RSS

Bailey’s Writing Tips podcast ‘red pen session’ no.2

22 Aug

** Please note that I no longer run red pen episodes but do offer critique (first 1,000 words free) via https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/editing-and-critique.** 

I’m delighted to announce that this week’s podcast released today, Monday 22nd August, was the second of my episodes dedicated to reading a short story or self-contained novel extract (with synopsis) and then talking about it afterwards.

I run a fortnightly in-person critique group as well as critiquing other authors writing which I really enjoy so I thought I’d create podcast episodes doing this. I’d be thrilled if you listened to the podcast (links below). Please remember that it’s only one person’s (my) opinion and you, and the author concerned, are welcome to disagree with my interpretation – I will never be mean for the sake of it, but hope that I’m firm but fair.

Regardless of what genre you write I hope that this helps you think about the way fiction is constructed and that you have enjoyed hearing another author’s work, the copyright of which remains with them.

Today’s story is from Aneesa of Glasgow, Scotland. Aneesa has been writing for some time and has always had an ambition to write her own book but was side-tracked with studies and work. Only recently has she come back to writing and is enjoying it very much. She has written a few short stories and sometimes likes to indulge in poetry. She is also fluent in 3 different languages: English, Urdu and German. This story is entitled ‘Finally You Found Me’.

I read the story, critiqued it (including highlighting some ‘show not tell’, repetitions etc), with the conclusion: “All in all it’s a very well-presented story, packed with emotion. With some minor grammatical and punctuational tweaking I’d say that it’s easily a story that could be submitted. I did a quick search on http://duotrope.com for 2,000 word stories (this is 1,591) for young adults and it came up with 18 outlet suggestions so that’s a good start.” The story has some mild strong language so this would need to be taken into consideration with the outlets chosen, or the language tweaked to fit.

Then I read out the story again as sometimes it’s better to understand a piece when you’re not concentrating on the plot. I’d be interested to know, upon hearing it twice, whether you feel any differently about it after the second read-through.

Aneesa’s blog is http://itsmythoughts11.wordpress.com (which has a really neat visitor location application!). She can  also be ‘liked’ on Facebook and followed on Twitter.

If you have any feedback on today’s episode or any other podcasts or aspects of my website or blog, I’m always delighted to hear from you – my email address is morgen@morgenbailey.com.

And if you’re feeling brave enough to email me an (ideally up to) 1,000 word short story or novel extract (with a brief synopsis please) for these red pen sessions then feel free.

Bailey’s Writing Tips podcast is available via iTunes, Google’s Feedburner, Podbean (when it catches up), Podcasters (which takes even longer) or Podcast Alley (which doesn’t list the episodes but will let you subscribe). Episodes include hints & tips (currently episode no.37) and audio interviews – see this blog’s podcast page for more information.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Bailey’s Writing Tips podcast ‘red pen session’ no.2

  1. It's My Thoughts

    August 24, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Thank you so so much.. I really enjoyed listening to this and I think you really did my story justice. What I do plan on doing is going back and now editing the story with all your corrections and tips.

    I am feeling really chuffed with all your comments and praise. Thanks once again.

     
  2. morgenbailey

    August 24, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    You’re so welcome and I’m glad you liked it. I’m looking forward to reading your next story in the next few weeks. 🙂

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
