RSS

Book & Story Reviews

Do you do book reviews and would like to share them on this blog?
(
currently booked to January 2015)
and / or
Do you have fictional short stories (individual or collection), writing guide,
or chick-lit / humorous romance women’s fiction (not pure romance) / crime fiction novel
and want it reviewed? Is it available for people to buy / download? If so, do email me.
(currently booked to July 2015)
***
PLEASE NOTE: As well as a writer, I am also an editor and because this is a writing
(as well as reading) blog, my reviews are often in-depth and look at the writing.
They don’t reveal the ending but aren’t usually brief as other reviews tend to be.

From late May 2013, Wednesdays have been dedicated to book reviews; either by guests or ones I’ve reviewed. See the end of this page for links to other reviewers.

As well as a few novels, I’ve written 400+ short stories (mostly <1,000-word flash fiction) and it’s what I read mostly so I review individual fictional short stories (any genre up to 15,000 words), fiction short story collections (any genre up to 50,000 words), writing-related ‘how to’ guides (up to 100,000 words) and contemporary women’s (e.g. chick-lit, humorous romance) or crime novels (up to 80,000 words). I don’t review every book I’m offered so please provide the synopsis or purchase link which shows the synopsis. I also review audiobooks so if your novel is available as an audio file, I will consider it. You can email me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.

YOUR BOOK: Guidelines for short stories / story collections or ‘how to’ writing guide or novel on audiobook considered for review:

  • Your book title, genre, synopsis and purchase link(s) for the book (full links please, no short links such as tiny.url etc).
  • Short third-person biography for yourself / your writing.
  • Your name and website address(es) – again full links only please.
  • All the above text in one document please, not embedded into an email.
  • Your Kindle-compatible (.mobi file) story (<10,000 words), collection (<50,000 words), writing guide (<80,000 words) or crime / contemporary women’s fiction novel (<80,000 words), in .mobi format only please.
  • Book cover, ideally .jpg format and small file size, c.200×300 pixels, max 500kb size and optional photographs of yourself and your books as separate email attachments, not embedded in the document text.
  • Email the above (in one email please) to me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.

ANOTHER AUTHOR’S BOOK: Guidelines for guest book review (of another author’s book, of any genre):

  • The book title, author name/s, genre, synopsis and purchase link(s) for the book you are reviewing.
  • Up to 1,000-word first-person review of a book of any genre, without spoilers wherever possible (if there are spoilers, your review should put a spoiler alert at the beginning).
  • Please be as constructive as possible, say why the book does / doesn’t work.
  • Star rating (out of 5).
  • Short third-person biography for yourself / your writing.
  • Your name, website address, titles of your book(s) and purchase link(s).
  • All the above text in one document please, not embedded into an email.
  • Photograph of the book cover you are reviewing as well as optional photographs of yourself and your books, if you have any, (ideally .jpg format and small file size, c.200×300 pixels, max 200kb size) as separate email attachments please, not embedded in the document text.
  • Email the above to me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.
  • All content has to be family-friendly please so no strong language or violence.

I also  welcome short story collections (or individual short stories up to 10,000 words) in eBook format (ideally Kindle mobi but I can accept pdfs) for review once a fortnight… by me! Feel free to email me your book and / or link with voucher code, but I do need at least one month’s notice. I will review every collection I am sent – note: I don’t review novels, poetry or scripts – but please be patient.

I will add the books I have received to the schedule below so you’ll have an idea of existing lead times and when your review will appear. Your book must be available for readers of the review to buy (or download for free) when the review goes live. NB. I won’t give a glowing review unless it really is a good book. Like my freelance editing & critique, I’m firm but fair.

Below are the books / stories reviewed to-date and scheduled…

Posted

Scheduled (the dates may change if I don’t receive guest reviews to fill the gaps, or they may be filled with the other books / stories listed underneath the schedule).

Below are books (mostly eBook freebies) of my choosing to be read and reviewed (in no particular date / reading order). Some are not the genres that I would normally read but that’s the whole point of reviewing, and I won’t let that effect my opinion. Swap the links below for .co.uk, .com or wherever you live, wherever appropriately:

***

Are you looking for your book to be reviewed?

I only review short stories, writing guides and contemporary women’s / crime novels but list below some who review those and other formats. If you’re a reviewer it maybe worth seeing if they need more reviews (and if you’d be interested in reviewing my eBooks, do email me).

  • click here for reviewers of more than one genre
  • click here for reviewers of children’s books
  • click here for crime reviewers
  • click here for fantasy, horror, sci-fi genres reviewers
  • click here for flash fiction reviewers
  • click here for non-fiction reviewers
  • click here for reviewers of poetry
  • …pages for reviewers of other genres to follow

 

 

12 responses to “Book & Story Reviews

  1. Julia Hughes

    May 19, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Hi Morgen:) I adore reviewing, and have some deserve a wider audience! Will email you,
    Julia x

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 19, 2013 at 10:27 pm

      Excellent! Thanks, Julia. I look forward to reading, and sharing, them.

       
  2. jennyworstall

    May 31, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Great idea, Morgen. Lovely to have another place to put reviews.

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 31, 2013 at 9:15 pm

      Thank you, Jenny. I look forward to posting them.

       
  3. tadwojnicki

    June 14, 2013 at 8:42 am

    Morgen, that’s a great idea! I’d love to review other writers’ books,,, I’ve been given so much love and attention from unsolicited reviewers over the years that it’s only fitting that I give some of it back!

     
    • morgenbailey

      June 14, 2013 at 9:07 am

      Thank you, Tad. I look forward to reading them.

       
  4. Elizabeth

    August 31, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Nice idea. I will get back to you if I decide to put my reviews on your site.

    Have a great weekend.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 31, 2013 at 4:07 pm

      Thanks, Elizabeth, and you. NB. I don’t need (or really want) exclusivity.

       
  5. gvb1210mine

    May 19, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    /*
    Hello Ms. Bailey:
    Your message is greatly appreciated. I am aware that your time is valuable and short. I will make this quick and email you data and particulars concerning a possible review.
    Peace…
    Gregory V. Boulware, Author of ‘FAIRMOUNT’ and a view other items of interest.
    http://www.BoulwareEnterprises.comhttp://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_gnr_fkmr0?rh=i%3Astripbooks%2Cn%3A283155%2Ck3AGregory+V.+Boulware&keywords=Gregory+V.+Boulware&ie=UTF8&qid=1324957155
    */

     

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,637 other followers

%d bloggers like this: