RSS

24 responses to “Author interview no.214 with novelist Kate Long

  1. Quillers

    December 11, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Lovely interview! I always love finding out about Kate’s throught processes when she’s writing and I’m very much looking forward to the new book. No one writes about families in the way Kate does.

     
  2. womagwriter

    December 11, 2011 at 11:21 am

    What a great interview. I was especially interested to hear how much Kate plots – so many writers just fly by the seat of their pants and make the whole process sound very mysterious. It’s refreshing to hear of someone who approaches it more scientifically, as it were.

    I’m so looking forward to reading Before She Was Mine!

     
  3. katelong

    December 11, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Thanks! That’s good to hear. X

     
  4. Kathryn

    December 11, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    Great interview. I’ve read all Kate Long’s novels, I’m a big fan, and I’m really looking forward to reading Before She Was Mine. Also, delighted to hear of a sequel to The Bad Mother’s Handbook. How exciting!

     
  5. katelong

    December 11, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Cheers!

     
  6. fran

    December 12, 2011 at 8:47 am

    I’m another fan! Kate’s love of writing shines through this interview. I’m intrigued with the 50 questions for the characters. Did you develop these yourself, Kate? I love the fact that Kate is passionate about families and voles 🙂 Looking forward to the latest novel.

     
  7. Dan Purdue

    December 12, 2011 at 10:13 am

    Some very interesting responses there, Morgen. I’m impressed by the amount of planning Kate does – I never have the patience to fill out one of those Q&A sheets about a character but I can see how they’d help a writer get a fix on one of there creations.

    I ‘met’ Kate, very briefly, in the dying days of the BBC’s “Get Writing” website. It’s great to see her doing so well.

    I enjoyed reading The Bad Mother’s Handbook – I guess I’m not exactly target audience, but I appreciate a well-told tale!

     
  8. katelong

    December 12, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Fran, there are versions of character questionnaires all over the internet, but I had mine from novelist Jeremy Sheldon who I co-tutored an Arvon course with a few years back. I’m not sure whether he came up with it himself or adapted it from elsewhere. I like the fact it has some unexpected questions – eg not just “Who was the first person your character kissed?” but “Who was the second?”.

    Dan, nice to see a GW face again! Were you writing about a zoo, or did I dream that? What are you up to these days?

     
  9. morgenbailey

    December 12, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Dan, I’m sure, will reply himself, but he’s doing rather well, including being shortlisted on the H.E. Bates 2010 Short Story Competition (head judge last year was Sue Moorcroft – this year’s is Katie Fforde) with my favourite story of the 50 I judged ‘The Bus Driver Who Stopped And Then Didn’t’. I’m so glad it made the top 10 and is now in the anthology so I get to read it again! 🙂

     
    • katelong

      December 12, 2011 at 11:12 am

      Great! I’ve found his blog and I’m just listening to his Christmas story. Doesn’t he have a lovely voice?

       
  10. Dan Purdue

    December 12, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Thank you both!

    I’m impressed, Kate. You’re right – my story on GW used a zoo as a metaphor for the closure of the website. That’s one hell of a memory you’ve got there; GW must have shut up shop six years ago now? What a scary thought.

    You said some very encouraging and constructive things about that story and it certainly helped build my confidence when I was just starting out with fiction, so thanks again for that – it made a huge difference to me.

    If you’ve visited the blog, you’ll probably already know that my focus has mainly been on short stories, but I’m intending to concentrate on getting a novel finished next year. Fingers crossed!

     
    • katelong

      December 12, 2011 at 4:33 pm

      It was a good piece, Dan, that’s why I remember it. And I’m glad to hear I helped in a small way.

      I really enjoyed your story on YouTube. Perhaps you should release a downloadable audio collection?

       
  11. Perrorist

    December 12, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Good to see you have a new book out, Kate. I shall order it forthwith.

     
  12. katelong

    December 13, 2011 at 8:03 am

    Nice to hear from you again, Perry! And thanks for the support. Are you writing much these days?

     
    • Perrorist

      December 13, 2011 at 8:28 am

      Yes, but it’s all technical stuff unfortunately, and always against a deadline. I’ve discovered that writing for a living isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. However, I’m hoping to indulge myself over Xmas with a few shorts.

      I ordered your book this morning and hoping to get it before Xmas.

      Glad you like Dan’s work. He’s a rising star.

       
  13. Antonia Bloom

    December 13, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    A very comprehensive view of a writer’s life. I love reading success stories. Well done and can’t wait to read the latest book.

     
  14. katelong

    December 13, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    Yes, many thanks. X

     
  15. Jeannie B

    December 14, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Great interview, and I’m so impressed with Kate’s thoroughness in getting to know her characters. It shows in the end result – it’s not a genre I generally read, but I can always rely on Kate’s books to be enjoyable reading.

    Nice to be reminded of GW, too, and the lovely people who contributed there.

     
    • morgenbailey

      December 14, 2011 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you Jeannie. I know Kate keeps track of incoming comments so I’m sure she’ll be along shortly. 🙂

       
  16. katelong

    December 14, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    You’re very kind, Jeannie. Yes, I met some fantastic people on GW, many of whom I’m still in touch with.

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
