RSS

Daily Archives: March 5, 2012

Post-weekend Poetry 011: ‘Soldier’s Cry’ by Dicy McCullough

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the eleventh poem in this series. This week’s piece is by Dicy McCullough.

Soldier’s Cry
Sing me a song
of times forgotten, of memories
lost and moments shared.
Sing me a song to comfort my soul,
to give me a smile
and bid me farewell.
Sing me a song.
Tomorrow I leave for places unknown
with distant shores and nights endless.
Think of me when nights are lonely;
hold our love close to your heart.
It’s hard to explain the torment and fear,
but easier knowing you are there.
Sing me a song
all through the night
of peace and rest and a journey safe.
Sing me a song to comfort my soul,
to give me a smile
and bid me farewell.
Sing me a song.

I asked Dicy what prompted this piece and she said…I began writing poetry six years ago when my dad passed away. It was a tragic death and so poetry was a way of dealing with grief. My dad was a WWII soldier having fought in Germany, France, and England. He never got over what he saw and carried haunting memories with him to the grave. The first poem I wrote was Soldier’s Cry, which for me was a metaphor of his death.

Thank you so much, Dicy. It’s still hard ten years on, so my heart goes out to you.

Dicy McCullough, author of three children’s books, writes for her local newspaper, The Salisbury Post.  She is a published poet and a contributing author for the book, This One’s for the Birds! A retired teacher, she holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Music Education from Gardner-Webb University,  Boiling Springs, N.C., and a Master of Education Degree from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte,  Charlotte, NC.  In 2011 she was inducted into the Gallery of Distinguished Alumni at Gardner-Webb University.

Her books Tired of My Bath, Tired of School and Tired of Being Different can be found on Amazon.com, Barnes and Noble and http://dicymcculloughbooks.com.

Anyone who would like to read my poem for my father can do so here.

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with contemporary fiction novelist Katie Fforde – the three hundredth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at Smashwords, Sony Reader Store, Barnes & Noble, iTunes Bookstore and Kobo. And I have a new forum at http://morgenbailey.freeforums.org.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2012 in articles, childrens, ebooks, novels, poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,