RSS

7 responses to “Author interview no.163 with mystery, science-fiction and playwright Sally Carpenter

  1. alishadt

    October 21, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Hi,
    I really thought this was certainly a good read. For I am working on my first book presently and got some real good information .

    Thanks
    alisha

     
  2. Patricia Gligor

    October 21, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Morgen and Sally,
    Great interview! I love getting to know more about the other members of Sunny’s Posse.
    Sally, I agree with you; I detest so-called “reality” shows too! Seriously, if that’s reality, Calgon, take me away! Best of luck with your novel.

     
  3. Sheila Dalton

    October 21, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    I found this interview very interesting. I like to learn about an author’s writing journey, and hearing their opinion of self-publishing vs. traditional publishing, agents, etc.
    I had an agent once, but she dropped me because I took too long to finish a book I finally placed on my own,my latest novel, The Girl in the Box, from Dundurn.
    I also had an English aunt who was a novelist and travel writer who told much the same story: she had an agent at one time, but advised me not to get one – she said she did a better job of selling her books than the agent did.
    Makes you think.

     
  4. morgenbailey

    October 21, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    “she said she did a better job of selling her books than the agent did.” If I had a pound for every interviewee who’d told me that… 🙂 Thank you ladies. M x

     
    • Sheila Dalton

      October 21, 2011 at 2:26 pm

      Interesting, Morgen. I didn’t know it was a common thought among writers. REally make you wonder. I was thinking of looking for an agent again if The Girl in the Box is a success. I hear they can negotiate a better contract for you than you can do yourself and that publishers like it when they sign an un-agented author, because they know they can get away with paying less. But if they can’t sell it in the first place …

       
  5. morgenbailey

    October 21, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    I tried the agent route with two novels, albeit via email with eight or nine top agents (starting at the top of the tree) and three face-to-face at a writers’ conference this summer. 🙂 All but one gave a polite “no”, the other didn’t reply but their guidelines had warned that (bah humbug). I decided that I wanted to reformat the novels and one will be a novella and the other an anthology (more of a cameo of characters). I’m more of a short story author so pretty much a non-starter, but the big thing for me is that, with help from a wonderful editor, I can choose my own content, price and covers. It may be the control freak in me but I get the ultimate say and even though I’m listing the first two at £0.99 on Amazon (and Smashwords) so I only get £0.34 / £0.35 a sale, hearing that an author only gets £0.08 on a hard copy £8 paperback (15% on hardbacks) going the traditional route, I’d say it’s a win-win. It may be different if I do re-consider writing more novels (I’m done 4 1/2) because I would love to see my books in shops, but for now I’m very happy. 🙂

     
  6. morgenbailey

    October 22, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Morning everyone. I went to a talk by English crime writer Stephen Booth last night and he couldn’t praise his agent enough. She stuck with him for 2 years with no sale then had an offer from Penguin which then had other publishers interested and ended up with an auction won by Harper Collins. He said without his agent he wouldn’t be where he is now. It was an interesting evening – I’ll type up my notes in the next few days and release them on the blog.

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
