RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 021: ‘On Being a Writer’ by Kenna McKinnon

14 May

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the twenty-first poem in this series. This week’s piece is by Kenna McKinnon.

On Being a Writer
It’s difficult, the writer said
Putting things on paper from my head
And even more, my office floor
Is littered from my desk to door.
My monitor of which I bought
A large one from the Future Shop
My keyboard sticky now with oil
Because my sweaty fingers toil
Not to mention phone and printer
Scanner, fax — I’m such a sprinter
Trying for the fastest lane
My fingers faster than my brain,
But this I know, the writer said,
On Cup O Noodles I am fed
And only cheap wine I imbibe.

It’s difficult to be a scribe.

Some envy her the life of ease
Sitting in a summer breeze
Writing on a blue lined pad
Informally and brightly clad
As though pajamas are okay
For the middle of the day.
She gives her inner dreams their voice
Creativity her choice
No one tells her when to start
Or take a break pursuing art
No boss tells her quitting time
Her verse is not required to rhyme,
And like a Mountain Woman she
Lives bohemian and free.
Thus they envy her and say
Would you have it any other way?
They worship their security
While she pursues her liberty.
Marches to a different tune

It’s difficult to be a loon.

It’s harder still to ascertain
As the Phoenix rises from her brain
What produces the creative thrust
Or why she must construct this stuff.
Why man and rutabagas thrive

It’s difficult to be a scribe.

I loved that, thank you Kenna.

Kenna McKinnon is a freelance writer / photographer and self employed businesswoman, and has lived successfully with schizophrenia for many years.

Her website is http://www.kennamckinnon.blogspot.ca and her poetry anthology ‘Discovery’ has also just come out on Amazon.com.

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with romantic suspense novelist Denise Robbins – the three hundred and seventieth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum and you can follow me on Twitter, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me.  I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) :) on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are weekly episodes, usually released Monday mornings UK time, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2012 in ebooks, poetry, Twitter, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Post-weekend Poetry 021: ‘On Being a Writer’ by Kenna McKinnon

  1. Books & Art - Spirit & Soul

    May 14, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    Kenna – I can relate. Having poems in my head all day and committing them to memory in bits and chunks only to sit an my computer and not transcribe! instead writing out the parts on paper in the evening and piecing them together who knows when. Great poem. Thanks, Lesley

     
  2. Judy Holmes

    May 15, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    Hey that is great!!!! Glad someone in our family has talent!!!!! Keep up the good work!!!! Love you. Sister Judy

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 15, 2012 at 10:58 pm

      Hi Judy. From what Kenna tells me, you hit a few branches of the talent tree too. :)

       
  3. Scott

    May 15, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    The sweetest day, ever have I lived, was the morning I awoke, at 2:36, to get the words out of my head, thought for sure they’d drive me mad, after I jotted down a scribble, I returned to slumber, only to rise a while later and realize, I am really just a writer.

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 15, 2012 at 10:57 pm

      :) I was like that when I first went to creative writing evening classes – I ended up sending morse code messages to neighbours because I kept on thinking of things I wanted to write down (light on / light off). Nowadays I use a dictaphone or the dictation option on my mobile. :)

       
  4. christinaow

    May 16, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    Reblogged this on christinaow.

     

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,519 other followers

