RSS

52 responses to “Author interview no.81 with mystery and children’s writer Sunny Frazier

  1. Sunny Frazier

    August 1, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Morgan, this interview and the way you tweaked it was so much fun.

    Now, I want to ask the Posse and friends to tell me one new thing they learned about me.

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 1, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      I certainly learned a lot about you. 🙂 You’re very welcome, it was fun to read.

       
    • Augie

      August 1, 2011 at 11:59 pm

      I’m a posse member and Sunny encourages new writers need to develop the art of writing well (in the correct tense and POV). Also, allow yourself to develop characters in the making, and that would be to learn ones craft, to take this as a business and toughen up each time there is a rejection. Someone out there will take a chance on you if you persevere and believe in what you are doing. Thank you Morgan and Sunny for a wonderful interview.

       
      • morgenbailey

        August 2, 2011 at 12:08 am

        You’re very welcome Augie. They do say that a successful writer is one who didn’t give up… and as long as we have passion we’ll be in it for the long haul, won’t we? 🙂

         
    • Paula Petty

      August 2, 2011 at 1:36 am

      A children’s book–how challenging. Is it YA? You also answered a question I had about agents. I am proud to be a part of the Posse.

       
    • Tom Williams

      August 2, 2011 at 9:27 pm

      I was surprised at Sunny’s Law enfocement and military experience. It makes sense because she’s so driven but I never would have pegged it. She is truly a very competent and skilled woman of mystery. 🙂

       
      • Sunny Frazier

        August 2, 2011 at 11:54 pm

        Yeah, nobody saw that coming. Even my recruiter tried to “un-recruit” me to marry me. But, I’d grown up in a military family, so it wasn’t so strange to me.

        I pretty much aced the county test to get hired by the Sheriff’s Dept. 2nd highest score out of 900 people. Fell into that job. But, it really seemed like a para-military organization to me, so I was comfortable with the chain of command and following orders. I think everyone should have some military experience behind them.

         
  2. Melanie Jackson

    August 1, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    Sunny, I learned you like quiet and cats. Ditto! You also — perhaps vicariously — like red high-heeled shoes. Again, ditto.

     
  3. Theresa Varela

    August 1, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    What a wonderful interview! The optimism is contagious. I am intrigued by the thought of a children’s story written by Sunny. Thanks for this read!

     
  4. Elizabeth Kolodziej

    August 1, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Great interview!
    Sunny: I learned that you don’t outline. I don’t really do this either and find it nice that I’m not alone with this. I like it when the story takes me to places I didn’t expect.

    Liz ^_^
    http://www.vampyrekisses.com

     
  5. jack everett

    August 1, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Apart from the interview which was splendid and the fact that Morgen has already done one with David and myself-due out soon so watch this space- I learned you have 35 networked outlets of which I only know about ten.
    Brilliant, you never cease to amaze me.
    jackleverett.me.uk

     
  6. morgenbailey

    August 1, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    Thank you Jack…just you wait til yours comes out. 🙂

     
  7. G Thomas Gill

    August 1, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Sunny, you are a lady of very few words – direct and to the point. Enjoyed the interview’s flow.

     
  8. Angela Roe

    August 1, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I enjoyed the interview and I’m impressed with your skill level. I learned several new things about you, I didn’t know you’ve never received a rejection, I didn’t know you worked for the undercover narcotics unit, I didn’t know you wrote children’s books…I’m fascinated!

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 1, 2011 at 5:51 pm

      I’ve learned new things here and I read the interview 🙂

       
  9. clarklohrcrimewriter

    August 1, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    I learned several useful things but two of them stand out: 1. Write down the five senses and fill in the blanks for their use in a given scene. Then write the scene. That’s very useful. 2. You like quiet. Me too. I don’t want to hear anything but the voices in my head.

     
  10. morgenbailey

    August 1, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    Can I tempt any of you to take part? 🙂

     
  11. Marja McGraw

    August 1, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Sunny, I learned that you don’t outline and that you let your characters take control, and I can relate to that. I love it when the characters take control.

     
  12. C.K. Crigger

    August 1, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    Absolutely great interview Sunny and Morgan. Loved it. Sunny, I didn’t know you liked historical fiction. Must be why you accepted my western suspense novel. I’m working on Morgan’s questions now and having to really “think” as I answer.

     
  13. Virginia Walton Pilegard

    August 1, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    So, you read historical fiction? Me too.

