RSS

Daily Archives: September 3, 2012

Post-weekend Poetry 037: ‘The Problem with Interrupting’ by Linda Eve Diamond

Linda by Kate Gardiner Photography

Linda by Kate Gardiner Photography

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the thirty-seventh poem in this series. This week’s piece welcomes back Linda Eve Diamond.

The Problem with Interrupting

She said I couldn’t love you
He snapped a quick reply:
You said you did, you lied to me, but then all women lie.

With that, he gathered up his things and spewed a harsh goodbye.
She would have loved him always, but he had one awful flaw.
He interrupted her every sentence, her every little thought.

But oh, how she cried when he walked out the door.
The rest of her sentence would have been more!

I asked Linda what prompted this piece and she said…

I write a lot about listening. I wrote this one and posted it for fun at http://ListenersUnite.com as a “cautionary tale.” 😉

Thank you, Linda.

Linda Eve Diamond is the author of several books in the areas of business, education, self-help and poetry. Her work (and play) earned two awards from the International Listening Association and a Coffee House Press Poetry Award. Her poetry and essays have been published in journals, anthologies and online. Her websites are: http://LindaEveDiamond.com, http://ListenersUnite.com, http://www.thebeautyofpicturebooks.com.

The Beauty of ListeningThis poem is included in “The Beauty of Listening”, available on Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk.

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with multi-genre author Rinah Lidonde aka Christina Ow – the four hundred and eighty-second of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

***

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app via Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel The Serial Dater’s Shopping List) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique for the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 3, 2012 in ebooks, poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,