RSS

Guest post: Lessons from Elvis by Una Tiers

24 May

Tonight’s guest blog post, on the topic of Elvis and wills, technically a departure from writing but who knows how much your writing will be worth in the future, plus it’s really interesting. ‘Lessons from Elvis’ is brought to you by novelist Una Tiers (author Of Judge vs Nuts).

Lessons from Elvis

Nearly thirty-five years ago, (in 1977), Elvis Presley died at the age of 42. Five months before his death he signed a will and trust to dispose of his worldly goods. Along with beautiful music, he left several important estate plan lessons.

When making an estate plan, we usually plan far into the future, considering grown children and grandchildren to inherit.

Elvis planned for future children and grandchildren, but focused on provisions for his daughter, father and grandmother, and any relative in need of emergency help through the lifetime of his father.  He considered the people currently depending upon him.

Elvis also used a trust to delay his daughter’s inheritance until she reached her 25th birthday.  She was nine years old at the time of his death.

Here are the Elvis lessons: provide for the people around you at the time you make your estate plan as well as for the future; consider using a trust so that you can delay inheritance until your beneficiaries are mature enough to handle money, and update your estate plan so that it represents what you want (Elvis signed his last will only five months before he died).  Don’t assume that wills and trusts are better suited for the rich and famous more than everyday individuals.  To put your money to the best use, make a list of assets, decide who you want to inherit and who you want to be in charge.

One of the witnesses to the will lived on Elvis Presley Boulevard.

This article was written to take a look at options about your estate plan.  Laws vary from state to state and from country to country. Your estate may have restrictions depending on your circumstances.  You should talk to an attorney licensed in your jurisdiction to make the plan for you.

Thank you, Una, that was great!

Una Tiers is a Chicago attorney whose debut humorcide, Judge vs Nuts was released in early 2012. The story is about a goldfish, a lawyer, a dead judge and corruption in the courts. It will make you laugh and has been described as hilarious, droll and witty, by authors Barbara D’Amato, Ellis Vidler and Thomas Rizzo.

Her debut novel:  Judge vs Nuts, can be purchased at Amazon.com.

You can visit her website at http://unatiers.com or email her at una@unatiers.com or see the book trailer at YouTube or at http://TVNewsclip.com.

Una is also on LinkedIn, facebook and good reads and invites you to join her.

If you would like to write a writing-related guest post for my blog then feel free to email me with an outline of what you would like to write about. If it’s writing-related then it’s highly likely I’d email back and say “yes please”.

The blog interviews return as normal tomorrow morning with non-fiction author Anderson Maestri – the three hundred and eightieth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, autobiographers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum and you can follow me on Twitter, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me.  I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) 🙂 on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are weekly episodes, usually released Monday mornings UK time, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2012 in ebooks, ideas, novels, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Guest post: Lessons from Elvis by Una Tiers

  1. DV Berkom

    May 24, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    Interesting post, Una. Thanks.

     
  2. Una Tiers

    May 25, 2012 at 3:35 am

    Thanks DV Berkom. And thanks to Morgen for asking me to stop by again. Do wills of the rich and famous make you want to get things in order?

     
  3. Ratan Kaul

    May 25, 2012 at 5:40 am

    Hi Una, thanks for sharing the lesser known facts about Elvis. My best wishes for Judge vs Nuts

     
  4. Una Tiers

    May 25, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    Thanks Ratan! What are you reading this week? I will probably read a few more wills of the rich and famous LOL.

     
  5. Una Tiers

    May 31, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    Hi Morgen:
    Thank you for inviting me to guest blog again. I received much response “off blog” for this article.
    Best,
    Una Tiers
    Judge vs Nuts

     
  6. morgenbailey

    May 31, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    Yay, great news. 🙂

     
  7. Una Tiers

    June 2, 2014 at 5:40 am

    Thanks Morgen, it was nice to see this blog again. Judge is going to be rereleased shortly and I am quite excited.

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
