RSS

Guest post: What prompts a doctor to write a book about the mind-body connection? by Dr Friedemann Schaub

25 Nov

Tonight’s guest blog post is brought to you by non-fiction author Dr Friedemann Schaub.

What prompts a doctor to write a book about the mind-body connection?

My fascination with the healing power of our mind and our emotions started with watching my parents, who were both family doctors in a small town, located in the middle of the beautiful Black Forest in Germany. I always admired my parents’ dedication to their patients, many of whom they’d known since birth. They took the time to listen to their patients and then carefully considered their entire story, including their living situations, mental and emotional states, and histories, when evaluating the diagnosis and treatment plans. But most importantly, my parents taught me to view every person as a whole human being and not just as his or her symptoms or illness.

Of all my parents’ routine treatments, one intrigued me the most. Whenever children came to their practice with multiple warts on their hands or feet, my mother or father would pull out a massive bottle that contained some mysterious colorful fluid. With great care, they’d fill a small vial with that potion and give it to the children, telling them to use a little brush to apply this medicine to their warts three times a day. “If you do this every day,” they said, “at exactly the same time, your warts will disappear in a few weeks.” The success rate of this treatment was astonishing.

However, when it was my turn to have my warts treated, my father didn’t pull out the magic bottle. Instead he revealed to me that the liquid was only water with food coloring. “All you need is to believe that the warts will disappear, and they will,” he explained. And so they did. The fact that we can make warts, which are caused by a virus, quickly disappear by simply believing they will, was for me the first compelling and influential demonstration of the power of the mind.

After I became a physician in a huge cardiology unit at the University of Munich, Germany, most of the patients I dealt with were suffering from strokes or heart attacks. Although an increasing number of studies have demonstrated how stress and anxiety could promote cardiovascular diseases, the emotional challenges of our patients were neither investigated nor addressed in the treatment plans. The focus was on treating the physical symptoms, such as high blood pressure, nicotine consumption, and elevated cholesterol levels―all of which can result from chronic stress. I often wanted to sit down with my patients and talk about their lives and how their illnesses were impacting them both mentally and emotionally. However, as is common in big hospitals, we could spend only ten to fifteen minutes per day with each patient―obviously not enough time to really get to know the people who faithfully put their lives in our hands.

After several years, the stress of my high-powered job and my growing dissatisfaction with the rather “mechanical” healing approach of allopathic medicine started to drain me. I decided to take a break and accepted a scholarship for a postdoctoral research position at the University of Washington in Seattle, which, after four years, gave me a PhD in molecular biology. Being immersed in the world of basic research significantly changed my perspective on human potential. As a physician, I was trained to view the body as rather fragile and prone to failure. Science, however, illuminated a simple fact that I hadn’t fully realized until then: each and every cell of our bodies has an intelligence and sheer unlimited potential to grow, adapt, and heal in ways that are still far too complex for us to fully comprehend. The ability of our body to maintain trillions of cells in a delicate equilibrium of growth, healing, and death is truly ingenious and suggests that there is a regulating consciousness that connects and directs all of our cells.

The longer I was immersed in research, the more I realize that the traditional perspective of health and healing requires a serious transformation. Healing isn’t supposed to be a battle between good and evil or health and disease, where we doctors sweep in like knights in shining armor, equipped with powerful and often deadly weapons, determined to “win” at any cost. And the patient isn’t meant to be the battlefield, staying passive and “patient” still until the war is over. The current paradigm of allopathic medicine doesn’t encourage us to trust in and utilize our own innate wisdom and healing potential, but instead fosters a sense of dependency, disempowerment, and fear of illness.

In new mind-body healing perspectives, illness, physical and emotional, is not the enemy of health, but an integral component of a powerful organic system, which has evolved throughout hundreds of thousands of years. The primary purpose of illness is to alert us that we are, on some level, distressed and out of balance. To heal and regain our natural state of wholeness, the alignment of mind, body, and spirit, we need to identify and address the deeper root causes of this stress and imbalance―and even more importantly, learn how to take advantage of our innate healing powers

For me, the next logical questions were what is this regulating consciousness, and how can we access and work with it to utilize our innate healing potential as effectively as possible? The key is our subconscious mind―and in particular our emotions. Our emotions have the potential to reach every cell of our bodies. How? Emotions prompt the release of neuroendocrines, small peptides that flow through our bodies until they land on the surface of a cell. Like keys opening locks, they can activate certain genes, trigger protein production, stimulate the release of other endocrines and hormones, and much more. Studies have shown that positive emotions can boost the immune system, decrease diabetes, and improve heart conditions. On the other hand, negative emotions, such as stress, anxiety, and depression, have the opposite effects and can cause serious health problems.

