RSS

NLG’s Flash Fiction Competition is open!

23 Mar

lightning 143523Do you write flash fiction? Northampton Literature Group Writing Circle’s 2014 Flash Fiction competition is now open. It is run by the writing circle who will judge it, and I, as Head Judge, will have the final say in the event of a tie.

You have until midnight (UK time) on 30th June to enter your <500-word stories which cost just £2 each or 3 for £5 to submit. You’re welcome to send as many stories as you like. No theme and the competition is open to writers of any age and nationality, located anywhere in the world.

Prizes: £50, £35, £15 and seven (unpaid) Highly Commended.

Click here for more details, here for advice on entering competitions, and writing tips click here. I’ve also blogged about writing short fiction and how To write a 28-word story!

Good luck and do remember that writing is mostly about practice. If you’ve never written a <500-word story before, give it a go. Once you’ve written a few, you’ll find it easier to keep it short. If you have already written a longer story, try summing it in one or two sentences. Now add a bit of detail to, say, 100 words. Now add a bit more… and a bit more… This will also help when writing synopses of your novel, or an outline (plan) for the one you’ve always wanted to write.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2014 in competitions, short stories, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “NLG’s Flash Fiction Competition is open!

  1. Susan Hawthorne

    April 3, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    Good info, thanks. I have trouble with flash fiction, lol, I always need more words :D

     
    • morgenbailey

      April 4, 2014 at 7:33 am

      Hi, Susan. I used to be like that but then started writing 60 worders back in the day when Woman’s Weekly were publishing them (that was my first published work!) and I found the more I did, the easier it was to write to that target. Maybe you could start small and build up to <500 words. If you wrote a tagline (<25 words) and / or elevator pitch (<200 words) for one of your stories you'd probably find that you could evolve it to a piece of flash fiction.

       
  2. Diane

    April 6, 2014 at 2:06 am

    The expression ‘Flash Fiction’ is completely new to me, but I gather it refers to very short pieces of fiction (is it a ‘run-off’ from blog posting?). I agree with Susan: 500 words is not a lot, but I dare say that it is possible. Thank you for the advice, Morgen.

     
    • morgenbailey

      April 6, 2014 at 8:48 am

      It certainly is, Diane. Here in the UK we usually allow up to 1,000 words for flash fiction but in the US I know it’s a strict maximum of 500 words. I’ve added a couple of links to this post: one for writing short fiction, the other for writing a 28-word story! Do have a go, even if you don’t submit, but if you do, good luck.

       
  3. Jane Risdon

    April 6, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    Is this open to those outside of your group in N’Hants Morgen or am I not reading this right?

     
    • morgenbailey

      April 6, 2014 at 5:43 pm

      It is, absolutely, Jane. The group will be judging it (I’m Head Judge) so they are not allowed to enter. I’ve (hopefully) made that clearer on the post.

       
      • Jane Risdon

        April 6, 2014 at 6:11 pm

        It might be me Morgen, head all over the show these days. I might have a go if it is not a problem with you and I knowing each other.

         
      • morgenbailey

        April 6, 2014 at 6:56 pm

        Not at all, Jane. Our secretary is the only one who has the names of the entries so I won’t have a clue. If you click on the first ‘click here’ link you’ll see what’s what.

         
      • Jane Risdon

        April 7, 2014 at 8:10 pm

        OK may have a go.  Thanks.  See how my time pans out.  Jane xx

         

         

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,597 other followers

