RSS

21 responses to “Author interview no.159 with multi-genre writer Carolyn Smith a.k.a. Caroline Clemmons

  1. Vicki Batman

    October 17, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Hi, Caroline! What an incredible interview for an incredible writer. And yes, you have some good critique gals.

    I always like to remind Caroline she told me to join DARA. Thanks my friend!

     
  2. Diana Cosby

    October 17, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Caroline,
    Fun and interesting interview. I love that when you’re struggling with story, you write as if you’re talking to a friend. Light-bulbs came on here. I love estate sales too. Sigh. I love the fun of finding something you never expected. 🙂
    You’re an amazing writer and person I’m blessed to call friend. I’m so proud of you, and I wish you continued success! *Hugs*
    Love you!

     
    • Caroline Clemmons

      October 17, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      Thanks, Diana. You are a terrific friend. I love estate sales, but have to watch myself. I’ve filled our house with “treasures” and we’ve run out of room. 🙂

       
  3. Caroline Clemmons

    October 17, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Morgen, thanks so much for hosting me today. I’ve promoted and hope we have a lot of readers drop by.

     
  4. morgenbailey

    October 17, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Thank you ladies… Caroline, me too. 🙂

     
  5. Susan Macatee

    October 17, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Another great interview, Caroline! Like you, I hate promo. I’m still trying to figure out what works to gain readers and what’s not worth my time.

    I’m also addicted to my e-reader. I have a Nook. It’s just so easy to buy and download books I want right now. Don’t have to worry about postage expense or wait time in the mail. lnstant gratification! lol

    I love all your stories and with that intriguing excerpt, your newest release is already on my radar. Best of luck with it, my friend.

     
    • Caroline Clemmons

      October 18, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      Thanks, Susan. Your writing is so great that I value your input. I also love the instant gratification of an e-reader. I have a Kindle. Think of all the postage or car expense we save with our e-readers. And they’re so light, I take mine everywhere so I always have something to read if I’m stuck waiting a few minutes here or there. Amazing how much reading I get done in ten minute sessions. Thanks for commenting.

       
  6. Celia Yeary

    October 17, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    CAROLINE–yes, you’re very busy! I’m on a sort of hiatus, but I will gear up soon. I just get tired promoting–often we don’t know if anything is working or not. So, I’m with you there. It’s just one of those necessities in the life of an author.
    Good luck with this very good story–say hello to Derek and Courtney for me!

     
    • Caroline Clemmons

      October 18, 2011 at 4:10 pm

      Thanks, Celia. After the hectic summer and fall you’ve had, you deserve a rest. Thanks for stopping by.

       
  7. Paisley Kirkpatrick

    October 17, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    This is one of the best intereviews I’ve read. I love the different type of questions. I have two stories about ready to send out and then I can have the fun of promotion. I’ve been paying more attention to promotion lately and the variety of techniques is daunting, and yet exciting. I live in the mountains so don’t get out and around people a lot. I can see that will be changing when I am blessed with a published book.

    The best to you, Caroline. You write fantastic stories.

     
    • morgenbailey

      October 17, 2011 at 6:35 pm

      Thank you Paisley. You write so if you’d like to answer the same questions, currently booking for January 2012, do let me know. 🙂 My email address is dotted around the site and there are other things to take part in.

       
    • Caroline Clemmons

      October 18, 2011 at 4:11 pm

      Paisely, I’ve read your writing at various times, and I look forward so much to your book’s release. I know it will be a major success!

       
  8. Jeanmarie Hamilton

    October 17, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    Caroline and Morgan,
    Fantastic interview! If we lived closer Caroline, we could go antiquing together. Wouldn’t we have fun. Of course we’d have to save that for the weekends so we can write during the week.

    Wishing you many happy readers for your new book!
    *Hugs*

     
    • Caroline Clemmons

      October 18, 2011 at 4:13 pm

      Jeanmarie, I wish we DID live closer. We enjoy so many of the same things, we would probably constantly get ourselves into trouble having fun. Not bad trouble, good trouble like dragging home too many antiques or staying too long looking for dinosaur tracks, etc. Girls just want to have fun!

       
  9. Avery Michaels

    October 17, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Great interview, Caroline! I’ve known you for 10 years and learned some new things about you!

    Avery

     
  10. Virginia C

    October 18, 2011 at 12:55 am

    Hi, Caroline!

    I am an ole newspaper gal myself, but I sold advertising and wrote a cooking column. I enjoy promotion and marketing. I also worked at our local radio station, and I loved writing ad copy! Thank you for a great interview. You have a lot of interests, and you have creative story ideas for a variety genres. Something tells me that you “see stories” where others just see a blank wall. Well, blank except maybe for that fly speck : )

     
    • Caroline Clemmons

      October 18, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      Virginia, I also wish we lived near one another. You are such an interesting person and I love your humor. I feel fortunate to have “met” you online and count you as a friend.

       
  11. Michelle Miles

    October 18, 2011 at 2:14 am

    What a great in-depth interview, Caroline!

     
    • Caroline Clemmons

      October 18, 2011 at 4:16 pm

      Michelle, thanks for stopping by. I know you’re busy doing promotion for your new release.

       

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
