RSS

24 responses to “Author interview no.125 with writer John Lindermuth

  1. J. R. Lindermuth

    September 13, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Thanks for having me here today, Morgen. It’s blogs like this help us unknowns get a little attention.

     
  2. Margaret Blake

    September 13, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    Fabulpous interview, John, so many golden rules for new writers and old ones, like me, as well.
    I always learn something from your interviews, that’s a bonus. Lots of luck with your writing in the future.

    Cheers, Margaret.

     
  3. Jennifer Wilck

    September 13, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Great interview! I like your advice to writers–simple and to the point. Good luck with the book.

     
  4. John M. Daniel

    September 13, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Fine interview, John. You, too, Morgen. I now feel as if I know you both from reading this conversation. Bravo, John, on your enormous literary output!

     
  5. welikehumans

    September 13, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Good Questions; Good answers. Lots of interesting info

     
  6. Don Helin

    September 13, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    Hi John and Morgan: What a great post. I enjoyed it. While I write thrillers, I enjoy historical fiction. Love Ken Follett’s new series on the 20th century, and also Jeff Shaara’s series. But I’m still a thriller lover at heart.

     
  7. Pauline Holyoak

    September 13, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Great interview John. I love reading about fellow authors and how they see the writing world.

     
  8. Marilyn Meredith

    September 13, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Great interview as usual. Glad to learn more about you, John.

    Marilyn

     
  9. theresavarela

    September 13, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    Great interview, Morgen. John, your comfort in writing is very apparent. Thank you!

     
  10. morgenbailey

    September 13, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    You’re so welcome – thank you everyone for stopping by and especially staying long enough, and feeling passionate enough to comment. It’s a pleasure.

     
  11. williamdoonan

    September 13, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Enjoyed the interview, John. I wish I was as productive. Do you find that your work with the historical society informs your writing? Historical fiction is always a challenge, but I imagine having that ‘in’ could be of great benefit. For my upcoming Oak Tree Press book, American Caliphate, I set a chapter in sixteenth century Spain, and that was by far the most difficult chapter to write (though hopefully not to read).

    William Doonan
    http://www.williamdoonan.com

     
    • J. R. Lindermuth

      September 13, 2011 at 7:02 pm

      It’s definitely a plus, William. I have access to a ton of research material on varying historical eras. And doing research for others hones my skill in that capacity. I love research, and there’s nothing like on-the-job training.
      Going back as far as the 16th century had to be a challenge, though.

       
  12. Bill Schweigart

    September 13, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Great interview, John. Awesome to hear about your time in the service too!

     
  13. J. R. Lindermuth

    September 13, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    Thanks all. Appreciate the comments.

     
  14. morgenbailey

    September 13, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Me too 🙂

     
  15. Augie

    September 13, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Morgen love the interview.
    John you are awesome, how many can plot, plan and rewrite in their heads…not me. This is a grand interview, love the history about your life too. Augie

     
  16. Marja McGraw

    September 13, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Both good questions and interesting answers. I’ve got to quit reading so many blogs because I keep finding new books that I know I’ll want to read, which is a compliment, John. Thank you for sharing.

     
  17. Paula Martin

    September 14, 2011 at 9:53 am

    Great questions and answers! Love you comment about being a pantser, John. You’ve explained exactly how I work too – start with a general idea but enjoy the surprises my characters often give me and the sudden twists I wasn’t expecting.
    Good luck with your recent submission – an sure WCP will snatch it up! .

     
    • morgenbailey

      September 14, 2011 at 9:55 am

      Thank you Paula, Marja, Augie… everyone. 🙂 It’s proving a popular interview… well done John!

       
  18. Dac Crossley

    September 14, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    John – you are an inspiration. Some days I procrastinate too long – then read something like your interview and the fire returns. thanks

     
    • morgenbailey

      September 14, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      What a lovely comment, thank you Dac.

       
    • J. R. Lindermuth

      September 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm

      Thanks, Dac. But if you ask my daughter, I’m the King of Procrastinators. What she doesn’t realize is I mainly procrastinate on things I’d rather not do.

       
  19. Patricia Gligor

    September 24, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Although I’m also a member of Sunny Frazier’s Posse, I didn’t really know much about John until I read this interview. History and Mystery – what a great combination. Thanks John and Morgen!

     
  20. morgenbailey

    September 24, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Thank you Patricia 🙂

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