     
  14. Velda Brotherton

    August 1, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Sunny, I learned that you were a journalist, sort of like me, and you don’t believe in writer’s block like me. I say sort of cause I fell into it with no training and remained there for 20 years. LOL

     
  15. Don Helin

    August 1, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    I didn’t realize that Sunny wrote children’s book. Knew about the mysteries.

     
  16. Sally Carpenter

    August 1, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    Hi Sunny, loved the interview! I learned that you like total quiet to write–same as me, except my cats jump on the table and stand in front of the monitor while I try to work. And unlike me, you don’t revise. I rewrite every sentence about 10 times. I like your work ethic–“just do it”–which is good advice for any author. Keep writing!
    Sally Carpenter
    “The Baffled Beatlemaniac Caper”
    Oak Tree Press

     
  17. roger gilson

    August 1, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    I know you like historical fiction but why is it a ‘guilty pleasure’??????
    Peny

     
  18. Bill Schweigart

    August 1, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    I learned that you have a children’s book in the wings. I also learned that you shot a man in Reno just to watch him die. (I read between the line, Sunny.)

     
  19. John Brantingham

    August 1, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    I learned that you write children’s fiction too. Such an interesting genre. I always thought it would be fun, but it’s outside my experience.

     
  20. Anne White

    August 1, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    I’ve been following Sunny’s posts, blogs and writings as my first book, An Affinity For Murder, was published by Oak Tree in 2001. I’m amazed by the amount of work she manages to do and do well, and loved getting some insight into how she does it.
    Anne White http://www.annewhitemysteries.com
    Lake George Mysteries. Opens to #5 Cold Winter Nights

     
  21. Anne R. Allen

    August 1, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    What a great interview! Love your format Morgen. I’ll be in touch. I’d love a chance to have you interview me.

    I learned a lot about you, Sunny. Like your passion for historical fiction! Not what I would have thought (I love historicals, too, but I’m not moved to write them. I guess that’s why they’re such a great escape.)

    Most of all I learned that my blog is one of your favorites :-). Thanks for the shout out!

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 1, 2011 at 10:24 pm

      Thank you Anne, that’s a lovely thing to say.

       
    • Sunny Frazier

      August 2, 2011 at 12:16 am

      Of course your blog is a favorite! I encourage Posse members to monitor it.

       
  22. sirsteve L. Brayton

    August 1, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Dr Pepper! You rock, Sunny! Okay, Diet Dr Pepper. You still rock!

     
  23. Sunny Frazier

    August 1, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    You guys are so funny! Yes, I wrote a children’s book in the ’70’s when I was told children didn’t want to read about pirates. Now I’ve brushed it off and am putting it in the computer. Pirates of the Caribbean meets The Food Channel.
    Historical fiction–I feel like I’m playing hooky because I’m not reading mysteries.
    Yes, Stephen, Dr Pepper rocks! We will have to knock a few glasses back when we get together.

     
  24. Lesley Diehl

    August 2, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Diet Dr. pepper? Wow! Taht was the first soft drink I every had and the onlhy one my motehr would allow me when I was a kid. I sneaked cokes when I was with my friends and away from Mom.

     
  25. beverly a lauderdale

    August 2, 2011 at 1:26 am

    While I learned many things about Sunny–from writing a children’s book to making a list of five senses–perhaps the most amazing thing is that she doesn’t rewrite. As one who writes fast and then anguishes over each sentence as I “improve” every word, I stand in awe of her ability.

     
    • Sunny Frazier

      August 2, 2011 at 7:56 am

      Write it right the first time and you don’t have to go back and revise. I learned that as a newspaper reporter. Deadlines pressured us to work fast and effectively. There was no time for do-overs or second guessing.

       
  26. John M. Daniel

    August 2, 2011 at 2:14 am

    Fine interview, Morgen and Sunny. Sunny the most startling thing I learned about your life and career is that you have never been rejected. That places you in the Guiness Book of Records!

     
    • Sunny Frazier

      August 2, 2011 at 8:01 am

      Well, you didn’t reject me either, John!

      I think I was just very savvy about where I submitted, which contests I entered, who I approached. I kept the odds in my favor. I don’t think writers do enough research before they submit and that sets them up for failure.

      Also, I convince myself that whatever I’ve just written tops anything that I’ve penned before. My expectations of my writing doesn’t allow for failure. Set the bar a bit higher each time and you can only improve.

       
  27. Kat Hinkson

    August 2, 2011 at 3:36 am

    Love the interview. Your style of blogging is fun and interesting. As for Sunny, I’d love to see your children’s book. I split my time between adult mysteries and children/YA fiction.

