RSS

Author Spotlight no.57 – Adele Cosgrove-Bray

18 Feb

Complementing my daily blog interviews, today’s Author Spotlight, the fifty-seventh, is of dark urban fantasy novelist Adele Cosgrove-Bray.

Adele Cosgrove-Bray is the author of Tamsin, the first in a series of dark urban fantasy novels about the lives of a community of artisan-sorcerers set in Liverpool.  The sequel, Rowan, will follow in the spring of 2012.

Adele’s short stories are featured in several paperback anthologies.  She also paints, draws and takes lots of photos, which she attributes to time ill-spent at art school.

Adele has been a member of the Order of Bards, Ovates and Druids since 1999. She has been the elected Chair for Riverside Writers since 2003. Adele became a member of the Cryonics Institute in 2008.

She shares life in England’s Wirral peninsula with one husband, two dogs, one cat, various chickens, an assortment of hedgehogs and bats, and a large black toad which lives under the patio step.

And now from the author herself:

My writing career began on my thirteenth birthday, when I merrily skipped downstairs and announced that now I was a teenager I could do whatever I wanted.  Mum said, “Oh, yeah?  And what exactly do you intend doing?”  Having not planned that far ahead, I said the first thing which came to mind.  I was going to be a rock singer.  Mum replied that singers need songs so after doing my chores I’d better write some.  So I did.

With two school pals, I formed a band.  Between us we owned a kazoo and two guitars, one of which had a broken neck.  This mercifully short-lived project morphed into a love of writing poetry.  I was seventeen when Pipes of Pan became the first magazine to publish one of my poems.

My first job after graduating from college was as an editor.  I also began doing freelance work for Exploring the Supernatural magazine, which later changed its name to Your Future, where I wrote and illustrated a dream analysis column.

Around ten years ago I began tinkering with writing fiction.  My first stories were flagrant impersonations of Anne Rice which will remain eternally veiled in darkness at the back of a cupboard.

I joined Riverside Writers, and in 2003 was elected to chair the meetings, which I still do.  After several woodland copses had perished in paper mills, my writer’s voice emerged.  Dark Moon Press and Hadley Rille Books included some of my fantasy stories in their paperback anthologies, and then Amazon published two ebook collections under their Amazon Shorts project.  7 Waves Radio invited me, and other members of Riverside Writers, to read some of our short fiction live on air.  Some of these recordings are now available as YouTube videos.

My dark urban fantasy novel, Tamsin, introduces a community of artisan-sorcerers.  Tamsin herself is a level-headed shop assistant whose young life was changed following the car crash which killed her family.  She is pulled between the spiritual philosophy of a guru, and the fascinating but dangerous life of her boyfriend Fabian who is a member of the community.

The story is set in a suburb of Liverpool, England, where I lived for around ten years.  My time at art school and my experiences working in a pottery contribute to the artistic backdrop.  Rowan, the second novel in the series, is due for publication this month, February 2012.

You can find more about Adele and her work via… website: http://adelecosgrove-bray.blogspot.com, Facebook, Twitter and Amazon.co.uk.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with novelist and poet Rose Mary Boehm – the two hundred and eighty-fourth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me. You can read / download my eBooks from Smashwords (Amazon to follow).

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2012 in ebooks

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Author Spotlight no.57 – Adele Cosgrove-Bray

  1. Adele cosgrove-Bray

    February 20, 2012 at 8:59 am

    Thank you for running this spotlight, Morgan.

     
    • morgenbailey

      February 20, 2012 at 9:02 am

      You’re very welcome, Adele. Thank you for taking part. 🙂

       
  2. Tony

    July 30, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    Hi Adele,

    From the depths of Morgen’s super-blog I wandered down the byteways via your website to your Amazon page and decided to nibble a morsel of your Dark Tides.

    I hope I enjoy it

     
  3. morgenbailey

    July 30, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    You’re such a voracious reader… I take my hat off to you. 🙂

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
