RSS

Daily Archives: September 12, 2011

Podcast: Bailey’s Writing Tips – Episode 039 (12th Sept 2011)

Episode 39 (length 13m 57s) of my Bailey’s Writing Tips podcast is now available via iTunes, Google’s Feedburner, Podbean (when it catches up), Podcasters (which takes even longer!) or Podcast Alley (which doesn’t list the episodes but will let you subscribe).. In the previous episode I covered a bit of everything and it had been ages (last October actually, episode 9) since I talked about writing for children so that’s what this episode covered. Below are the links mentioned:

Children-related publications

Other children-related websites

IDEAS

Here I give you a couple of story ideas or ways to get new ideas then list seven sentence starts which I put on https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/sentence-starts page; each one, if you’d like to use them, for a daily writing project. The ideas were:

  • A children’s story with a maximum of 1000 words about a dragon with a sore throat; and/or
  • Listen to children’s conversations (if you can) and note anything that’s funny or unusual; and/or
  • Write a scene where a child does something (which can be ordinary) for the very first time.

The episode then culminated in ‘On this day in history’ followed by a poem called ‘The language of love’.

Thank you for listening and / or stopping by here. If you have any feedback or areas you’d like covered in the hints & tips podcasts, you can email me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.

This blog also contains the weekly author spotlights and daily author interviews that I’ve posted to-date (124 when this episode came out). Although I am currently two months in hand, I’m always looking for more so if you write, regardless of genre (please note my blog and podcast have a ‘clean’ rating) or whether you’ve been published or not, do email me (morgen@morgenbailey.com) if you’re interested in taking part in these and / or a ‘red pen critique session’ of which the podcast episode next Monday will feature session no. 4.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 12, 2011 in childrens, ideas, podcast, tips, Twitter, writing

 

Tags: , , ,