RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 016: ‘True Love’ by Sandy Hartman

09 Apr

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the sixteenth poem in this series. This week’s piece is by Sandy Hartman.

True Love

Alphabet teeth grin from the text box
Caging voices that pledge love’s promise forever
Keeping me chained to my cell phone
Punching my life out in keypad squares

Best friend to a neon chameleon
Held here in my hand like a comfortable stone
Offering kisses in pics and flicks
Flashing in colors my lifeline to love
Giving to me
Its battery heart and faithful digital soul

I asked Sandy what prompted this piece and she said…

I wrote this over 4 years ago before cell phones became the magic handheld wonders they are now. I love them indeed. They have changed our world beyond recognition with nearly apocalyptic speed and force. But even now as I updated some of the words in the poem to reflect the latest technological twist, I have the same concerns as before. Every new techy toy drastically changes the warmth and intimacy of our personal relationships with others, both for good and ill.  It takes time to develop and be comfortable with the very new less intimate – although instant – culture needed to bring out the best in our lives. I rather suspect that in many ways, we are lonelier than ever.

It was a charming poem, thank you Sandy.

Sandy is a retired public school teacher at the high school and junior high levels, a member of Pen Women of America, Moxy Laureate for www.Moxywomen.com and the creator of the site www.eonwriter.com. Her poetry is published in several journals and three poems placed first in various contests. She does not self-publish, her hubris in creating www.eonwriter.com, she says, is quite enough. She’s had the good fortune to travel to several countries in Asia and lived for a time in Saigon, Vietnam and Vientiane, Laos during the war. She is most of all, a visionary poet, as you can well see by her site.

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with corporate thriller writer Greg Feistman – the three hundred and thirty-fifth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at Smashwords, Sony Reader Store, Barnes & Noble, iTunes Bookstore and Kobo. My eBooks are now on Amazon, with more to follow, and I also have a quirky second-person viewpoint story in charity anthology Telling Tales.

I have a new forum and you can follow me on Twitter, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s ‘Contact me’ page or plain and simple, email me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , ,

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
