RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 035: Hospital bed by Dave Lewis

20 Aug

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the thirty-fifth poem in this series. This week’s piece is by poet and organiser of the International Welsh Poetry Competition Dave Lewis.

Hospital bed

and he is strangely
alone

without a change of clothes
or suitcase

on holiday with
a drip for company

stares at the rain
of the outside world

rivulets life-force down
the hospice greenhouse glass

foggy head
he wonders about

his own tomatoes
dying in the sun

***

Morgen: I asked Dave what prompted this piece and he said…

I can only imagine how lonely and horrific it is to be diagnosed with terminal cancer and know that you will never do the things you always wanted to do one day. The ‘holiday’ to the hospice is a one-way ticket and no-one shares this with you. My father had a nice view from the window but I’m not sure if this makes it worse as you see the life in nature – the weather etc. Outside my father’s room was a neglected greenhouse and through the morphine I wonder what dreams he had. I hope they were as bright and beautiful as the tomatoes he used to grow.

Thank you, Dave, that was really sad but beautiful. My father was in a similar situation (although he had the joy of High Wycombe town centre rather than a greenhouse, and dementia rather than cancer) – part of the inspiration behind my poem Three Quarters of a Whole).

Dave Lewis is from Pontypridd, South Wales. He has written newspaper columns, poetry for magazines, sports stories for the BBC and is organiser of the International Welsh Poetry Competition – www.welshpoetry.co.uk.

He has published six books to date – Layer Cake, a poetry collection, Urban Birdsong – a collection of short stories, prose, poetry and one song, Sawing Fallen Logs For Ladybird Houses, a collection of poetry with photographs on his website.

In 2011 he published his first novel, Ctrl-Alt-Delete, a crime thriller set in Wales and has just published a Haiku collection.

His story ‘Onions’ won a runner-up spot in the Rhys Davies short story competition 2010.

For more details visit Dave’s website – www.david-lewis.co.uk.

***

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with multi-genre author Maria Richmond – the four hundred and sixty-eighth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me.  I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) 🙂 on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are fortnightly episodes, usually released on Sundays, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Post-weekend Poetry 035: Hospital bed by Dave Lewis

  1. Dave Lewis

    August 22, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    Hi Morgen

    Thanks for this. Hope people appreciate it.

    Dave

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 22, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      I did, especially having been in a similar situation.

      I look forward to hosting more of your poems. 🙂

       

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
