RSS

27 responses to “Author interview no.151 with mystery and suspense writer Patricia Gligor

  1. J. R. Lindermuth

    October 9, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Good interview, Patricia. And I like the way you brought a variety of senses into your excerpt. Took me right into the scene and wanting to know more.

     
    • Patricia Gligor

      October 9, 2011 at 2:36 pm

      Thanks, J.R. I loved doing this interview with Morgen! She’s so much fun!
      I appreciate what you wrote about my novel excerpt; it’s actually the beginning of “Mixed Messages.”

       
  2. johnmdaniel

    October 9, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    Good getting to know you, Patricia. Wonderful interview!

     
    • Patricia Gligor

      October 9, 2011 at 5:44 pm

      Thanks, John. I know I can always count on your support.

       
  3. Mo Conlan

    October 9, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I very much enjoyed the interview, Patricia. I like what you say about writing — a serious, yet fun, approach. I also could tell from the snippet from her novel that I would enjoy reading the entire book! Happy writing. Mo

     
    • Patricia Gligor

      October 9, 2011 at 5:45 pm

      Thanks, Mo. Now, I just need to get my novel published!

       
  4. Sunny Frazier

    October 9, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    Pat, you’ve taken to the Posse so quickly and utilized marketing exactly as an author should. I hope others reading your interview will embrace the idea that part of an author’s job is to promote and learn the biz!

    As for writer’s block–when the alternative is scrubbing toilets, suddenly the words don’t seem so difficult to find, right? Let’s see: sit at my computer and spin a tale OR housework? I know which one I’m going for (sorry dust bunnies!)

     
    • Patricia Gligor

      October 9, 2011 at 7:07 pm

      Thanks, Sunny. I have you to thank for “teaching me the ropes.” As I wrote in the interview, I was a slow starter but you sure got me moving! Like my Dad always used to say, “If you’re going to do it, do it!”
      That’s a good point about writers block. I don’t have the problem often. You can tell that from the state my apartment is in.

       
  5. Jennifer Wells-Howell

    October 9, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Pat, you are awesome! Great interview, thanks for sharing some “insights” into your world and the writing process. You are an interesting and wonderful person. I can’t wait for the day that I can buy your novel! I love reading suspense, James Patterson is my favorite. Your honesty and down to earth genuine personality really came through in this interview!

     
  6. Patricia Gligor

    October 9, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    Jennifer, that’s high praise from someone who actually knows me “in person.” Thank you!

     
  7. Augie

    October 9, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Patricia, I enjoyed this interview, especially the cleaning of toilet and weeding, that’ll clean the cobwebs every time. Thank you for the snippet of your novel, as Morgen states, “…good hook,” I’m looking forward to picking this one up. Augie

     
    • Patricia Gligor

      October 9, 2011 at 10:30 pm

      Thanks, Augie. I’m looking forward to you being able to pick my novel up. 🙂

       
  8. Marja McGraw

    October 9, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    Patricia, Great interview. And I love learning new things about authors, and your book sounds like something I’d like. Let’s see. Clean toilets vs. writing? No brainer. But you’re right about getting away and doing something else. All of a sudden the ideas start to flow. Thanks for sharing.

     
  9. Patricia Gligor

    October 9, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Marja,
    All this talk about clean toilets reminds me that I need to do mine – and soon. Thanks for commenting.

     
  10. williamdoonan

    October 10, 2011 at 1:02 am

    Great interview, Patricia! Looking forward to reading. Also, your blog is really cool!

    William Doonan
    http://www.williamdoonan.com

     
  11. Patricia Gligor

    October 10, 2011 at 1:53 am

    Thanks, William! I appreciate your support.

     
  12. Jamie Sutton

    October 10, 2011 at 2:18 am

    Good interview! Congrats!

     
  13. Kat Hinkson

    October 10, 2011 at 5:37 am

    Great interview, Patricia. The excert was wonderful and full of images. Can’t wait to read your book. I used my rejections to wall paper a bathroom, great fiction reading, never danced on them.

     
    • Patricia Gligor

      October 10, 2011 at 1:51 pm

      That’s funny, Kat, because I seriously considered papering my bathroom walls with all those short story rejections. Then I realized that seeing them everyday might be a bit of a downer so I shoved them in a drawer instead.

       
  14. Dac Crossley

    October 10, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Nice interview, Patricia. I admire your presentation.

     
  15. Theresa Varela

    October 11, 2011 at 2:39 am

    Patricia! What a great interview! I can’t wait to read Mixed Messages, I could definitely feel what the character was and that is so important to me as a reader. When I have a case of writer’s block I usually play a game of x-treme fetch with my pooches. They enjoy it and so do I, then it’s back to my laptop. I love your description of doing the rejection letter stomp!

     
    • Patricia Gligor

      October 11, 2011 at 2:05 pm

      Theresa,
      Thanks for your comments. By the way, I like the term, “The rejection letter stomp.” Sounds like a new dance craze! Let’s invent another phrase; let’s call it “The acceptance letter romp.”

       
  16. Eileen Obser

    October 14, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Patricia,
    Great interview. I learned so much about you and about your methods of working. I love to take ideas like this and pass them on to my writing students. It’s a pleasure to know you.

     
    • Patricia Gligor

      October 15, 2011 at 2:27 pm

      Eileen,
      It’s been a pleasure getting to know you and the other Posse members. I also want to say that I think teaching is the most noble profession of all and, from everything I’ve read about you, I can tell you’re a fantastic teacher. In years to come, we’ll be reading novels by your students!

       
  17. morgenbailey

    October 15, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Thank you everyone, I’m delighted with so many comments. 🙂

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
