RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 003: ‘For She is Younger’ by John J Hohn

02 Jan

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the third poem in this new weekly series. This week’s piece is entitled ‘For She is Younger’ by John J Hohn, inspired by personal experience.

For She is Younger

I am as strong today,
As you will ever know me—
My stride resolute, as I encircle
Whatever I can of joy;
And wise, more gentle I may become
As you watch me glide
Down the inexorable corridor
That dims into fragility,
Until confusion mounts my high bed
And invades the flesh as vigor ebbs.

And for my turn,
I will see you rise
To your expanse of years;
In the rigor women know,
A generation bred and nurtured,
Care overtaking early morning hours—
The hollyhocks beside the Saturday door—
Late afternoon ripening
Into hurried dinner rituals.

Things being as they are,
Those honored rings of yours
Will clink one day
Against my stone.
Though not my choosing,
I won’t be gleaning
Among the abundant rows
Of your autumn years.
 

Thank you so much John.

A Midwesterner by birth, John J. Hohn claims Yankton, South Dakota as his hometown. He graduated from high school there in 1957. After four years earning degree in English at St. John’s University (MN), he became a teacher. His first wife, Elaine Finfrock, also of Yankton, and he had five children; four sons and a daughter. They divorced in 1977.

In 1964, John joined The Travelers in Minneapolis, MN and began what a 40-year career in the financial services industry. During the that time, in addition to The Travelers, he held positions with Blue Cross / Blue Shield of Minnesota, Wilson Learning Corporation, and Wachovia Bank and Trust. Hohn retired at the end of 2007 after 17 years as a Financial Advisor with Merrill Lynch in Winston-Salem, NC.

In 1986, he married Melinda Folger McLeod and gained a stepson. Currently, the couple divides their time each year between a cabin near West Jefferson, NC and a cottage in Southport, NC. In addition to writing, Hohn enjoys golf, music, and reading history. He has already begun work on his second novel, a sequel to Deadly Portfolio: A Killing Hedge Funds. As yet no title has been announced for the new book.

You can also read John guest blog 1, guest blog 2 and interview.

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with historical romance Grace Elliot – the two hundred and thirty-seventh of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at Smashwords.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 2, 2012 in ebooks, novels, poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
