RSS

9 responses to “Author interview no.266 with writer Nerys Parry

  1. Yvonne Hertzberger

    February 3, 2012 at 12:08 am

    I agree with the comment that you have ‘weak’ periods as opposed to writer’s block. I am going through one of those right now. I also agree that I keep getting tougher with my expectations of myself. Though I am just a beginner. 🙂

    Great interview. Thank you.

     
    • morgenbailey

      February 3, 2012 at 9:19 am

      Thank you, Yvonne. I was a beginner not so long ago and we’re like learner drivers, we look out for each other. 🙂

       
      • Nerys Parry

        February 3, 2012 at 10:48 pm

        I met a shaman who told me to practice ‘beginner’s mind’, because it is in the state of ignorance that we receive the most lessons. It was one of the best pieces of advice I’ve heard. Now, every time I sit down and write I do so as a beginner. I hope I never stop being a beginner in writing, even after ten more years! Not only does it open me up to trying new things, it keeps my enthusiasm alive, too.

         
    • Nerys Parry

      February 3, 2012 at 10:43 pm

      Yvonne, sorry to hear you’re in the writer’s doldrums, and hope it clears up soon. I’ve given up on thinking it will ever be easy, in fact, I’m hoping it never gets to the point where there’s nothing left to learn. Then what would be the point?

      Thanks for reading the interview, and I’ll see you on twitter.

      Nerys

       
      • morgenbailey

        February 3, 2012 at 10:51 pm

        I’ve heard household authors (names escape me) say they’re still learning so I think you’re safe Nerys, as we all are. If we don’t experience new things we can’t write about them. 🙂

         
  2. Yvonne Hertzberger

    February 3, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    Writers unite! Isn’t that what the man said? Or was it ……?
    It’s true. I have never had so much support as I have from other writers. We are a generous bunch.

     
  3. morgenbailey

    February 3, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    We give as good as we get… or is it ‘get as good as we give’? 🙂

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
