RSS

11 responses to “Author interview no.466 with non-fiction writer and poet Jasha Levi

  1. Sophie E Tallis

    August 19, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Another great interview, Morgen. Enjoy your conference today and have a wonderful Birthday! Don’t work too hard! 😀 x

     
  2. Yvonne Hertzberger

    August 19, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    Hi Jasha. 🙂
    It also doesn’t hurt that your title “Blood Without Honey” evokes the connection with Angelina Jolie’s movie ” In The Land of Blood and Honey.” I suspect that was no accident. Good luck with it.

     
    • Jasha M. Levi

      August 19, 2012 at 10:54 pm

      Hi Yvonne, glad you you saw it. Of course, the title was on purpose, but not to evoke it but to underline that she tried to explain the Bosnian puzzle and Sarajevans though she didn’t succeed. I keep writing about it because it is so inexplicable to people not used to centuries old blood vendettas and religious wars lasting from medieval believers to contemporary atheists.

       
    • Jasha M. Levi

      August 20, 2012 at 11:09 am

      I do say in the inroduction that I took the title on purpose. We are both trying to explain the atavistic, incomprehensible hatreds of forgotten fights between relatives and the unbelievable religious rivalries between non-bilievers.

       
  3. clancy tucker

    August 20, 2012 at 2:33 am

    Morgen, great interview with my good friend Jasha. I’ve also interviewed him on my daily blog which is similar to yours. Would you like to share / co-share, our guests? Have some interesting folks coming up: top authors, a Turkish illustrator, senior Thai diplomat based in the Middle East, filmmaker, top human rights lawyers from around the world; even a Prime Minister’s sister who is famous in her country as an author etc.

    Clancy Tucker
    http://www.clancytucker.blog.com
    ‘Downunder’

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 20, 2012 at 2:13 pm

      Gladly, Clancy. Whilst I can’t give out email addresses if there’s anyone who appeals on the list I have compiled so far (https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/blog-interviews) I can certainly put them in touch with you (or you could leave a comment underneath the interview and I can forward it on.

      As for here, my only prerequisite is that someone writes (and illustrator would be interesting if book-related illustrations). 🙂

       
  4. Lurrae Lupone

    August 20, 2012 at 3:25 am

    To know Jasha Levi is a gift. To
    hear him speak about his life and writing, a greater one. To witness his life at 91 as if he were just beginning it, is to be inspired. Jasha is to be admired for
    the life he has lived, remembers and shares so well. Keep it up, Jasha!

     
    • Jasha M. Levi

      August 20, 2012 at 11:06 am

      Lurrae, are you sure we know the same person? Thank you anyway, I need more feathers to improve my looks.

       
  5. Joel D Canfield

    August 20, 2012 at 5:17 am

    Jasha, I envy your ability to think in multiple languages. My Spanish has almost left me entirely or I could write romance more believably.

    Perhaps 40 years from now, I’ll have stories to tell.

     
    • Jasha M. Levi

      August 20, 2012 at 11:05 am

      Joel, believe me, if this time of life is typical, you will. I am almost ready to start a novel, I feel so free of inhibitions which prevented me up to now to invent other people’s lives.

       
  6. morgenbailey

    August 20, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    How lovely to see so many comments here. Thank you everyone… and Jasha for being such an interesting ‘subject’. 🙂

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
