RSS

Daily Archives: September 12, 2012

Author Spotlight no.119 – Pat Garcia

Complementing my daily blog interviews, today’s Author Spotlight, the one hundred and nineteenth, is of author, blogger, singer, and musician Pat Garcia.

Pat Garcia, officially named Patricia Anne Pierce-garcia Schaack, an American author, blogger, singer, and musician, is currently living in Germany.   Born in a small country town in Blythe, Georgia, USA, it had always been her desire to see the world and to write and sing.  She loves reaching out to help others, playing her piano, singing, and learning new technology. An Apple fan, she enjoys taking her iPad everywhere she goes so that she can write.  Pat is a voracious reader and her life revolves around her writing and her singing.

And now from the author herself:

If I am honest with myself, I must admit that sometimes I ask myself just that question.  Who am I really?  And I believe that, that is a question that plagues those people who really want to be true to themselves.

Born in Blythe, Georgia in the United States of America as Patricia Anne Pierce-garcia Schaack, I was never satisfied with the hum-drum of just being alive.  I believe I came out of my mother’s womb with a mission and a purpose in life to write and sing, and since my conception I have been on that journey.

There are a lot of firsts in my life.

I was the first Afro-American graduate from an all-white High School in Augusta, Georgia.  At that time, the call went out, “Who will volunteer to go?”  My parents volunteered me.  I don’t think they realized the magnification of what they were doing at that time.  They only knew that they wanted something better for their children, so at the age of 16, I was pulled out of my environment and pulled away from all of those friends and people that I knew so well, and put into an environment of hostility, hate and aggression.  If you were to ask me today, would I let my parents do that to me again?  I would have to say, yes.  That was a period in my life where I discovered that fighting spirit in me and I learned to excel above the norm.  It was a struggle and I felt like I was in a war.  What I didn’t realize is, that I was.  The war, which was against all those dreams and desires that I had within my heart to accomplish and fulfill.

It was at George P. Butler High School, that I would meet an English teacher, a teacher of Journalism and a school counselor who would impact my life for the rest of my journey.  To say that my English teacher opened me to the world of Shakespeare, William Blake, Robert Frost, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Victoria Holt, James Baldwin and Roderick Thorpe and many others would be an understatement.  She developed and shaped my love for reading.  There isn’t a book that is safe from my eyes until today, if I have an interest in the subject or if I am curious about what it has to say.  I am a voracious reader.  Thus, reading books on Einstein’s Relativity Theory have been wondrous highlights for me or reading Nature’s Destiny by Michael J. Denton is a book where I can curl up on my sofa and lose myself. I am in love with reading.  Thus, one of the things that I enjoy doing is buying books.  For me, the digital reader was the best thing that could have been developed because now I read everything digitally and can take my library with me.  What a joy that is!

You can find more about Pat and her writing via…

http://www.facebook.com/Pat7Garcia

http://www.facebook.com/Garcia7Pat

http://garciaanddigitaltechnology.com Blog

http://garciaandwalkon.wordpress.com Blog

http://patgarciabookreviews.wordpress.com Blog

http://www.patgarcia.co.uk Blog

http://www.patgarciaschaack.com Blog

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/patricia-pierce-garcia-schaack/35/7b/20

http://www.pgs-patgarciaschaack.com Website

twitter – @pat_garcia

Wow. And I thought I was prolific. Thank you, Pat.

Pat will be returning in February for our indepth interview. 🙂

***

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with multi-genre author Salvatore Buttaci – the four hundred and ninety-first of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum and you can follow me on Twitter, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) 🙂 on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are weekly episodes, usually released Monday mornings UK time, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,