RSS

Author Spotlight no.120 – Janet Kay

15 Sep

Complementing my daily blog interviews, today’s Author Spotlight, the one hundred and twentieth, is of historical novelist Janet Kay.

Janet Kay lives and writes on a lake in the woods of Northwest Wisconsin. She enjoys kayaking, taking her grandchildren zip-sledding, watching spectacular sunsets over the lake, and listening to the call of the loons. Deer and bear stroll through her yard, sometimes peaking into her windows as she writes at her computer. Drawn to nature since she was a child, she sees its wonders as a source of renewal, reflection, and connection with something greater than oneself.

She is also drawn to the Victorian era and its fascinating history. This is reflected in her writing. Her lifelong passions include creative writing, travel, photography, and spending time with family and friends. She is very proud of her three adult children, their spouses, and her ten exceptional grandchildren. They keep her in touch with that inner child that all writers need to tap into in order to create their fictional worlds.

Kay is a member of the St. Croix Writers of Solon Springs, Wisconsin and serves on the Board of Directors of the Wisconsin Writers Association. She is also a member of the Alpine Artisans Writers Group of Seeley Lake, Montana; Lake Superior Writers; American Society of Authors & Writers; and Independent Book Publishers Association.

Janet Kay has had a number of articles, short stories and poems published over the years. She published her debut novel, Waters of the Dancing Sky, in 2009. It is an inspirational love story set on the wilderness islands of Rainy Lake, Minnesota. This novel continues to earn excellent reviews and has a five-star rating on Amazon.com.

And now from the author herself:

I decided at the age of eight that I would be an author someday. I wanted to write novels that would make a difference. However, life got in the way of my lofty ambitions – things like my career and raising my children. While I published a number of articles, short stories and poems over the years, it wasn’t until I took an early retirement that I was finally able to pursue my lifelong dream.

I published my debut novel, Waters of the Dancing Sky, in 2009. It is an inspirational love story set on the wilderness islands of Rainy Lake, Minnesota. This novel continues to earn excellent reviews and has a five-star rating on Amazon.com.

My latest novel, Amelia 1868, was just released. It is a paranormal historical romance. In this intriguing, suspense-filled story, Rose, a free-spirited young woman leaves her fiancée at the altar of their country church in Walnut, Iowa.  Driven by forces beyond her control, she flees to the old western ghost town of Virginia City, Montana, where she feels oddly at home …

Drawn to an old cemetery in the mountains, she discovers a weathered tombstone and begins to sob uncontrollably. Only two words are etched upon this stone – AMELIA 1868. Obsessed with uncovering the identity of this long-forgotten woman, Rose finds herself transported back and forth in time between the life of a hurdy-gurdy dance hall girl struggling to survive in the 1860s and her own sheltered life in 2011.

Her strange and intriguing journey becomes more complicated when a love interest materializes and throws her off balance. Her life becomes a bizarre dance twisting and turning between the past and the present. Can she find a way to move into the future?

Amelia 1868 is already receiving excellent reviews:

“Amelia 1868 is a dynamic tale of a bright, free-spirited young woman who is driven to complete an unknown mission that has dominated many aspects of her life. Kay is a remarkable storyteller who adroitly combines fiction and history to create stories with depth and meaning. This story highlights the author’s ability to use place as a technique for fleshing out the human experience. Kay’s descriptions of the places in her novel were so vivid and enticing I needed to see them with my own eyes. She simply has a gift for putting readers into the scenes of her stories and in the middle of her characters’ lives. Amelia 1868 combines history, romance and the supernatural in an elegant tale of love, loss and purpose. I highly recommend it!” Melissa Brown Levine, Independent Professional Book Reviewers

My website, http://www.novelsbyjanetkay.com, contains more information about my novels, a photo gallery, and a contest I’m sponsoring to promote my books. Please check it out – I’d love to hear from you!

Janet knew aged eight that she wanted to be an author… it took me another 30 years. :) You can find more about Janet and her writing via her website, http://www.novelsbyjanetkay.com, contains more information about her novels, a photo gallery, and a contest she is sponsoring to promote her books.

***

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with historical romance / paranormal romance author Deniz Bevan – the four hundred and ninety-fourth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me. I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) :) on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are fortnightly episodes, usually released on Sundays, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 15, 2012 in ebooks, interview, novels, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,555 other followers