     
  28. Penny

    August 2, 2011 at 6:06 am

    Great piece Sunny and Morgan. As a posse member I always learn something new and useful to the writer I hope to be when I grow up whenever Sunny gets interviewed. I knew about the short stories but the not outlining was new information. It does stand to reason that a woman who does astrological charts would trust the universe to help guide her story. Actually you said “Karma” but in my experience they can be quite similar.

     
  29. J. R. Lindermuth

    August 2, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Another Posse member here. Great interview. I wasn’t aware of the children’s book.

     
  30. lil ole badge maker

    August 2, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    Morgan, Sunny

    I do have to chime in, with agreement, as to the enjoyment of the interview and the flow of it. Quite enjoyable to say the least!

    As to Sunny’s challenge of learning new things about her?

    I didn’t know she had been branded! How badly did it hurt her? Did she pour diet Dr, Pepper on it to soothe seared scarred skin? Following journalism norms…
    Who branded her? What was used? Why? Where? When?

    Additionally I learned I had risen out of the depths of a Borax wagon wheel rut to attain “friend” status! Woo hoo!

    The other new tidbit… she didn’t tell me the badges had to “pop up”! Now how am I going to make that happen? They just lay there when pinned on. Springs? Hydraulics? Leave it to Sunny to always create new challenges.

    True to her mystery genre, she also left all with the mystery of just which five senses she writes down associated with the scene she is writing. Why doesn’t she write down all of her seven or eight senses?

    Maybe in the next interview?

     
  31. Holli Castillo

    August 2, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Sunny, I learned that you’ve never had a rejection. That’s pretty impressive. I also learned you don’t like to reread your writing. I forget what I’ve written and a lot of times even after I’ve read mine a dozen times I am surprised by what’s in the book. Of course, I also can see the same movie or t.v. series over and over and not remember what happens.

    Holli

     
  32. Eileen Obser

    August 3, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Love this interview! I’ve learned a few new things about you, Sunny. We share a need for quiet when writing; no TV, radio, just the cat purring nearby. I have a list of the five senses posted near the computer. Unlike you, I check the list after I’ve written the essay, chapter — not before. I also have a sign, in large letters, GO DEEPER. I was a journalist too, and tell my writing students to pretend they’re reporters when they say they’re “blocked.” Deadlines are deadlines. Unlike you, I’ve been rejected –lots — and my first drafts nearly always need work.

    I’m so glad to be a Posse member. I learn new information every day, and I’ve been at this craft for 40-plus years. That’s one of the gifts of being a writer, I believe, and of being open to new ideas and challenges.

     
  33. W.S. Gager

    August 5, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    In the better late than never category, I’ll chim in last! Sunny the thing I learn over and over from you is how you get around, cyberly that is. (I’m not commenting on any other interpretation! lol!) As always great interview! Thanks Sunny and Morgen!
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager
    http://www.wsgager.blogspot.com

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 5, 2011 at 2:45 pm

      Ah thanks Wendy… and I look forward to posting yours on the 24th. 🙂

       
  34. Bonnie BA Kelly

    August 7, 2011 at 8:01 am

    Interesting interview. I loved getting to know people when I published a newspaper in a small town. Being in charge allowed me to pick who I’d like to interview, and I discovered that all of the people I questioned had amazing, fascinating and sometimes surprising life stories–just like Sunny.

     
  35. marta chausée

    August 14, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Hi Sunny, Hi Morgen,

    It was nice to see such candor between you two. Sunny, I didn’t know you wrote a children’s book about a foodie pirate. Sounds delicioso. I like the idea of developing some strong Hispanic protagonists. Hmmm… I’ll have to see what I can do.

    Marta Chausée, author
    Resort to Murder Series

     
  36. Patricia Gligor

    September 29, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    Well, I’m “tuning in late,” as they say. I’m always amazed, when I read Morgen’s interviews, at how realistic they feel; it’s almost as if I’m listening to a conversation between two people as opposed to reading one.
    What did I learn about you, Sunny, that I didn’t know? I didn’t know that you liked to read historical fiction nor did I know that you’d never had a piece of your writing rejected. Wow! Wish I could say that. When I used to write short stories, I could’ve papered my entire apartment with the rejections.
    Great interview!

     
  37. morgenbailey

    September 29, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Hi Patricia. It’s always wonderful to get ‘late’ comments… in fact any comments anywhere. 🙂 Thank you.

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
