RSS

Author Spotlight no.125 – Marilyn Levinson

06 Oct

Complementing my daily blog interviews, today’s Author Spotlight, the one hundred and twenty-fifth, is of Marilyn Levinson.

A former Spanish teacher, Marilyn Levinson writes mysteries, romantic suspense, and books for kids.

Her latest mystery, Murder a la Christie, is out with Oak Tree Press. Untreed Reads has brought out a new e-edition of her first Twin Lakes mystery, A Murderer Among Us–a Suspense Magazine Best Indie–and will bring out a new e-edition of the sequel, Murder in the Air, in April.Her ghost mystery, Giving Up the Ghost, and her romantic suspense, Dangerous Relations, are out with Uncial Press.

CF - Murder a la Christie 150All of her mysteries take place on Long Island, where she lives. Her books for young readers include No Boys Allowed; Rufus and Magic Run Amok, which was awarded a Children’s Choice; Getting Back to Normal, and And Don’t Bring Jeremy.

Marilyn loves traveling, reading, knitting, doing Sudoku, and visiting with her granddaughter, Olivia, on FaceTime. She is co-founder and past president of the Long Island chapter of Sisters in Crime.

Her website is: www.marilynlevinson.com.

And now from the author herself:

A Mystery Writer Publishes Her First Romantic Suspense

I love writing mysteries, and decided to try my hand at writing a romantic suspense novel. Mystery and romantic suspense novels share certain common elements: danger, suspense, and suspects.  However, there are differences. A romantic suspense does not necessarily include a murder mystery. The heroine may be running from someone out to kill her. Presiding over the novel is our hero and heroine’s great love story. They are drawn to one another, and wrenched apart because of very serious issues. Together, they solve the mystery or vanquish the bad guys. True love triumphs — which is why we have no romantic suspense series.

My romantic suspense, DANGEROUS RELATIONS, published by Uncial Press, makes its ebook debut next week. It’s a full-blown mystery, and a love story, as well. Ardin Wesley has returned to her New Jersey hometown, to settle her mother in an assisted living facility. She can’t wait to return to Manhattan, where she’s an attorney in a large firm. Thornedale holds too many painful memories, especially those of her brief but abusive marriage to Corey MacAllister. Then her promiscuous cousin, Suziette, is murdered, and Ardin finds herself embroiled in a complicated and dangerous situation.

Brett Waterstone, her cousin’s widower, asks Ardin to help with the adoption procedures that will allow him to adopt Suziette’s little girl, whom he’s come to love. The adoption has dragged on because Suziette has never revealed the name of the child’s natural father. Brett is furious when Ardin tells him Suziette has named her mother as the little girl’s guardian, and then Ardin, if her mother cannot care for the child.

Ardin’s unhappy marriage has left her believing she is not cut out for marriage and motherhood. She finds herself falling for Brett as she makes plans to adopt the little girl she adores. At the same time, she and Brett try to discover who has murdered Suziette and why. Suziette’s confidant is murdered, and Ardin is almost killed, when the murderer burns down her aunt’s house with her inside.

DANGEROUS RELATIONS will be available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble.

Come visit me at: www.marilynlevinson.com.

Please do. Thank you, Marilyn.

   

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with mystery / thriller writer Helen Smith – the five hundred and thirteenth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me. I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) 🙂 on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are fortnightly episodes, usually released on Sundays, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 6, 2012 in childrens, ebooks, interview, novels, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Author Spotlight no.125 – Marilyn Levinson

  1. Marja McGraw

    October 6, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    Marilyn, Your books sound like something I’d enjoy. I’ve added them to my TBR list and look forward to an enjoyable day of reading. Nice post!

     
  2. Marilyn Levinson

    October 6, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    Thanks, Marja. Don’t forget to download MURDER IN THE AIR, if you haven’t already. It’s free today and tomorrow.

     
  3. morgenbailey

    October 6, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Thank you, ladies. Lovely to hear from you both. And Marilyn, I’ll get your book and mention it on Facebook and Twitter so hopefully some of the (combined) c.3,800 contacts will download it too.

     
  4. marilynm

    October 6, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Hi, Marilyn, I enjoyed learning more about you! We cross paths so often that I’m sure people get us mixed up at time. Marilyn M>

     
  5. Marilyn Levinson

    October 7, 2012 at 1:15 am

    I’m delighted our paths are crossing more often. Shows I’m in good company.

     
  6. Jean Henry Mead

    October 7, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Morgen, thanks for the interview. I just downloaded Murder in the Air and look forward to reading it and Marilyn’s other books as well.

     
  7. Linda R

    October 7, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    Marilyn, Dangerous Relations sounds intriguing to me! I will absolutely be on the lookout for it. Thank you for this interview, Morgen!

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
