RSS

12 responses to “Author interview no.105 with mystery and romance writer Wendy Gager

  1. Marilyn Meredith

    August 24, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Hi, Wendy. I loved finding out more about you. It’s always even more fun when you actually know the person.

    Marilyn

     
  2. Patricia Gligor

    August 24, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    I enjoyed this interview. I laughed when I read that Wendy “so can’t plan” and Morgen replied, “I’d say 90% have said that.” I guess I’m in the 10% (I don’t know if that’s good or bad) because I am a planner. I outline each chapter before I sit down to actually write. For me, that’s the only way it works. That’s not to say that things can’t change along the way because sometimes my characters, who have minds of their own, force me to make “adjustments” to my outline.

     
  3. W.S. Gager

    August 24, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    First off, thanks so much Morgen. I love your interviews. You ask such great questions and I love your comments in between.

    Marilyn: I do enjoy these interviews much more when I know the person and can picture them saying the things in print.

    Patricia: My critic partner is a planner. We tease her because she has a spread sheet with every scene. It has whose point of view, the location and who is in it. It is color coded. Whenever we talk about her story line, she pulls it out and makes notes. It works for her and that is all that counts. Thanks for commenting!
    Wendy

     
  4. Joselyn Vaughn

    August 24, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    A Case of Hometown Blues is a great book! You all have to check it out.

    Ahem on the color-coded spreadsheet. WHO told me how to do it? I recall a critique day with piles of colored stick notes. It is really helpful for seeing the big picture of the story.

     
  5. J Q Rose

    August 24, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    I didn’t know you wrote to the oldies…I need silence completely or perhaps Jim Brickman accompanies me while I am tapping at the keyboard. Great questions and answers in this interview. Best wishes with your third Malone book. I loved the first two and ready for #3!

     
  6. morgenbailey

    August 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Thank you ladies. Such comments just reiterate how warm the literary industry can be and remind me how fortunate I am to be a part of it. 🙂

     
  7. Tess Grant

    August 24, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    I remember those sticky notes too, Joselyn. I had characters dying left and right because their stickies weren’t showing up often enough!

    I’ve got my copy of Hometown Blues and can’t wait to dive in!

     
  8. Kathy Bennett

    August 24, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Hi Wendy;

    This is a good way for me to meet the people I missed meeting at the PSWA conference. Interesting stuff.

    I really like your character name Mitch Malone. Look forward to reading about him.

     
  9. Marja McGraw

    August 24, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Wendy, Very nice interview. I really enjoy your Mitch Malone books and can’t wait for the next one. And it seems that with each interview I learn a little more about you and Mitch. Great character!

     
  10. Sunny Frazier

    September 6, 2011 at 4:47 am

    I think Wendy is my missing twin! Both of us started writing early, both journalists, both get creative in water. I heard that called “water epiphany” at a recent conference. I often get them while swimming in the pool (is that a pool epiphany?) and in the shower. Now, how do we find waterproof laptops so we can write while we soak? Or, am I all wet?

     
  11. W.S. Gager

    September 6, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    Kathy: PSWA is great. So supportive!

    Marja: Thanks for stopping by and for all your support and great reviews! I owe you one!

    Sunny: I love the term Water Epiphany! I think the new Amazon tablet needs to be waterproof. What do you think?
    Wendy

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
