RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 042: A Fragile Pirate by Sheila Pearson

08 Oct

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the forty-second poem in this series. This week’s piece is by Flash Fiction Friday contributor Sheila Pierson.

A Fragile Pirate
She’s come undone, in that way women do
                   when the light has left the day and
      she’s had a drink or two.
She’ll unsheathe a dull sword on memories,
      broken destinies and unwanted sympathies.
Nothing can soothe this grief,
                  a shot of bourbon withholds relief,
      coursing down her throat its warmth is too brief.
Tears cannot fall from eyes of lies,
      bitterness bound, even though she tries
Dammit! Must she seek approval to live her own life?
Bottoms up, one more to find that drunken shore,
      release her sails for a land of plenty
Her treasures aren’t in things or diamond rings
      or men whose promises are empty.

I asked Sheila what prompted this piece and she said…

In writing poetry, some of what I write is based on personal experience while other times I write based on a feeling from something I read or music I listen to. In this particular case, the poem is a result of previous personal experience, a song and some public rantings by someone on a social networking site who’d obviously suffered a broken heart. Poetry is very personal when the reader’s interpretation and the writer’s intent manage to find common ground on the page. My hope is that “A Fragile Pirate” accomplishes this very goal.

I would say so. Thank you, Sheila.

Sheila Pierson is a writer and has finally come to grips with this, and without therapy. She has written short stories, essays and poetry since she was a young child, now pursuing this craft with the passion she has for it. She is currently working on a collection of short stories for publication. The novel always lurks in the shadows, grumbling in the corners of her bedroom just as she drifts off to sleep.

Sheila blogs at http://sheilapierson.wordpress.com and can be found on Twitter @sheilapierson1.

***

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with non-fiction author Richard Armstrong – the five hundred and fifteenth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me. I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) :) on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are fortnightly episodes, usually released on Sundays, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2012 in ebooks, poetry, short stories, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Post-weekend Poetry 042: A Fragile Pirate by Sheila Pearson

  1. Siggy Buckley

    October 8, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    Hi Morgan, I just see your post weekend poem. I had sent you one (my first actually; called:Memory of a trip) about two weeks ago but didn’t hear back from you except for your Submission info.. Since I had already posted my poem on my own website http://www.writersgettogether.blogspot.com I cabn’t submit it anymore on any of the sites you suggest there. Could I ask you to feature like today’s on your Post weekend poetry? Many thanks.Siggy Buckley

     
  2. morgenbailey

    October 8, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    Hi Siggy.

    I haven’t received it. Could it be that you sent it to morgan@morganbailey.com instead of the correct morgen@morgenbailey.com (as you’ve spelled my name with an ‘a’ here)?

    Can you re-send and I’ll take a look. I am about a month behind my emails anyway but I’ve just looked and it’s definitely not there.

    Thank you.

    Morgen

     
  3. sheilapierson

    October 9, 2012 at 2:02 am

    Thank you Morgen for including my poem here! :)

     
  4. morgenbailey

    October 9, 2012 at 8:57 am

    You’re very welcome, Sheila. Thank you for sending it to me.

     

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,584 other followers

