RSS

3 responses to “Author interview no.158 with crime novelist Stephen Booth

  1. Yvonne Hertzberger

    October 16, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    I found it interesting that as a crime writer you do not plot out all the steps but let things grow organically.. As a writer of Fantasy that does not seem so important but I like that it works for you so well. Shows there is no ‘right’ way to write.

     
  2. Stephen Booth (@stephenbooth)

    October 16, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    Thanks, Yvonne. Yes, every writer has a different approach. For me, the characters have to be given their freedom rather than being shoehorned into a plot. I still don’t entirely understand how things come together at the end of one of my novels without me planning it. But I’m writing about police detectives, so I suppose it’s their job to go out and solve the mystery, not mine – I’m only the author!

     
    • morgenbailey

      October 16, 2011 at 8:05 pm

      I think the characters taking over has got to be one of my ‘favorites’. 🙂

       

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
