RSS

22 responses to “Author interview no.207 with novelist Trisha Ashley

  1. Caroline Walton

    December 4, 2011 at 11:41 am

    love the comment on writer’s block! So true…

     
  2. Tony Tibbenham

    December 4, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Great advice and well timed: Start writing and keep writing. Wait for nothing and write round distractions. It is honest to admit you are responsible for your own productivity: Those artists who blather on about ‘their muse’ do not have a family to support.

     
  3. Trisha Ashley

    December 4, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    I enjoyed our chat so much – thank you for inviting me onto the blog, Morgen! And good luck to everyone with the prize draw, too.

     
  4. morgenbailey

    December 4, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    You’re so welcome Trisha, it was fun to read. Thanks Caroline, Tony. 🙂

     
  5. Trisha Ashley

    December 4, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    I have a muse, Tony, and though tricky, I arm-wrestle him into submission every morning.

     
  6. kymlucas

    December 4, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    Thank you, Morgen, for interviewing one of my favorite authors!

     
    • morgenbailey

      December 4, 2011 at 6:40 pm

      Ah, thank you Kym. I am ashamed to admit that I’ve had two of Trisha’s books for a while and had every intention of reading them before today. I could use NaNoWriMo as an excuse but that only absolves me of a month’s worth of time… hopefully I’ll read at least one before her guest blog on the 22nd. 🙂

       
  7. Sheryl Brown

    December 4, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    What a delightful and informative interview. I agree totally re the editorial advice. It’s not just about typos, or even having a fresh eye. Editors are (or should be :)) experts in their field, with a feel for what’s working, what might just sell and what will not. Love the comment ‘the cream will rise to the top, so don’t put your own books out on the internet until you are sure they are ready’. Sound advice indeed. After months, or even years of hard work, you are going to pout your work out their without ensuring it’s as perfect as it can be? Oooh, bad idea.

    Absolute best of luck, Trisha.

     
    • morgenbailey

      December 4, 2011 at 8:29 pm

      Lovely to see you here, thank you Sheryl.

       
  8. Sheryl Brown

    December 4, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    I need an editor. Please excuse typo! 🙂

     
    • morgenbailey

      December 4, 2011 at 8:29 pm

      So do I – I didn’t notice it. 🙂

       
      • morgenbailey

        December 4, 2011 at 8:30 pm

        Ah yes, ‘pout your work’ – oh no, that has to stay… I love it 🙂

         
  9. Sheryl Brown

    December 4, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    Pout your work. Haw, haw. Well, it could catch on as a marketing technique?? 😉 x

     
    • morgenbailey

      December 4, 2011 at 9:41 pm

      There have to be some advantages to be female. 🙂

       
  10. Trisha Ashley

    December 4, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    I must pout myself about a bit more.

     
  11. morgenbailey

    December 4, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    Where’s the ‘like’ button for individual comments when I need one? 🙂

     
  12. Sheryl Brown

    December 5, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Pout, pout. Flutter, flutter. 😉 xx

     
  13. Kristi V.

    December 19, 2011 at 2:40 am

    Great interview! I’ve currently been reading a couple of Trisha’s Christmas themed books this season. I reread Sweet Nothings, and read 12 Days of Christmas on my Kobo. I love both of these books and interested in why she decided to rework SN and would like to read The Magic of Christmas to compare it with. I’m now reading Chocolate WIshes. I really enjoy her books.

     
    • morgenbailey

      December 19, 2011 at 7:29 am

      Thank you Kristi. I’m only just starting ‘A Winter’s Tale’ but am really enjoying it and am so glad that, for once, I read the prologue! 🙂

       
  14. morgenbailey

    January 1, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    Congratulations to Sheryl and Kristi for being winners of this draw. So sorry to everyone else. 😦

    I’ll have to get Trisha back next Christmas for another book and another draw. 🙂

    Thank you for visiting my blog and if any of you would like to take part (whether you are a reader or writer, or both!) do let me know.

    Morgen
    morgen@morgenbailey.com

     
  15. Kristi V.

    January 1, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    Thank you, Morgen! Looking forward to reading it!

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
