RSS

Daily Archives: March 31, 2012

Author Spotlight no.72 – Mollie Carson-Vollath

Complementing my daily blog interviews, today’s Author Spotlight, the seventy-second, is of memoirist / children’s author Mollie Carson-Vollath.

Mollie Carson-Vollath was born in New York.  She has owned dozens of ferrets over the past three decades, most of whom she adopted from rescue shelters.  An avid reader, Mollie has been writing for most of her life. Terrence O’Ferret, her first book, tells the story of how she came to own her first ferret when she was a young girl, back when not many people even knew what ferrets were.  A portion of the proceeds from Terrence O’Ferret goes to benefit Father Nature’s Ferret Rescue.

And now from the author herself:

How Terrence O’Ferret Came to Be:

Well, the book tells the story of how I discovered ferrets. This is the story of how the book got made.

One morning, 4:00AM, I was lying in bed trying to get back to sleep.  My mind wandered back to my first ferret, and I thought, I should write down everything about him that I want to remember.  So I fumbled around for my old Treo, typed up about 3 paragraphs, and went back to sleep.

For some reason, of all the things I have written, those few paragraphs were what stuck in my mind when I decided to illustrate and publish a full-blown professional book.  So I spent several months doing just that, and there you have it.  It’s been far more work, and far more fun, and far more rewarding, than I would have believed.

For example, there were very few original photos of Terry.  So Father Nature’s Ferret Rescue stepped in, providing a stunt double (Vixen), and a few fun hours playing with her, coaxing her to chew up shoes (she didn’t need much encouragement!), and taking hundreds of photos.

I hope people will enjoy reading my book as much as I enjoyed writing it!

Thank you, Mollie. You can find more about Mollie and her writing via her website and Terrence O’Ferret is available from Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with humourist and satirist Joel White – tomorrow, April Fool’s Day! – the three hundred and twenty-sixth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me. You can read / download my eBooks from Smashwords, Sony Reader Store, Barnes & Noble, iTunes Bookstore and Kobo (Amazon to follow). And I have a new forum at http://morgenbailey.freeforums.org.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

1st Anniversary: Author Word Search

To celebrate this blog’s first anniversary today (woo hoo!) I thought as a bit of light relief, you might like to have a go at the following word search I devised last year for a local library’s teenage writing group I helped at.

There are 37 children’s authors here: some surname only, some first name, some both (as separate words or together). Some of the authors have also written (and are best known for) adult stories but they have all written children’s. It would be too easy to give you the names to find so I haven’t. 🙂

The person to email me the highest number of correct* author names by midnight UK time on Monday 30th April will have a <1,000-word short story written for them (by me). 🙂 *The names on my list, there may be others, and the judge’s (my) decision is final.

The winner is to give me two characters’ names, a location, dilemma and genre, and the story I write (dedicated to the winner) will be published on this blog on Friday 11th May (with the link on the Flash Fiction Fridays page). I will then record it and podcast it to the world (well, I do know there are listeners in most corners of it :)) on Sunday 17th June. If there’s a tie, I’ll write more than one story, to be published together on those dates.

OK, here goes…. have fun. 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2012 in childrens, competitions