RSS

Daily Archives: May 6, 2012

Podcast: Bailey’s Writing Tips episode 051 – writer’s block by Nicky Wells

Episode 51 of the Bailey’s Writing Tips podcast was released today and featured a forthcoming guest post on writer’s block by Nicky Wells. This piece will go live on as a guest blog on Tuesday 26th June (7pm UK time) but today was a pre-blog airing and even if you don’t suffer from writer’s block I hope you will find it useful.

The podcast is available via iTunesGoogle’s FeedburnerPodbean (when it catches up), Podcasters (which takes even longer) or Podcast Alley (which doesn’t list the episodes but will let you subscribe).

Nicky Wells writes fun and glamorous contemporary romance featuring a rock star and the girl next door.  She recently signed her debut novel, Sophie’s Turn, with U.S. publisher, Sapphire Star Publishing, and the book is due for release on 6 September 2012.  Nicky loves rock music, dancing, and eating lobsters.  When she’s not writing, Nicky is a wife, mother, and teaching assistant.  Nicky is also a featured author on the innovative reader / author project, loveahappyending.com.

Originally born in Germany, Nicky moved to the United Kingdom in 1993, and currently lives in Bristol with her husband and two boys.  In a previous professional life, Nicky worked as a researcher and project manager for an international Human Resources research firm based in London and Washington, D.C.

Visit Nicky on her blog where you can find articles, interviews, radio interviews and, of course, an ongoing update on her work in progress, the second and third parts of the Rock Star Romance Trilogy.  You can also follow Nicky on Twitter and find her on Facebook.

About Sophie’s Turn…
One fine day in Paris, Sophie Penhalligan suddenly finds herself engaged to her teenage crush and love-of-her-life-from-a-distance, rock singer and star extraordinaire Dan Hunter.  But there is the small matter of her very recent, but very prior, engagement to Tim.  Reliable, honest, trusting Tim, her boyfriend of two years stashed away safely in his mews house in South Kensington while Sophie is drinking rather too much champagne with Dan in Paris.  This contemporary romantic fairy tale describes how Sophie gets into her impossible situation and how she turns it around.

The podcast also featured some of my news…
Visitors to my blog will know how much I love blogging about writing. So much so that I have posted over 900 items (either guest’s or mine) about the topic. I do an author interview a day, two spotlights and guest posts a week and weekly flash fiction and poetry. I’m currently booked up to November for the interviews and July for pretty much everything else but if you’d like to take part do take a look. I’ve also just created http://icanbuildyourwritingblog.wordpress.com and, for £50, €60 or $75, I can create a blog for you or anyone you know. Although it’s geared towards writers I can create them for any business or hobby. I already have an animal healer and editor to create blogs for.

…and feedback
I’ve received some wonderful feedback (and some less so, which is to be expected) for my eBooks. I have individual short stories, some free, some not free, a 31-story collection and a writer’s block workbook and it’s the latter that I received a wonderful review on today. Regardless of whether you get stuck with writer’s block this eBook has over 1,000 sentence starts and over 50 writing-related hints and tips. It’s just $1.49 on Smashwords and $1.62 including tax from Amazon.

and feedback from Nicky on this episode: “wow wow wow! this is amazing. It’s fantastic to hear ‘me’ through someone else. Thank you! The whole family listened to it over dinner (captive audience!) and we enjoyed it. Thanks so much, you are superstar!!” pleased then 🙂

Thank you for downloading or clicking on this podcast. If you have any feedback or areas you’d like covered in the hints & tips podcasts, do email me at morgen@morgenbailey.com and I look forward to bringing you the next episode in a fortnight which will be three more short stories.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum and you can follow me on Twitter, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me.  I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) 🙂 on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are weekly episodes, usually released Monday mornings UK time, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 6, 2012 in ebooks, podcast, tips, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,