RSS

Daily Archives: September 19, 2012

Author Spotlight no.121 – Mary Batten

Complementing my daily blog interviews, today’s Author Spotlight, the one hundred and twenty-first, is of Mary Batten.

Mary is an award-winning writer for television, film and publishing.  Her many writing projects have taken her into tropical rainforests, astronomical observatories, scientific laboratories, and medical research centers.

She is the author of many nature / science books for adults and children, including: How To Have Sex If You’re Not Human: Intimate Journeys in Natural History; Please Don’t Wake the Animals: A Book About Sleep; Aliens from Earth: When Animals and Plants Invade Other Ecosystems – 2006 Izaak Walton League of America Conservation Book of the Year Award; Sexual Strategies: How Females Choose Their Mates, and Anthropologist: Scientist of the People – Named Outstanding Science Trade Book for Children by the National Science Teachers Association and the Children’s Book Council.

Her magazine articles are published in a variety of publications, including Cosmopolitan, Ladies Home Journal, Modern Maturity, Shape, International Wildlife, National Geographic World, ZooNooz, and Science Digest,

She hosts a weekly podcast on BlogTalkRadio, EXPLORING NATURE WITH MARY BATTEN.

Mary was nominated for an Emmy for her work on the Children’s Television Workshop’s science series 3-2-1-CONTACT, and she has written some 50 nature documentaries for television series, including the syndicated WILD WILD WORLD OF ANIMALS (Time-Life Films) and others for National Geographic and Disney Educational Films.

And now from the author herself:

I am fascinated by nature—both human and nonhuman—and my books are about subjects that grab my attention and stimulate my curiosity. Sexual Strategies explores the powerful role that female mate choice plays in evolution. My new eBook, How To Have Sex If You’re Not Human, deals with hidden, often bizarre mating habits of animals and reproductive strategies of plants. Yes, the blooming plants “do it,” too; and for plants, three isn’t a crowd; it’s necessity for botanical reproduction.

My children’s book, Aliens From Earth, deals with the timely issue of exotic species that have invaded just about every habitat on the planet except Antarctica. Please Don’t Wake The Animals presents the sleeping patterns of various animals, from the sloth that sleeps hanging upside down in rainforest trees to the giant weta, a kind of cricket that slows down its metabolism and actually freezes solid every night but thaws out each morning.

Some of my books were triggered by children’s questions. For example, Who Has A Belly Button? answers the question, “Why do I have a belly button?”

I’m interested in doing all I can to help increase children’s science literacy. I believe evolutionary biology is as important in the curriculum as language and math because it is the science of who we are, how we evolved and where we might be heading as a species. We live in a world where science education is more important than ever before. Yet in some countries, certain people, including right-wing politicians and fundamentalist religious groups, pursue anti-science policies that cultivate ignorance and superstition.

I love my work because I am always learning something new.

You can find more about Mary and her writing via…

Website: http://www.marybatten.com

Sexual Strategies Website: http://www.sexualstrategies.com

Blog: http://www.thinkaboutwriting.blogspot.com

Facebook Book Page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mary-Batten-Books/195407830554662?sk=wall

Twitter: @marybatten

Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmLTWEYFTAI

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Mary-Batten/e/B000APVLXK

Mary returns in January for our interview. 🙂

***

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with historical / biblical fiction and non-fiction author Laura J Davis – the four hundred and ninety-eight of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me. I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) 🙂 on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are fortnightly episodes, usually released on Sundays, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,