RSS

2 responses to “Author interview no.76 with multi-genre writer Don Britt

  1. charleswalterwooten

    July 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Morgen : Once again, I have discovered something new or been fascinated by an Interview with a Writer, which is what we are before we become published; then we become an Author.-Right?-Some of these writers seem to me to be of a “stream-of-consciousness” type of writer; that is, they sit down and start writing whatever comes to mind, and, from that eventually emerges a book.- This is the type of writer that Don Britt seems to be,or perhaps he has the condition called passion or “an uncontrollable urge to write.”-This is not necessarily a disease, is it?-I have a passion to write what I call inspirational novels; that’s my calling, if you will,-I do look at writiing that way.-You need to have a “story to tell”, then the message comes out through the character(s) and their situations.-I also see writing as a craft, that is, you need an organized approach , pehaps even an outline which gives you a “blueprint” for your story. But I do admit that when I sit down to write the story it “takes on a life of its own” and it develops from there.-I do have a tendency to use a Prologue and an Epilogue.-The Prologue sets the stage for the story with a critical situation; and, the Epilogue is the “wrap-up”.-My most recent novel also had a chapter called “Afterwards” which put the finishing touch on the Epilogue, actually.-So, “different strokes for different folks!”—I’ve read and seen various ways to construct a story and have a very satisfactory conclusion.—That’s the freedom we have as writers, right?!-That’s why I’m a novelist; I’m free to use my imagination!

     
  2. charleswalterwooten

    July 27, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    Your Interview with Don Britt was fascinating.-He strikes me as a “stream-of-consciousness” writer, or, at least, that’s his creative style,-I guess I’m more into structure because I like to create an outline which becomes my Table of Contents, sometimes with Part One, Part Two, and Part Three, seldom more thant that; and, the chapters fall into their appropriate place .
    But I agree that a writer needs a passion for his writing. For example, I have
    a passion for writing inspirational novels.It’s my calling, if you will.-I also use a Prologue, which has a character in a situation; where the stage is set.-Then the chapters follow with the story-line.-The Epilogue is the conclusion
    or the “wrap-up” to the story.-However, as “creative touch”, in my most recent novel I added a chapter called “Afterwards”.-In another novel, I
    added, “The Author’s Notes

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
