soul

    May 7, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    Thanks Morgen – Once again! Since this poem was submitted ’5 Pillars of the Gypsy’ has been published and as of this morning has 4 – 5 star reviews on Amazon. ‘The Flame’ is still at the top of my own favourite list and can be found in the book. Yes the blood bath was a reflection of my darker side too!

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 7, 2012 at 7:18 pm

      You’re very welcome, thank you for sharing it, and congratulations on your reviews. We can’t help but have our favourites sometimes can we (just don’t tell the other ‘children’). :)

       

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,350 other followers

