RSS

22 responses to “Author interview no.88 with writing duo Jack Everett and David Coles

  1. jack595

    August 8, 2011 at 10:58 am

    Before anyone else gets in I would like to thank Morgen for her professionalism, her tactful questioning and for becoming-although she doesn’t know it yet- one of our mates.

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 8, 2011 at 11:16 am

      Ah bless… just read this. Thank you Jack, that’s lovely. Happy to be mates with anyone involved in writing (especially when they spell my name correctly). I’m a literary tart. 🙂

       
      • Melodie Campbell

        August 8, 2011 at 2:25 pm

        Couldn’t let it go by….I assume one means ‘mates’ in the British slang context, as opposed to ‘mates’ in the somewhat more universally held definition?
        Just asking as a shy Canadian, you know…

         
  2. Mary McFarland

    August 8, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Morgen, I’ve discovered Jack and David via interaction on Crime Space. I’ve got my greedy hands on 1/1 – Jihad: Britain, and I’m delighted to be reading this novel. Jack, with whom I’ve communicated – not yet having the pleasure of talking to David – is so great. He really does care about readers (It helps that I’m also reviewing 1/1 – Jihad: Britain). But regardless, Jack is fun and direct and answers all my questions. I can’t wait to see what this pair writes next, and I’ve already gone for The Tourist.

     
  3. Mary McFarland

    August 8, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Morgen, here’s my review link. I hope you will enjoy reading the reviews, and if you’ve a mystery writer whose work you think needs reviewing, please send it my way. Thanks. Mary. http://www.buzzardbone.blogspot.com

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 8, 2011 at 12:27 pm

      Thanks Mary. They’ll be delighted with your comments here and I’ll tweet / Facebook your site. If I can interest you in taking part in one of my interviews feel free to email me (morgen@morgenbailey.com).

       
  4. J. R. Lindermuth

    August 8, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Enjoyed learning more about this interesting duo and their work.

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 9, 2011 at 12:14 pm

      Thank you John – and I look forward to posting yours on 13th September. 🙂

       
  5. Melodie Campbell

    August 8, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Jack and David, I am particularly struck by your advice: “Seek criticism, but don’t let it affect your desire to write”. This is a wonderful way to put a very difficult dilemma for writers. I can’t think of any other creative profession where each piece of work you do is commonly criticized in writing by numerous individuals in a public forum.
    Thanks for this intelligent and entertaining interview!

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 8, 2011 at 2:10 pm

      Wow… thank Melodie. I’ve let the guys know you’ve dropped by and commented (which is always very appreciated).

       
  6. David Coles

    August 8, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    At last… David here (Jack rises at unearthly times, I go to sleep at unearthly times!) and Morgen a UK person, great, I thought our time-zones were close. What nice comments, I really get a thrill from someone who has read some of our work; when someone thinks it good enough to read, it really does make it worthwhile… also good for street-cred with grandkids!

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 8, 2011 at 3:05 pm

      I’m in the ‘Jack unearthly rise times’ camp 🙂

       
  7. W.S. Gager

    August 8, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Great interview. I’m familiar with Jack but didn’t know he wrote with David. That has got to be tough at times but they seem to have it down pat. I love the 25 mile space between them…
    Thanks for a great interview Morgen!
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 8, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      Thanks Wendy… hopefully they’ll be able to comment on yours on the 24th. 🙂

       
  8. Marja McGraw

    August 8, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    Great interview, and I can’t wait to read the book(s). My assumption is that I’ll enjoy it so much that I’ll have to run right out and buy the next one. It’s encouraging to hear how well the two of you work together, too.

    You have a wonderful site, Morgen.

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 8, 2011 at 7:20 pm

      Thank you Marja and I look forward to being able to include yours. 🙂

       
  9. Paula Petty

    August 9, 2011 at 3:42 am

    Great interview, and I love the advice.

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 9, 2011 at 12:13 pm

      Thank you Paula, and a big thank you for subscribing. If I can tempt you to take part – feel free to email me (morgen@morgenbailey.com).

       
  10. Alison Bruce (@alisonebruce)

    August 9, 2011 at 5:04 am

    I love the breath fire approach to dealing with rejection. I’m going to try it next time. Unless, of course I never get rejected again (she laughs hysterically).

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 9, 2011 at 12:14 pm

      Thank you Paula, and I recognise you from Twitter. 🙂 I think I said this there but I’m always looking for interviewees so if I can tempt you to take part, feel free to email me (morgen@morgenbailey.com).

       
  11. thrillerwriter Michael Parker

    August 20, 2011 at 11:37 am

    Hallo Morgen, I’m a colleague of Jack & Dave although I’ve never met them. Our association is through Acclaimed Books. I enjoyed the interview; it was like being in the same room. Must be your technique. Should help ‘Everett Coles’ to sell more books. I have read and reviewed Jihad Britain (Amazon) and was pleased to see it made a national, UK daily (The SUN).

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 20, 2011 at 11:46 am

      Thank you so much Michael. Pardon the pun but I’m thrilled to hear from you. I hope you don’t mind but I’d like to invite you to an interview and will email you now. 🙂 And hoorah to Jack & David for the Sun – I buy it occasionally and love the ‘sun spots’ as they often inspire.

       

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
