RSS

Book & Story Reviews

Do you do book reviews and would like to share them on this blog?
(
currently booked to September)
and / or
Do you have a fictional short stories (individual or collection), writing guide,
or contemporary women’s / crime fiction novel
and want it reviewed? Is it available for people to buy / download? If so, do email me.
(
currently booked to February 2015)

From late May 2013, Wednesdays have been dedicated to book reviews; either by guests or ones I’ve reviewed. See the end of this page for links to other reviewers.

As well as a few novels, I’ve written 400+ short stories (mostly <1,000-word flash fiction) and it’s what I read mostly so I review individual fictional short stories (any genre up to 15,000 words), fiction short story collections (crime / women’s / general or mixed genres up to 80,000 words), writing-related ‘how to’ guides (up to 100,000 words) and contemporary chick lit / women’s (not romance) or crime novels (up to 80,000 words). I don’t review every book I’m offered so please provide the synopsis or purchase link which shows the synopsis. I also review audiobooks so if your novel is available as an audio file, I will consider it. You can email me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.

Guidelines for short stories / story collections or ‘how to’ writing guide or novel on audiobook considered for review:

  • Your book title, genre, synopsis and purchase link(s) for the book.
  • Short third-person biography for yourself / your writing.
  • Your name, website address(es).
  • All the above text in one document please, not embedded into an email.
  • Your story (<10,000 words) or collection (<25,000 words), ideally in .mobi but .doc or .pdf format will be fine.
  • Book cover, ideally .jpg format and small file size, c.200×300 pixels, max 500kb size and optional photographs of yourself and your books as separate email attachments, not embedded in the document text.
  • Email the above (in one email please) to me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.

Guidelines for guest book review (of another author’s book, of any genre):

  • The book title, author name/s, genre, synopsis and purchase link(s) for the book you are reviewing.
  • Up to 1,000-word first-person review of a book of any genre, without spoilers wherever possible (if there are spoilers, your review should put a spoiler alert at the beginning).
  • Please be as constructive as possible, say why the book does / doesn’t work.
  • Star rating (out of 5).
  • Short third-person biography for yourself / your writing.
  • Your name, website address, titles of your book(s) and purchase link(s).
  • All the above text in one document please, not embedded into an email.
  • Photograph of the book cover you are reviewing as well as optional photographs of yourself and your books, if you have any, (ideally .jpg format and small file size, c.200×300 pixels, max 200kb size) as separate email attachments please, not embedded in the document text.
  • Email the above to me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.
  • All content has to be family-friendly please so no strong language or violence.

I also  welcome short story collections (or individual short stories up to 10,000 words) in eBook format (ideally Kindle mobi but I can accept pdfs) for review once a fortnight… by me! Feel free to email me your book and / or link with voucher code, but I do need at least one month’s notice. I will review every collection I am sent – note: I don’t review novels, poetry or scripts – but please be patient.

I will add the books I have received to the schedule below so you’ll have an idea of existing lead times and when your review will appear. Your book must be available for readers of the review to buy (or download for free) when the review goes live. NB. I won’t give a glowing review unless it really is a good book. Like my freelance editing & critique, I’m firm but fair.

Below are the books / stories reviewed to-date and scheduled…

Posted

Scheduled (the dates may change if I don’t receive guest reviews to fill the gaps, or they may be filled with the short stories listed further down).

