RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 104: Arturo Alverez by Mike Friedman

06 Jan

EmeraldWellsCafecoverWelcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the one hundred and fourth poem in this series. This week’s piece is by short story author and poet Michael Friedman.

Arturo Alverez (from Emerald Wells Café)

Here I lay, life reassessed
So much to digest
You keep singing about our nest
About our nest

You shared your troubles
I know what you detest,
know what you’ve expressed,
know what you like best

Here I lay, life reassessed
Is this love or are you obsessed
You keep singing about our nest
About our nest

This is life, it’s not a contest
it’s not a long test
your cares they suggest
you’re set on your quest

Is this love or are you obsessed
Now you’ve undressed
Against me you’ve pressed
Drawing circles on my chest

Here I lay thoughts in unrest
enjoying the waves at their crest
against me you’ve pressed
drawing circles on my chest

*

I asked Mike what prompted this piece and he said…

This poetry ran as part of a long series on Hubpages known as ‘Emerald Wells Café’. This was a recent voice, new to evenings known as ‘Speakeasy Night’. The voice is that of a young man that is not as far along the path of romance as the woman. She uses her wiles as persuasion.  There were in the neighborhood of 150 poems in twelve voices written for the series.

Thank you, Mike. I can imagine it put to music…

**

I ShouldHaveDiedForMyCountryMichael Friedman is an author of short stories, and some poetry.

His book titles include ‘Emerald Wells Café’. He has an unpublished work titled ‘Braids: Angel’s Field’.

Two short stories, ‘I Should Have Died for My Country’ and ‘Murder Once Done’ are dystopian tales and have been published as eBooks available on Amazon.com.

He is the owner of Mockingbird Books which published Kylie’s Blossoms which is a children’s book by Maria Jordan.

He also contributed the illustrations. He resides in Southern California, USA.

***

If you’d like to submit your poem (60 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here or a poem for critique on the Online Poetry Writing Group (link below).

Related articles:

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app via Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com **

Cover montage 2You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel The Serial Dater’s Shopping List, various short story collections and writer’s block workbooks) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post a spotlight or interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique directly (see Editing & Critique) or for posting on the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2014 in poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Post-weekend Poetry 104: Arturo Alverez by Mike Friedman

  1. Mike

    January 6, 2014 at 2:40 pm

    Thank you Morgen, You are very kind.

     
    • morgenbailey

      January 6, 2014 at 5:11 pm

      You’re very welcome, Mike. Thank you for sharing your poem.

       
  2. Maria Jordan

    January 6, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    What a wonderful blog…I admit to having a clear prejudice for the skills and range of the writing from Michael Friedman’s pen, as Emerald Wells Cafe is one of my favorite all time books.

    I look forward to checking out your site, Morgen, as you clearly showcase quality creative writing.

     
    • morgenbailey

      January 6, 2014 at 5:10 pm

      Thank you very much, Maria. It’s very kind (to use Mike’s word) of you to say so. This is the first time I have hosted Mike but hopefully the first of many.

       
  3. Ruby Fuller

    January 7, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    I remember this poem from Mike’s wonderful book. ‘ Emerald Wells Cafe ‘ Mike has many poems that are beautiful. I am happy to learn about this site. Thank you Morgen.

     
  4. Mike

    January 8, 2014 at 2:51 am

    Hello Maria and Hello Ruby – So good to see you both here. This may be the best from the voice of A.A. in the Emerald Wells Cafe series. I appreciate both of you.

     

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,638 other followers

