RSS

20 responses to “Flash Fiction Friday 063: The Honey Trap by Jane Risdon

  1. joskehan

    December 1, 2012 at 6:02 am

    That was a great story by Jane Risdon…I liked the twist in it as the beginning had me thinking the girl was going to finish him off instead of how it turned out. Great.

     
    • Jane Risdon

      December 1, 2012 at 10:21 am

      Always a twist in the tale (tail) with me Jo. Glad you liked it and thanks for coming to read it and making a comment. Really appreciated.

       
  2. Pam Griffiths

    December 1, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Wonderful story Jane, loved it. Well done. Enjoyed reading it, keep up the good work.

     
    • Jane Risdon

      December 3, 2012 at 2:58 pm

      Pam, thanks for reading it and I am glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for taking the time. x

       
  3. phylburton

    December 2, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    I really enjoyed reading your story, Jane. Spy stories are in vogue at present and the Honey Trap held my interest until the end, with the hope of perhaps more to come in the future. Well done.

     
    • Jane Risdon

      December 3, 2012 at 3:00 pm

      Thank you Phyllis, I have always wanted to write one, given my background I guess, and I have been thinking about it for a while now, so who knows! I read Spy stories and love all the documentaries etc about The Black Arts of Espionage….so as well as crime I may well try my hand in Le Carre territory. Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks so much. x

       
  4. Carol Matthews

    December 3, 2012 at 11:13 am

    Really loved reading this story, so much so that I found my self racing to the end to see what happened! Loved the twist, think it would make a fantastic novel, after reading your Next Big Thing, there are lots of WIP that I really, really want to read! Intrigued to know what happens next to our spy who enjoys aspects of his job so much! well done Jane and every good wish and loads of success in the future!

     
    • Jane Risdon

      December 3, 2012 at 3:06 pm

      Ah Carol, thanks so much for reading it. I am pleased you liked it and wanted to read more. I must write a spy novel I think….though another reader of The Honey Trap emailed me and said I should write more ‘erotica’! I have never read or wanted to read or write ‘erotica’ – don’t think I know where to start….but I floated her boat so much she really thinks I should. I might try an erotic spy thriller with a twist in tale – what say you? Lol. But I am really pleased that she, and you, have enjoyed my story and I hope you will keep reading my little offerings and telling me what you think. An outside opinion is always valued, as is yours and all those who have taken time to comment. I am really thrilled and happy someone has read this and my other stories. x

       
  5. Lizzie Lamb

    December 4, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    A bit late coming to this post Jane due to other things going on in life just now. Well written and totally creepy and left me feeling ugh. (I do write romance, after all). Won’t ask where you got the idea from, perhaps best off not knowing. Great. Keep up the good work.

     
    • morgenbailey

      December 4, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      Hey, Lizzie. Great to see you here after seeing you in real life at the Festival of Romance. :)

       
    • Jane Risdon

      December 4, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      Made me laugh Lizzie, as you know I don’t ‘do’ romance and leave that to you and the other Romantics….but thanks for your kind words and thanks for reading this. I got the idea from a lot of past experiences (not as a Honey Trap practitioner), but because I love Spy thrillers and I used to work where our James Bond characters were handled! Your best bet Lizzie is to read my short story which is on Morgen’s Short Story Saturday section, not romance but gentle and more to your liking I expect. That story is called A Walk To Destiny and it was on here 24th Nov 2012.

       
  6. Margot Kinberg

    December 7, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    What a fabulous story, Jane! You completely drew me in! And that ending was especially effective because up until he killed her, I’d thought it would be the other way about. Such a nice, crisp story – thanks for sharing. And thanks to you too Morgen, for hosting Jane’s story.

     
    • Jane Risdon

      December 10, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      Margot, thanks so much for your kind comment. I am so glad you liked it. Back to my normal genre for this one. I like a twist in the tale (tail!!) now and again…..appreciate you taking time to come across and read it. Yes, thanks again to Morgen for allowing me to share this with you. ;)

       
      • morgenbailey

        December 10, 2012 at 2:26 pm

        “allowing”, love it. Yes, Jane, it’s such a hardship. :)

         
      • Jane Risdon

        December 10, 2012 at 2:35 pm

        Oh you know what I mean. You have so many you could feature so I feel I am allowed (privileged etc)….now I am blushing!! Whatever, it was fun! ;)

         
  7. morgenbailey

    December 7, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    You’re very welcome, Margot. Thank you for reading it, liking it, and commenting, and of course to Jane for writing it and sending it to me. :)

     
  8. Christopher Farley

    October 20, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Better late than never I guess.
    A grey, rainy, lazy Lugano Sunday has me taking time out to read – finally. I’ve been catching up on FFF. A bigger twist than Chubby Checker there Jane – most enjoyable. Now, after 10 months, have you thought anymore of making a novel of it?
    Chris

     
    • Jane Risdon

      October 20, 2013 at 6:38 pm

      Chris, thanks so much for finding this story as well. I am glad you enjoyed it. I have it on my list of ideas to work on but I (very luckily) often get asked to complete or add to a story and so I would be knee deep in novels I have, at some point, to write. I wish I had a clone. I am writing novels already and once they are done and if I am not pushing up daisies I shall revisit these – at least those people like the most. I have written a two parter for Morgen’s FFF before which was as a result of being asked to write a story from another character’s POV… The secret of Willow Cottage and the Tale of the Reluctant Bride and the follow up called The Secret of Willow Cottage and the Tale of the Jilted Lover……unusually for me a sort of Romance but I like to think it is in the spirit of Du Maurier and not Mills and Boon. Thanks for reminding me.

       

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,360 other followers

