RSS

Book & Story Reviews

Do you do book reviews and would like to share them on this blog?
(
currently booked to January 2015)
and / or
Do you have fictional short stories (individual or collection), writing guide,
or chick-lit / humorous romance women’s fiction (not pure romance) / crime fiction novel
and want it reviewed? Is it available for people to buy / download? If so, do email me.
(currently booked to April 2015)
***
PLEASE NOTE: As well as a writer, I am also an editor and because this is a writing
(as well as reading) blog, my reviews are often in-depth and look at the writing.
They don’t reveal the ending but aren’t usually brief as other reviews tend to be.

From late May 2013, Wednesdays have been dedicated to book reviews; either by guests or ones I’ve reviewed. See the end of this page for links to other reviewers.

As well as a few novels, I’ve written 400+ short stories (mostly <1,000-word flash fiction) and it’s what I read mostly so I review individual fictional short stories (any genre up to 15,000 words), fiction short story collections (any genre up to 50,000 words), writing-related ‘how to’ guides (up to 100,000 words) and contemporary women’s (e.g. chick-lit, humorous romance) or crime novels (up to 80,000 words). I don’t review every book I’m offered so please provide the synopsis or purchase link which shows the synopsis. I also review audiobooks so if your novel is available as an audio file, I will consider it. You can email me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.

YOUR BOOK: Guidelines for short stories / story collections or ‘how to’ writing guide or novel on audiobook considered for review:

  • Your book title, genre, synopsis and purchase link(s) for the book.
  • Short third-person biography for yourself / your writing.
  • Your name, website address(es).
  • All the above text in one document please, not embedded into an email.
  • Your Kindle-compatible (.mobi file) story (<10,000 words), collection (<50,000 words), writing guide (<80,000 words) or crime / contemporary women’s fiction novel (<80,000 words), in .mobi format only.
  • Book cover, ideally .jpg format and small file size, c.200×300 pixels, max 500kb size and optional photographs of yourself and your books as separate email attachments, not embedded in the document text.
  • Email the above (in one email please) to me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.

ANOTHER AUTHOR’S BOOK: Guidelines for guest book review (of another author’s book, of any genre):

  • The book title, author name/s, genre, synopsis and purchase link(s) for the book you are reviewing.
  • Up to 1,000-word first-person review of a book of any genre, without spoilers wherever possible (if there are spoilers, your review should put a spoiler alert at the beginning).
  • Please be as constructive as possible, say why the book does / doesn’t work.
  • Star rating (out of 5).
  • Short third-person biography for yourself / your writing.
  • Your name, website address, titles of your book(s) and purchase link(s).
  • All the above text in one document please, not embedded into an email.
  • Photograph of the book cover you are reviewing as well as optional photographs of yourself and your books, if you have any, (ideally .jpg format and small file size, c.200×300 pixels, max 200kb size) as separate email attachments please, not embedded in the document text.
  • Email the above to me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.
  • All content has to be family-friendly please so no strong language or violence.

I also  welcome short story collections (or individual short stories up to 10,000 words) in eBook format (ideally Kindle mobi but I can accept pdfs) for review once a fortnight… by me! Feel free to email me your book and / or link with voucher code, but I do need at least one month’s notice. I will review every collection I am sent – note: I don’t review novels, poetry or scripts – but please be patient.

I will add the books I have received to the schedule below so you’ll have an idea of existing lead times and when your review will appear. Your book must be available for readers of the review to buy (or download for free) when the review goes live. NB. I won’t give a glowing review unless it really is a good book. Like my freelance editing & critique, I’m firm but fair.

Below are the books / stories reviewed to-date and scheduled…

Posted

Scheduled (the dates may change if I don’t receive guest reviews to fill the gaps, or they may be filled with the short stories listed further down).