So to promote health and healing, we need to work with our subconscious minds and stay in charge of our emotions, right? Well, here lies the issue. How many of us have felt overwhelmed by our emotions, especially by fear and anxiety, which can make us feel anything else but in charge? And truthfully, how many of us trust our subconscious mind or know how to better understand it?

Realizing the healing potential of being able to consciously collaborate with our subconscious mind, I developed a breakthrough and empowerment program that blends mind-activating modalities such as neuro-linguistic programming (NLP), Time Line Therapy™, and clinical hypnotherapy with my knowledge of medicine and science. This program has helped thousands of people to learn how to understand and overcome their emotional challenges.

In “The Fear and Anxiety Solution,” which is based on the breakthrough and empowerment program, I share my insights and processes about how to consciously communicate and work with the subconscious mind to address the deeper root causes of these difficult emotions. The book explains how to transform fear and anxiety from problems or disorders, into powerful allies, messengers, and healing catalysts that lead to greater confidence, self-worth, and wholeness.

So why did I write a book about the mind-body connection? I guess I wanted to remind people of what my father always told me, “The true healer is within.”

Thank you, Dr Schaub!

Friedemann Schaub, MD, PhD, is a physician specializing in cardiology and molecular biologist who has helped thousands of people to overcome fear and anxiety with his breakthrough and empowerment program that combines his medical expertise with NLP, Time Line Therapy™, clinical hypnotherapy, meditation, and more.

Dr Friedemann Schaub shares information that is beneficial for you and your loved ones, in The Fear and Anxiety Solution. He says that people who read this book and implement the step by step program – will find a difference in their lives by the time they reach the end of the book. For more details about The Fear and Anxiety Solution, visit the tour page: http://bookpromotionservices.com/2012/10/03/fear-anxiety-solution-tour and Dr Schaub’s websites www.thefearandanxietysolution.com and www.cellularwisdom.com. Available from: Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk. Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGVP5-IYwqQ

The Fear and Anxiety Solution – A Breakthrough Process for Healing and Empowerment with your Subconscious Mind

The Fear and Anxiety Solution presents Dr. Schaub’s breakthrough and empowerment program for learning to understand, direct, and utilize the subconscious mind as our greatest ally on the path to health and wholeness.

“The more unresolved fear and anxiety you’ve stored in your subconscious, the more untapped potential awaits you,” explains Dr. Schaub.

***

If you would like to write a writing-related guest post for my blog then feel free to email me with an outline of what you would like to write about. If it’s writing-related then it’s highly likely I’d email back and say “yes please”.

The blog interviews return as normal tomorrow morning with non-fiction author Lonnie Dee Robertson – the five hundred and sixty-third of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, autobiographers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app!

See http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008E88JN0

or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008E88JN0 for outside the UK **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) :) on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are fortnightly episodes, usually released on Sundays, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2012 in ebooks, ideas, non-fiction, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Guest post: What prompts a doctor to write a book about the mind-body connection? by Dr Friedemann Schaub

  1. Yvonne Hertzberger

    November 25, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    As one who decries the disconnect between, not only the mind and body, but even the various symptoms within the body, I think this book is a must read on my list. The practice of current standard medicine has lost the person and the interconnectedness of the symptoms an individual may experience. Each specialty seems to practice in isolation of the others. The result can only be a decline in overall health and welfare. Thank you for a fresh approach – or should I say a fresh look at an old approach.

     
    • morgenbailey

      November 26, 2012 at 9:04 am

      Hi Yvonne. Thank you very much for your comment (I’ve forwarded it on). Lovely to see you here, as always.

       
  2. Micki Peluso

    November 26, 2012 at 4:52 am

    This sounds like a wonderful book and I will try to get to read it. When my kids were small, I told them rubbing a raw potato on their warts would make it go away–and it always did. Another child had strange itching and when I gave her a teaspoon of vanila, which smells good but tastes really bad, her itching left quickly. I’m working on healing my own body but with less good results since I don’t have the faith of a small child. This was a wonderful post–thank you for having such a great guest.

    Micki

     
    • morgenbailey

      November 26, 2012 at 9:04 am

      You’re very welcome, Micki. I’m delighted that Dr Schaub wanted to be involved and have forwarded on your comment.

       

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,556 other followers

