RSS

44 responses to “Author interview no.193 with writer and publisher John M Daniel

  1. morgenbailey

    November 20, 2011 at 11:57 am

    Ooh, happy birthday for Tuesday, John (thank you Facebook). 🙂

     
  2. morgenbailey

    November 20, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    And your book was published… TODAY! Congratulations. 🙂

     
  3. Lev Raphael

    November 20, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    I love that response about listening to the music of his words. That’s how I feel, too, after writing 21 books and 100s of reviews, essays, blogs.

     
  4. Jean Henry Mead

    November 20, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Wonderful interview, Morgen and John. I’m pleased to have John as a blog tour mate for the “Mystery We Write” holiday tour coming up November 25-December 9. And add my “Happy Birthday,” as well.

     
    • morgenbailey

      November 20, 2011 at 5:41 pm

      Thank you Jean. I look forward to posting yours next month. 🙂 I MAY have an interview slot coming open at the tail end of your MWW tour – will let you know if I can bring it forward (if you’d like me to). M x

       
  5. Patricia Gligor

    November 20, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    Wonderful interview, Morgen!
    I just received a copy of John’s latest novel, “Behind the Redwood Door,” from Amazon and I’m looking forward to reading it.

     
  6. J. R. Lindermuth

    November 20, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    Enjoyed the interview. Who knew about conflict at the age of six? But it does finds us quickly. Congratulations on the new book, John.

     
  7. John M. Daniel

    November 20, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Thanks, friends. Lev, you’re a busy writer! Obviously you enjoy your work, and it shows in your novels. Jean, I’m pleased to be on the virtual tour bus with you. I’ll be writing about the MWW tour in my blog today. Patricia, I’m so proud that you bought a copy of ˆBehind the Redwood Doorˆ. I hope you enjoy it!

     
  8. Timothy Hallinan

    November 20, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    Great interview, with the feeling of a spontaneous conversation, and lots to be learned from both the questions and the answers. I also have to say that I thought John’s opening paragraph was sensational.

     
    • morgenbailey

      November 20, 2011 at 6:03 pm

      Wasn’t it great – I didn’t get that feeling til I was late 30s by which time… 🙂 Thank you Timothy.

       
    • John M. Daniel

      November 20, 2011 at 6:16 pm

      Gee. Tim, you know how to make a fellow writer feel great. Thanks!

       
      • morgenbailey

        November 20, 2011 at 6:21 pm

        Don’t worry, John. Tim’s actually 118 🙂

         
  9. M.M. Gornell

    November 20, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Great interview! Six–WOW! Enjoyed getting to know more about John! Great questions, informative answers…

    Madeline (another soon to be on the “road” Blog tourer)

     
  10. morgenbailey

    November 20, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    John, I’ve just received a pingback to say this interview is a ‘related link’ on http://www.myebookreader.com/why-use-an-ebook-reader.html 🙂

     
  11. theresavarela

    November 20, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    Great interview, Morgen. John’s love of and respect for writing comes shining through. I, too, am looking forward to reading Behind the Redwood Door.

     
  12. EARL STAGGS

    November 20, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Great interview, Morgen. I didn’t know John was so smart. His answers are worth reading twice.
    Darnit! Now I have to read one of his books.

     
    • morgenbailey

      November 20, 2011 at 8:21 pm

      Thank you Earl, nor did I! 🙂 Oh dear, having to read his book (ding, another sale :)).

       
  13. Eileen Obser

    November 20, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    I really enjoyed this interview, Morgen and John. Morgen, you are such a force, doing these interviews and soliciting short fiction. Yours is truly a writer’s blog — for all writers!

    Congratulations on your publication day, John! Hope you’re celebrating out there in redwood country! When my son moves back to northern California, perhaps I’ll come visit.

    I always look forward to your latest blogs on writing, John, and this interview made me know more about you. Good luck with the sales of your book (which I do have to order and read!) and Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

     
    • morgenbailey

      November 20, 2011 at 9:25 pm

      Thank you so much Eileen. Lovely to see you here. Give me a shout (morgen@morgenbailey.com) if you’d like to take part in anything. There’s a bit of a lead time on most of it but it’s all ongoing (for as long as authors want to take part) so take your pick. 🙂

       
    • John M. Daniel

      November 20, 2011 at 9:33 pm

      Eileen, it’s always a pleaure to hear from you. Earl, thanks much!

       
  14. williamdoonan

    November 20, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    I’ve been following John’s blog for some time, but I still learned more about him here. Love the idea that writer’s block, boredom, and insecurity are luxuries that a writer cannot afford. I’m going to write that on my computer with a sharpie, alongside “ink is blood.”

    William Doonan
    http://www.williamdoonan.com

     
  15. Marja McGraw

    November 20, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Hi, Morgen. Great interview, John. Learning more about you all the time. And you have some very wise comments about writing in your interview. Congratulations on the Publication Day, too! It’s a good day.

     
    • morgenbailey

      November 20, 2011 at 10:26 pm

      Thank you Marja. Lovely to see you here again.

       
  16. Anne K. Albert

    November 20, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Your Sunday writing routine is one I may have to try, John. I beat myself up constantly because writing every day is difficult, but if I could still manage a set number of pages per week, hey, I’d be a happy camper!

    Great interview, Morgen. Thank you!

    Btw, I’ll be joining a number of commenters on the Mystery We Write Blog Tour, including John. 🙂

     
  17. morgenbailey

    November 20, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    You’re welcome Anne. I just provided the bread and butter, John added the filling. 🙂

     
  18. Jackie King

    November 20, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    I enjoyed this interview; loved learning more about John.

     
  19. John M. Daniel

    November 21, 2011 at 12:27 am

    Thanks, everybody! Hearing from so many friends is making my day!

     
  20. W.S. Gager

    November 21, 2011 at 1:03 am

    John, I love the story about your first writing. My mother gave me my first book. It was short stories. Really short stories from second grade and I didn’t have any conflict either. Must be the age. Good luck on Behind the Redwood Door.
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

     
  21. marta chausée

    November 21, 2011 at 7:27 am

    Great interview, as ever, Morgen. Congratulations to you, John, on your publication. I LOVE your cover art, and can’t wait to read Behind the Redwood Door.

    Marta Chausée, author
    Resort to Murder

     
    • morgenbailey

      November 21, 2011 at 11:05 am

      Thank you Marta, lovely to see you here again.

       
    • John M. Daniel

      November 21, 2011 at 5:40 pm

      Thanks for letting me know, Morgen. Being interviewed by you is an ongoing blessing.

       
  22. morgenbailey

    November 21, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Yes John. Count yourself very lucky. 🙂

     
  23. Augie

    November 21, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    As always Morgen ‘a great interview,’ love hearing from John. augie

     
  24. morgenbailey

    November 21, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    Thank you Augie. Always love receiving comments like this. 🙂

     
  25. Don Helin

    November 22, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    What a great interview. And the book looks terrific. Don Helin

     
  26. morgenbailey

    November 22, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    Thank you Don – I’ve let John know you’d stopped by. M

     
  27. John M. Daniel

    November 22, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    I’m so pleased to be hearing from so many friends. Morgen, thanks again for giving me a chance to talk to you. And thanks again, Augie, Don, and all the others who have dropped by.

     
  28. morgenbailey

    November 22, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    You’re so welcome, it was a pleasure, and if there’s anything else you’d like to take part in at a later date, just let me know – it’s all ongoing. 🙂

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