  • 071:  I shall be reviewing Paul Gitsham‘s DCI Warren Jones book 2: No Smoke Without Fire – (Wednesday 26th November).
  • 072: I shall be reviewing Stuart MacBride‘s 12 Days of Winter – (Monday 1st December).
  • 073: I shall be reviewing Nicky Wells‘ novella Spirits of Christmas – (Wednesday 3rd December).
  • 074: Paranormal/women’s fiction author and guest blogger Deb Atwood will be reviewing Five Days Left by Julie Lawson Timmer – (Wednesday 10th December).
  • 075: I shall be reviewing William A Gordon‘s writing guide 1,001 Tips for Writers – (Wednesday 17th December).
  • 076: I shall be reviewing Paul R. Hewlett‘s Lionel’s Christmas Adventure – (Monday 22nd December).
  • 077: I shall be reviewing Talli Roland‘s Mistletoe in Manhattan – (Wednesday 24th December).
  • 078: I shall be reviewing Jane Wenham-Jones‘ short story collection Something to Celebrate – (Wednesday 31st December).
  • 079: I shall be reviewing Think of the Children by Kerry Wilkinson – (Wednesday 7th January 2015).
  • 080: I shall be reviewing Market and Sell Books by Richmond Pickering – (Wednesday 14th January).
  • 081: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Tim Frazer Again by Francis Durbridge – (Wednesday 21st January).
  • 082: I shall be reviewing Nowick Gray‘s stories from Strange Love / Romance Not For Sale – (Wednesday 28th January).
  • 083: I shall be reviewing Jane Bidder‘s The Witness  Ruth Rendell‘s A Dark Perfume & Other Stories – (Wednesday 4th February).
  • 084: I shall be reviewing Michael Ross‘ collection Twenty Short Stories – Settling a Score – (Wednesday 11th February).
  • 085: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Jane Wenham-Jones‘ short story collection Cat Tales for Cat Lovers – (Wednesday 18th February).
  • 086: I shall be reviewing Tim Jeffreys‘ The Lucky Penny and Other Stories – (Wednesday 25th February).
  • 087: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Andrew Gross15 Seconds – (Wednesday 4th March).
  • 088: I shall be reviewing Matt Cairns‘ debut thriller Cold Blooded – (Wednesday 11th March).
  • 089: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Cynthia Leitich Smith‘s short stories Cat Call and Haunted Love – (Wednesday 18th March).
  • 090: I shall be reviewing Kellie Elmore‘s Withering – (Wednesday 25th March).
  • 091: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing one of Robert Galbraith‘s (JK Rowling’s) crime novels, either ‘Cuckoo Calling’ or ‘The Silkworm’ (whom I met in July at the the Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Writing weekend) – (Wednesday 1st April).
  • 092: I shall be reviewing Kontakte and Other Stories by Jonathan P Taylor – (Wednesday 8th April).
  • 093: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing A New Writer’s Journey by A. D. Davies – (Wednesday 15th April).
  • 094: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 22nd April).
  • 095: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Alan Bennett‘s The Lady in the Van – (Wednesday 29th April).
  • 096: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 6th May).
  • 097: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Annie Proulx‘s short story Brokeback Mountain – (Wednesday 13th May).
  • 098: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 20th May).
  • 099: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Alan Titchmarsh‘s Rosie – (Wednesday 27th May).
  • 100: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 3rd June).
  • 101: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Human Croquet by Kate Atkinson – (Wednesday 10th June).
  • 102: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 17th June).
  • 103: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Ruth Rendell‘s A Dark Perfume & Other Stories – (Wednesday 24th June).
  • 104: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 1st July).
  • 105: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewinga short story, writing guide or novel (Wednesday 8th July).
  • 106: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 15th July).
  • 107: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story, writing guide or novel – (Wednesday 22nd July).
  • 108: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 29th July).
  • 109: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story, writing guide or novel – (Wednesday 5th August).
  • 110: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 12th August).
  • 111: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story, writing guide or novel – (Wednesday 19th August).
  • 112: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 26th August).
  • and so on…

Below are books (mostly eBook freebies) of my choosing to be read and reviewed (in no particular date / reading order). Some are not the genres that I would normally read but that’s the whole point of reviewing, and I won’t let that effect my opinion:

***

Are you looking for your book to be reviewed?

I only review short stories, writing guides and contemporary women’s / crime novels but list below some who review those and other formats. If you’re a reviewer it maybe worth seeing if they need more reviews (and if you’d be interested in reviewing my eBooks, do email me).

  • click here for reviewers of more than one genre
  • click here for reviewers of children’s books
  • click here for crime reviewers
  • click here for fantasy, horror, sci-fi genres reviewers
  • click here for flash fiction reviewers
  • click here for non-fiction reviewers
  • click here for reviewers of poetry
  • …pages for reviewers of other genres to follow
 

12 responses to “Book & Story Reviews

  1. Julia Hughes

    May 19, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Hi Morgen:) I adore reviewing, and have some deserve a wider audience! Will email you,
    Julia x

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 19, 2013 at 10:27 pm

      Excellent! Thanks, Julia. I look forward to reading, and sharing, them.

       
  2. jennyworstall

    May 31, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Great idea, Morgen. Lovely to have another place to put reviews.

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 31, 2013 at 9:15 pm

      Thank you, Jenny. I look forward to posting them.

       
  3. tadwojnicki

    June 14, 2013 at 8:42 am

    Morgen, that’s a great idea! I’d love to review other writers’ books,,, I’ve been given so much love and attention from unsolicited reviewers over the years that it’s only fitting that I give some of it back!

     
    • morgenbailey

      June 14, 2013 at 9:07 am

      Thank you, Tad. I look forward to reading them.

       
  4. Elizabeth

    August 31, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Nice idea. I will get back to you if I decide to put my reviews on your site.

    Have a great weekend.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 31, 2013 at 4:07 pm

      Thanks, Elizabeth, and you. NB. I don’t need (or really want) exclusivity.

       
  5. gvb1210mine

    May 19, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    /*
    Hello Ms. Bailey:
    Your message is greatly appreciated. I am aware that your time is valuable and short. I will make this quick and email you data and particulars concerning a possible review.
    Peace…
    Gregory V. Boulware, Author of ‘FAIRMOUNT’ and a view other items of interest.
    http://www.BoulwareEnterprises.comhttp://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_gnr_fkmr0?rh=i%3Astripbooks%2Cn%3A283155%2Ck3AGregory+V.+Boulware&keywords=Gregory+V.+Boulware&ie=UTF8&qid=1324957155
    */

     

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,626 other followers

%d bloggers like this: