RSS

Author interview no.403 with Christian writer Henry Miranda

17 Jun

Welcome to the four hundred and third of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, biographers, agents, publishers and more. Today’s is with Christian author Henry Miranda. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further.

Morgen: Hello, Henry. Please tell us something about yourself, where you’re based, and how you came to be a writer.

Henry: I was born in Houston, but now I live lives in San Bernardino, California. I went to La Puente high school, graduated in 1963 and became a Christian in 1984 before going to community college for four years, and after 20 years of being a Christian went for four years to Bible College, and earned a Bachelor’s of Christian Ministry degree. I am a Bible teacher, evangelist and author.

I had four daughters, and now I have 12 grandchildren and three great-grandchildren.

I was anointed with the gifts of an evangelist with the ministry of healing and deliverance, if you recall the story of Jonah, at first Jonah tried to run away from his responsibilities. But eventually God had Jonah complete the tasks that he had for him.

Since I chose not to get too involved into the ministry the Lord had for me, that is I didn’t pursue it as I should’ve, God took matters into his own hands and so one day as I was driving down the road in 1990 I was prompted by the Holy Spirit to write. I had to pull to the side of the road to write what the Holy Spirit instructed me “I only write when the Lord (Holy Spirit) inspires me and helps me with what to write. God had me write books. I guess you could say that.”It’s my calling of bringing others closer to God via the world of publishing.

By writing these books I am trying to bring people into God’s kingdom. I still went to church, Bible studies, but just not doing the work that God wanted for me to do. But now I am willing and able to do whatever the Lord asked of me. Even though I know the Bible, I just can’t sit and write on my own, but with the help of the Holy Spirit I have written five books.

Morgen: What genre do you generally write?

Henry: Christian for the time being.

Morgen: You mentioned that you have written five books…

Henry: I have and they are all published: Eternal life ISBN 1-58961-157-8 in 2004, Fellowship with God bright lights on the path leading to Jesus ISBN 1-4241-1175-7 in 2006, You’ve been Warned ISBN 978-1-4363-3891-2 in 2008, The Path to Eternal Life ISBN-13:  9781609761103, Beware the Winds of Doctrine ISBN-10:  ISBN10:1465341552.

Morgen: Have you had any rejections?

Henry: Yes, I have had some rejections, but I self-published and try to promote my own books.

Morgen: It’s how many people are going, some paper only, some eBooks only (like me) and some both. Are your books available as eBooks?

Henry: Yes I have two books that are available in e-book form one is “The Path to Eternal Life” and the other one is “Beware the Winds of Doctrine”.

Morgen: How much of the marketing do you do for your books?

Henry: I do all my own marketing, by writing blogs or by using Tweeter, Facebook for example.

Morgen: It does seem to be the way to connect with readers, and that’s the great thing about technology these days. Being self-published, presumably you chose your own titles and covers, how important do you think they are?

Henry: I think that the covers of books are very important because they draw the attention of a prominent buyer.

Morgen: They do, especially online when they’re not much bigger than a couple of postage stamps. What are you working on at the moment / next?

Henry: A book on “The Desires of Your Heart”.

Morgen: 🙂 Do you manage to write every day?

Henry: I always try to write when the Holy Spirit leads me. My books are always dictated to me as to the name of the book and its contents by the Holy Spirit.

Morgen: Do you do a lot of editing or do you find that as time goes on your writing is more fully-formed?

Henry: Yes, I always like my books to be edited or proofread.

Morgen: Every writer, regardless of how experienced, should have a second opinion. We’re always too close to our writing to spot mistakes and inconsistencies. My editor, for example, also comes up with some great ideas. Do you have to do much research?

Henry: Since I use a lot of Scripture in my books, I have to read a lot of verses to get the right verse to go with what I am speaking about. So you can say that I read the Bible a lot.

Morgen: 🙂 What advice would you give aspiring writers?

Henry: I would say to write as you feel and not rely on what others may think of your writing.

Morgen: That’s very true. I’ve had mixed reviews for some of my writing but you’re always going to get differences of opinions. Life would be really dull if everyone liked the same thing (and we wouldn’t be able to write with such variety. Is there a word, phrase or quote you like?

Henry: eternal life— is the goal and nothing else matters you don’t have to please nobody but God and yourself to get there.

Morgen: Are there any writing-related websites and/or books that you find useful?

Henry: Yes, they are: http://www.christianblog.com; http://www.faithwriters.com; http://www.christian-article-bank.com.

Morgen: Where can we find out about you and your work?

Henry: You can look in my website http://www.henrypmiranda.com or http://www.authorsden.com/henrymiranda; where I have written many Christian articles. FacebookTwitter and Facebook Fan Page.

Morgen: Thank you very much, Henry. All the best with ‘The Desires of Your Heart’.

***

If you are reading this and you write, in whatever genre, and are thinking “ooh, I’d like to do this” then you can… just email me and I’ll send you the information. They do now (January 2013) carry a fee (£10 / €12.50 / $15) for the new interviews on this blog but everything else (see Opportunities on this blog) is free.

If you go for the interview, it’s very simple; I send you a questionnaire (I have them for novelists, short story authors, children’s authors, non-fiction authors, and poets). You complete the questions, and I let you know when it’s going to go live. Before it does so, I add in comments as if we’re chatting, and then they get posted. When that’s done, I email you with the link so you can share it with your corner of the literary world. And if you have a writing-related blog / podcast and would like to interview me… let me know.

Alternatively, if you’d like a free Q&A-only interview, I now have http://morgensauthorinterviews.wordpress.com on which I’ve rerun the original interviews posted here then posted new interviews which I then reblog here. These interviews are Q&A only, so I don’t add in my comments but they do get exposure on both sites.

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app!

See http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008E88JN0

or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008E88JN0 for outside the UK **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel, which is being serialised on Novel Nights In!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. I welcome critique for the four new writing groups listed below and / or flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays. For other opportunities see (see Opportunities on this blog).

The full details of the new online writing groups, and their associated Facebook groups, are:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 17, 2012 in ebooks, interview, non-fiction, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Author interview no.403 with Christian writer Henry Miranda

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
