RSS

Daily Archives: October 29, 2012

Post-weekend Poetry 045: The Novel by Linda Eve Diamond

Linda by Kate Gardiner Photography

Linda by Kate Gardiner Photography

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the forty-fifth poem in this series. This week’s piece welcomes back Linda Eve Diamond and perfect timing for those of us embarking on NaNoWriMo this Thursday. 🙂

The Novel

I want to write…

…but the pen is so far away…

Across miles of minutia,
snacks, a telephone,
the world outside,
a winding superhighway.

As I binge my time away,
I contemplate my novel—
my navel—

Why the neighbor
mows the lawn at dawn
… and then again at noon.

I imagine the finished novel
discovered one day in its entirety
inside my head and heart
by a coroner.

He’ll find blood rich with story
characters in my capillaries
irony woven through my veins,
plot twists on the matter of my brain.

He will fall in love
with the writer I never was.

He’ll say it was true of me
like so many others he’s seen—
She had a novel inside her.

***

I asked Linda what prompted this piece and she said…

I was asked in a radio interview when I’d be writing “the novel”. When I had another interview coming up on the same show, I thought about that question and wrote this poem. I then told him I had just completed “The Novel.” Was that cheating?  😉

I wouldn’t have said so. 🙂 I loved it. Thank you, Linda.

The Beauty of ListeningLinda Eve Diamond is the author of several books in the areas of business, education, self-help and poetry.

Her work (and play) earned two awards from the International Listening Association and a Coffee House Press Poetry Award.

Her poetry and essays have been published in journals, anthologies and online.

Her websites are: http://LindaEveDiamond.com, http://ListenersUnite.com, http://www.thebeautyofpicturebooks.com.

This poem is included in “The Beauty of Listening”, available on Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk.

***

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with non-fiction author Frank Newby – the five hundred and thirty-sixth of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

***

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app via Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel The Serial Dater’s Shopping List) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique for the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 29, 2012 in ebooks, events, NaNoWriMo, novels, poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5a.m. Flash 291012 – Free Thriller eBook by G.T. Rigdon 29 & 30 October

What is the line that separates good and evil, coincidence and providence, delusion and reality? This question is confronted by G.T. Rigdon, author of morally engaged fiction, provocative stories for curious minds. His book High Striker will be available for FREE on Kindle during 10/29 to 10/30 2012.

For more information visit www.gtrigdon.com.

At Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/High-Striker-ebook/dp/B008YPL8AO.

***

G.T. Rigdon is an engineer, an ex-minister, and a writer.

One of his favorite quotes is from Plutarch who said: “The mind is not a vessel to be filled but a fire to be kindled.”

He finds great satisfaction by igniting such fires with morally-engaged, provocative stories.

***

Do you have a free eBook scheduled? Would you like me to ‘5a.m. Flash’ it? Just send me a short blurb, dates it’s free, website links and third-person biography and I’ll gladly put it up at 5a.m. on the first day it’s due to go live.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books and I also have a blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) 🙂 on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are weekly episodes, usually released Monday mornings UK time, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 29, 2012 in ebooks, novels, writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,