RSS

Author Spotlight no.12 – Sarahjane Funnell

24 Sep

To complement my daily blog interviews I recently started a series of Author Spotlights and today’s, the twelfth, is of children’s author Sarahjane Funnell. You can read the others here.

Sarahjane Funnell is the Regional PR Officer for LUSH Cosmetics and a newly published children’s fiction author. Predominantly she writes young children’s picture books and middle grade stories set in magical places and enchanted lands but is soon to self publish her first short story written for YA readers. Launching as an Amazon ebook in October 2011, Sarahjane’s latest literary addition to her published repertoire will be the fantasy story Blake – a short story which Sarahjane hopes will capture the imagination of young readers in particular those who would prefer a shorter fiction book.

Blake is an aloof and mysterious guy. He possesses a sharp glint in his eye and harbours a hidden secret. Ebony, a schoolgirl, becomes completely mesmerised by him and his strange character. Longing to unveil just what it is that makes Blake so different, she desperately searches for him in need of an answer. When Ebony finally has an opportune moment to discover the secret that surrounds him, she learns that it is not only he who has an unknown mystery but that she too has a secret that stretches far beyond her own identity, one that indeed changes not only her thoughts, but also her physical human form.

Blake will be available to download as an ebook from Amazon on Monday 10th October 2011 by Sarahjane Funnell. Cover Illustration by Dimitra Mathioudakis.

And now from the author herself:

I have been writing stories for as long as I can remember but I never set out thinking one day I would be a children’s author. Writing is just something I’ve always done. I can remember as a young girl at home writing little stories and drawing pictures then putting little books together. I would do this in my room at home or sat in the back of the church hall when my mum had her church singing practice. I also loved colouring in and reading adventure books such as Enid Blyton classics and Alice in Wonderland and watching fantasy films including Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Disney’s films such as Beauty and the Beast and sleeping beauty. These stories and many others probably explain my love for castles, magical lands and imaginative creatures, which are usually the main themes within the stories that I write.

As a teenager I loved watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer. It was my favourite teen series and I always wanted to be just like Buffy and became fascinated by Angel and the mystery that surrounded him. I think aspects of all these stories and genres have influenced my writing and my creativity. With Blake in particular, I have been inspired by the likes of other current fantasy films such as Twilight and Avatar. I also have a fondness for nature, beautiful gardens and historical houses from living in Plymouth in Devon for most of my life. With natural and picturesque surroundings such as Dartmoor and many National Trust houses my imagination is constantly sparked and inspired.

Blake will be my debut, solo published works following on from my previous published story entitled Princess Rose and the Royal Tea Castle appearing in the anthology A Pocketful of Moondust published by Rebel Books. I feel very excited to be releasing my first solo material as an ebook and I am also very proud to have such a brilliant cover designed by my university friend Dimitra Mathioudakis who has just completed an MA in Graphic Design Communication at Chelsea. I hope readers will enjoy the story and I feel the ebook market is a great way to prepare for releasing my next story which will be a children’s picture book scheduled for release in print and digital formats during Easter 2012.

Blake will be available to download as an ebook with Amazon on Monday 10th October 2011.

Thank you Sarahjane.🙂 You can find more about Sarahjane and her work via…

www.theenchantedpages.blogspot.com and you can follow her on Twitter @sarahjanestyle.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with novelist and short story author Alberta Ross – the one hundred and thirty-seventh of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, directors, bloggers, autobiographers and more. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate the authors further. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me at morgen@morgenbailey.com. You can also read / download my eBooks here.

 

Tags: , , ,

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
