RSS

5a.m. Flash 241012 – Are you doing NaNoWriMo?

24 Oct

This November will see my fifth NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). That’s 250,000 words in five years. Actually it’s over 300,000 because 2009 ended up being a 117,540-word first draft… within the month… in fact I finished with a couple of days to spare. I started with a lad lit, then a chick lit but my works have got darker and this year will be another crime novel… I think. I’ve not decided yet and yes, I know, I’m leaving it rather late but back in 2009 I decided what to write with a couple of days to go and look how that turned out. 🙂

So take a look at my NaNoWriMo page which explains all and let me know if you’re doing it this year.

There’s also a brilliant My 10 Not So Secret Secrets to Winning NaNoWriMo courtesy of Vikki and her ‘The View Outside’ blog. She’s written on the topic before, on Bridget Whelan’s blog. And Rita Kuehn has written two great articles: on writing novel beginnings, middles and ends and 10 things you can do to get ready to write. 🙂

NaNo clearly means a lot to Vikki, in fact she says that if it wasn’t for NaNoWriMo (or more specifically the former head honcho of it Chris Baty) she doesn’t think she wouldn’t be writing now and as Vikki is an avid supporter of my blog, I’m grateful to Chris too.

So, if you’ve ever wanted to write a novel, don’t wait until you’ve retired (if you have, that’s even better, you’ll have the time!). Do it 1st to 30th November… or at least 50,000 words of it because you can’t edit a blank page.

***

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books and I also have a blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) 🙂 on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are fortnightly episodes, usually released on Sundays, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “5a.m. Flash 241012 – Are you doing NaNoWriMo?

  1. patgarcia

    October 24, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    Hi,
    I did NaNoWriMo last year and didn’t manage to finish it, because I was working on a novel to submit to a writing contest. I plan to do participate again this year with a new novel that I would like to write, but I haven’t registered yet. I will though. It is a great challenge, and to be quite honest, I love the challenge and being a part of it.

    Thanks for the reminder.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

     
  2. morgenbailey

    October 24, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    Oh, so do I, Pat. Welcome on board. 🙂

     
  3. Vikki (The View Outside)

    October 24, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Thanks Morgen 🙂

    Good luck!

    Xx

     
    • morgenbailey

      October 24, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      You’re very welcome, and you. 🙂

       
  4. brokeartist

    October 24, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    Hey Morgen. This is my first scary year of NaNo. Hoping to get through it without complete breakdown. I’m getting quite a bit of support with this though.

    Thanks for posting this. Going to check out Vikki’s not so secret ways right now.

     
    • morgenbailey

      October 24, 2012 at 7:11 pm

      You’re very welcome, brokeartist (I know that feeling!). The first time I planned quite a lot and found that I only vaguely stuck to that plan but that the story and the characters took over. Do try and do something every day, with a catch-up at the weekend where you can. Last year was my first November with this blog running alongside and I stormed ahead (3K) on the first day but then let it slip (nothing for over two weeks!). Don’t worry about it being brilliant, or even vaguely good. NaNo is quantity not quality and you can’t edit a blank page so all you can do is your best, and even if it’s your worst it really doesn’t matter, because that’s where the editing will come in.

       

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