  • 056: I shall be reviewing Tim Jeffreys‘ short story collection ‘Dark Lane’ – (Wednesday 27th August).
  • 057: I shall be reviewing Paul Gitsham‘s DCI Warren Jones book 1: The Last Straw – (Wednesday 3rd September).
  • 058: I shall be reviewing Traveling Left of Center and Other Stories by Nancy Christie – (Wednesday 10th September), available 9th September.
  • 059: I shall be reviewing Graham Smith‘s collection of short stories Gutshots: Ten Blows to the Abdomen – (Wednesday 17th September).
  • 060: I shall be reviewing Nowick Gray‘s stories from My Country: Essays and Stories From the Edge of Wilderness – (Wednesday 24th September).
  • 061: Louise Farrell will be reviewing How to Write a Novel by Richmond Pickering – (Wednesday 1st October).
  • 062: I shall be reviewing Jane Wenham-Jones‘ short story collection Cat Tales for Cat Lovers – (Wednesday 8th October).
  • 063: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Cynthia Leitich Smith‘s short stories Cat Call and Haunted Love – (Wednesday 15th October).
  • 064: I shall be reviewing Jerry Last’s mystery novel The Origin of Murder – (Wednesday 22nd October).
  • 065: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 29th October).
  • 066: I shall be reviewing Leigh Russell‘s latest crime novel ‘Race to Death’ (due out Sept 2014) – (Wednesday 5th November).
  • 067: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 12th November).
  • 068: I shall be reviewing Paul Gitsham‘s DCI Warren Jones book 2: No Smoke Without Fire – (Wednesday 19th November).
  • 069: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 26th November).
  • 070: I shall be reviewing one of Robert Galbraith‘s (JK Rowling’s) crime novels, either ‘Cuckoo Calling’ or ‘The Silkworm’ (whom I met in July at the the Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Writing weekend) – (Wednesday 3rd December).
  • 071: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 10th December).
  • 072: I shall be reviewing William A Gordon‘s writing guide 1,001 Tips for Writers – (Wednesday 17th December).
  • 073: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 24th December).
  • 074: I shall be reviewing Jane Wenham-Jones‘ short story collection Something to Celebrate – (Wednesday 31st December).
  • 075: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 7th January 2015).
  • 076: I shall be reviewing Market and Sell Books by Richmond Pickering – (Wednesday 14th January).
  • 077: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 21st January).
  • 078: I shall be reviewing Nowick Gray‘s stories from Strange Love / Romance Not For Sale – (Wednesday 28th January).
  • 079: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 4th February).
  • 080: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 11th February).
  • 081: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 18th February).
  • 082: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 25th February).
  • 083: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 4th March).
  • 084: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 11th March)
  • 085: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story – (Wednesday 18th March).
  • 086: I shall be posting one of my reviews here, email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed. I need at least one month’s notice – (Wednesday 25th March).
  • and so on…

Books (mostly short story freebies) of my choosing to be read and reviewed (in no particular order). Some are not the genres that I would normally read but that’s the whole point of reviewing, and I won’t let that effect my review:

***

Are you looking for your book to be reviewed?

Other than selected short stories listed above, I don’t do book reviews (this blog is a full-time+ job) but list below some who do. If you’re a reviewer it maybe worth seeing if they need more reviews (and if you’d be interested in reviewing my novels, do email me).

  • click here for reviewers of more than one genre
  • click here for reviewers of children’s books
  • click here for crime reviewers
  • click here for fantasy, horror, sci-fi genres reviewers
  • click here for flash fiction reviewers
  • click here for non-fiction reviewers
  • click here for reviewers of poetry
  • …pages for reviewers of other genres to follow
 

12 responses to “Book & Story Reviews

  1. Julia Hughes

    May 19, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Hi Morgen:) I adore reviewing, and have some deserve a wider audience! Will email you,
    Julia x

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 19, 2013 at 10:27 pm

      Excellent! Thanks, Julia. I look forward to reading, and sharing, them.

       
  2. jennyworstall

    May 31, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Great idea, Morgen. Lovely to have another place to put reviews.

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 31, 2013 at 9:15 pm

      Thank you, Jenny. I look forward to posting them.

       
  3. tadwojnicki

    June 14, 2013 at 8:42 am

    Morgen, that’s a great idea! I’d love to review other writers’ books,,, I’ve been given so much love and attention from unsolicited reviewers over the years that it’s only fitting that I give some of it back!

     
    • morgenbailey

      June 14, 2013 at 9:07 am

      Thank you, Tad. I look forward to reading them.

       
  4. Elizabeth

    August 31, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Nice idea. I will get back to you if I decide to put my reviews on your site.

    Have a great weekend.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 31, 2013 at 4:07 pm

      Thanks, Elizabeth, and you. NB. I don’t need (or really want) exclusivity.

       
  5. gvb1210mine

    May 19, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    /*
    Hello Ms. Bailey:
    Your message is greatly appreciated. I am aware that your time is valuable and short. I will make this quick and email you data and particulars concerning a possible review.
    Peace…
    Gregory V. Boulware, Author of ‘FAIRMOUNT’ and a view other items of interest.
    http://www.BoulwareEnterprises.comhttp://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_gnr_fkmr0?rh=i%3Astripbooks%2Cn%3A283155%2Ck3AGregory+V.+Boulware&keywords=Gregory+V.+Boulware&ie=UTF8&qid=1324957155
    */

     

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,542 other followers

%d bloggers like this: