RSS

24 responses to “Flash Fiction Friday 081: ‘The Secret of Willow Cottage and the tale of the Reluctant Bride’ by Jane Risdon

  1. Nicky Wells

    April 5, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    OOH I can sense the mystery and intrigue! What a tragedy! And what a shock to find those bones, but how lovely of the de Grouchys to lay them to rest. (And love that name, too, de Grouchy!) I can feel a whole book in there somewhere ~ thanks for posting, I greatly enjoyed this short story.

     
    • morgenbailey

      April 5, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      Isn’t it great. And stories like this are even better based on real life. :)

      Thanks, Nicky.

       
    • Jane RisdonJ

      April 5, 2013 at 9:47 pm

      Nicky, I am glad you popped in to read this and that you enjoyed it. Sad indeed but based on a conversation I overheard about a young bride who hid in the chest when playing hide and seek at her wedding…..my sad imagination took over from there. So happy you came and read it.

       
    • Jane RisdonJ

      April 5, 2013 at 10:15 pm

      Nicky I have done my usual and replied in the wrong place. if you read the other comments you will find my reply. So sorry. too too much excitement for an old bat like me!

       
  2. Margot Kinberg

    April 5, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    Morgen – Thank you for hosting Jane’s story. It’s such a terrific weaving together of two stories, really, and done effectively. Now I want to know what happened to Sebastian Nugent too!

     
    • morgenbailey

      April 5, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      You’re very welcome, Margot. My thanks go to Jane for sending it to me.

       
  3. Jane RisdonJ

    April 5, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    Margot, I am so happy you liked this and I am considering your query about Sebastian. I may well have to find out where he went and what happened to him now that you mention it. Thanks for coming to read it and for your kind comments.

     
  4. Jane RisdonJ

    April 5, 2013 at 9:51 pm

    Morgen I may well have another Flash Fiction story to follow this up now that Margot has expressed interest in our young Sebastian…what say you? Shall I have a go?

     
    • morgenbailey

      April 6, 2013 at 6:13 am

      Absolutely, Jane.

       
      • Jane Risdon

        April 6, 2013 at 10:35 am

        Morgen, thanks. Margot and a couple of other readers are keen to know what happened to Sebastian and so I most likely will write his story and send in to you to see what you think about posting here at some point. I had not thought about that, great how people suggest things which are inspirational. Not thought about the book though….had a request for this piece of FF to be made into a novel. There’s a thought. Do I have time? :)

         
      • morgenbailey

        April 6, 2013 at 10:41 am

        Even when we think we don’t have time, it can be found. I have six novels because of NaNoWriMo where I wrote at least 50,000 words in a month (one was 117,540). If we have to do something, we do it.

         
      • Jane Risdon

        April 6, 2013 at 10:48 am

        Morgen you and I will complete one fully soon…your 6 and my 4 – what a pair! At least you are putting yours out there. I am still beavering away on mine. NaNoWriMo is a great spur. I have to work on the rest of my NaNo novel – soon, soon! Good luck with yours and also all the other irons you have in the fire. :)

         
  5. michaeljwhelan

    April 5, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    Very intriguing piece Jane, thanks Morgan, enjoyed it!

     
    • Jane Risdon

      April 6, 2013 at 10:36 am

      Michael, thanks for reading this and I hope you liked it. Not quite up your street – no Army involved – but I am so pleased you popped in to read it. Thanks again. :)

       
      • Dave Wise

        April 6, 2013 at 12:06 pm

        Thanks Jane for this intriguing story! Also, thanks to Morgen for bringing it to us.
        I agree with everyone, please continue the story of Sebastian.
        Maybe he ended up in CHICAGO!
        Keep up the good work,
        Dave

         
      • Jane Risdon

        April 6, 2013 at 7:51 pm

        Never know Dave, that might well happen. I shall have a think. Seems to be a lot of interest in his POV so I may well do it asap and strike whilst the interest is there. :)

         
  6. laurie27wsmith

    April 11, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    I don’t know how I missed this , a sad tale indeed of love and death.
    Laurie

     
    • Jane Risdon

      April 11, 2013 at 11:02 pm

      Laurie no problem – you are busy as it is and I still owe you a visit to read about mediums and so on. Thanks for the visit here and the comment, much appreciated. J x

       
  7. Pagadan

    April 15, 2013 at 1:24 am

    Jane, that was a sad tragedy, and it still happens with car trunks, etc. It’s a good thing they passed that law about fridges. Btw, how is Ms. Birdsong Investigates coming? That sounds intriguing.

     
    • Jane Risdon

      April 15, 2013 at 8:17 am

      Thanks so much for asking Joy, Ms B is coming on slowly but surely. She and I have had a chat about a few things. She was unhappy about a few things (in her story), and so after some discussion I have agreed to do a bit of re-writing here and there and she seems much happier. She can be a bit bolshy at times, comes from working in MI5 and being in command and having to survive in what is still mostly a male preserve. We are getting there. The locked in a trunk, fridge or confined space is one of the terrors most people can relate to. The most obvious example of this is the Victorian habit of placing a bell on the outside of coffins, with the other end tied to the deceased’s finger – in the event that they were not really dead and could ring for help if they woke and found themselves buried alive!

       
  8. Pagadan

    April 15, 2013 at 1:26 am

    Morgen, I owe my novels to NaNoWriMo too, including my first published novel, Detour Trail..

     
    • morgenbailey

      April 15, 2013 at 7:33 am

      Deadlines are the best way to get me writing. :)

       
    • Jane Risdon

      April 29, 2013 at 5:58 pm

      I have two NaNoWriMo novels to complete. Both managed 53,000 words at the time of the event and I shall get back to them once the main one I am working on is out of the way. I’m not really a short story writer; just for fun really, like the Flash Fiction. Good luck with all your novels.

       
  9. Jane Risdon

    April 15, 2013 at 8:18 am

    Agreed Morgen, nothing like fear to inspire.

     

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,641 other followers

