RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 050: Memories of a Trip by Siggy Buckley

03 Dec

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the fiftieth poem in this series. This week’s piece is by multi-genre writer Siggy Buckley (you can read my interview with Siggy here).

Memories of a Trip 

Scared out of my mind
Heart thumping
Chilled to the bone under layers of blankets
In my surgical gown and silly cap
I wait to be knocked out by Ketamine
The human horse tranquillizer
Headed to ‘a happy place’
A medically induced coma to interrupt incessantly firing nerve networks
Causing me migraines on end
Shutting down continuous pain signals that have outgrown their usefulness
But keep creating havoc and agony.

I of little faith am afraid.

One minute I was there
The other I’m disintegrating
Reduced to a molecule, an eye
Flung into a white room square and empty.

Space Odyssey without the music
Residual Me is propelled forward
Hurled into corners of bright nothingness
My frontal cortex is dissociated from my body
No hands to hold on to safety, no legs to stem the fall
Catapulted down a slide
Another white chamber with infinite boundaries
Unlike the mystical bright light at the end of a tunnel.
Is this dying?
No peace and calm but
Howling pain and fear
Real sensations override where oblivion should rule.

Resurfacing from the vortex
I get a grip
Of my doctor’s hand
Regaining consciousness
The pain never went away
Keeps torturing me
Costlier than an acid trip, but FDA approved
Another hope shattered
Leaving me with this memory
where there should be none.

***

©  9-13-12 Siggy Buckley

I asked Siggy what prompted this piece and she said…

The recent experience of a ‘Ketamine intervention’ triggered off this poem. This procedure sends the patient into an artificial coma; used primarily on burn victims, it makes the pain bearable that accompanies the changing of their bandages. For them it’s proven to work.

It is now tried also on chronic pain patients diagnosed with a centrally mediated pain syndrome where pain signal – sending nerves are out of whack and make life a torture. It was an attempt by highly-trained pain management experts to interrupt my pain cycle and reset the brain to normal.

In party circles it’s known as the ”K hole” when a user takes too much of the drug and goes on a wild trip.

Wow. Thank you, Siggy.

SiggySiggy Buckley is a 50-ish year-old German, formerly a teacher, small business owner, and now writer who lived in Ireland for 15 years as a result of her then-husband taking his family to an organic farm, there. She has also taught at the University of Limerick.

After the break-up of her marriage, she morphed herself into an entrepreneur, first a matchmaker and then wine importer. She married an Irish American in 2005 and dabbles in blogging & writing.

***

If you’d like to submit your poem (40 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here.

The blog interviews will return as normal tomorrow with poet Kellie Elmore – the five hundred and seventy-first of my blog interviews with novelists, poets, short story authors, bloggers, biographers, agents, publishers and more. A list of interviewees (blogged and scheduled) can be found here. If you like what you read, please do go and investigate further. And I enjoy hearing from readers of my blog; do either leave a comment on the relevant interview (the interviewees love to hear from you too!) and / or email me.

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app!

See http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008E88JN0

or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008E88JN0 for outside the UK **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me posting it online in my new Red Pen Critique Sunday night posts, then do email me. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 3, 2012 in ebooks, poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Post-weekend Poetry 050: Memories of a Trip by Siggy Buckley

  1. Jill Schaefer

    December 10, 2012 at 12:22 am

    Morgen, Please ask Siggy Buckely to resend her email to me. It has disappeared and I cannot find it. Thank you. Jill Schaefer

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
