RSS

10 responses to “Author interview no.597 with suspense mystery novelist Debra R Borys

  1. morganmandel

    December 30, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    I kept all my rejections and the submissions that were returned, but now, at my age, I don’t feel like waiting, so I’ve gone the indie route. It’s marvelous that we have a choice these days. No right or wrong way to get published!

    Morgan Mandel

     
  2. morgenbailey

    December 30, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    It is, absolutely, Morgan (great name!). I’m an indie too and the only wrong thing with self-publishing is when something’s not ready. Providing we get feedback on our writing, we can feel confident that it will be enjoyed.

     
  3. dborys

    December 30, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    Thanks, Morgen, for the interview. I enjoyed your questions and hope people enjoy my answers. I would like to add an addendum I forgot to tell you about. Painted Black is now available in trade paperback, not just ebook. And I recently published a mystery novel Through the Dark (under pseudonym Deb Donahue) through PersonalNOVEL. Currently that is only available for shipping to the UK, but the cool thing is you can personalize the characters to be yourself and people you know. The website site is http://www.personalnovel.co.uk/uk/book/581/through-the-dark if anyone is interested.

     
  4. morgenbailey

    December 30, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Wow, that sounds like fun. Thank you for the update – I’ve added it to the end so the Blogspot revisit is accurate (or at least accurate as of now).

     
  5. patgarcia

    January 1, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    Hi Morgen,
    Thank you for this interview with Debra R Borys that interested me very much, and I thank you Debra for answering the questions about writing contests and rejections, and how you deal with them. Believe it or not your interview has been very helpful too me. I have questions that I am seeking answers for, and your interview with Morgen has brought me one step closer.

    Happy New Yer and I wish you all the best with your writing endeavours in 2013.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

     
    • dborys

      January 1, 2013 at 6:12 pm

      Thank you, Patricia, I’m so happy to hear my interview helped answer some of your questions. I always enjoy the camaraderie I find among other writers and your comment is just one example of how we can be supportive of each other. Happy New Year to you, as well, and great luck with your writing!

       
    • morgenbailey

      January 1, 2013 at 6:13 pm

      Yay, thank you, Pat. Glad it’s helped you. What else are you stuck on? I have an ‘Ask Me’ facility. 🙂 https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/ask-me

       
      • patgarcia

        January 2, 2013 at 12:00 pm

        Hi,
        Tried to find your ask me facility, but couldn’t. I am trying to find out the process for picking winners in a writing contest, and the length of time needed to choose them. I believe my impatience button is working overtime, because I have no experienced with entering contests, but I have been waiting for a length of time.
        Thanks in advance for any guidance on this issue.
        Ciao,
        Pat

         
  6. morgenbailey

    January 2, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    Hi Pat. I did put the link on my comment but ‘Ask Me’ is on the top row of the top menu, in the middle (they’re all numerical then alphabetical apart from ‘Home’), should you need it in future, or you can just email me. 🙂

    To answer your question – I’m involved in a couple of writing competitions (and they’re sub-pages of the competitions page (https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/competitions-calendar) and listed at the top of that page.

    1. I’m current chair of the Northampton Writers’ Group and they’ve been running the H.E. Bates Short Story Competition for a number of years. It probably works differently to most because we’re a writing group but we do the first round judging (each entry is read by at least three people – Nick, the Comp Secretary and I read them all) then Nick collates the scores and sends the top 10 to the Head Judge (this year was crime writer Stephen Booth) who picks the top 3. This process takes a few weeks.

    2. I’m also a member of Northampton Literature Group which runs a yearly poetry competition (they’re taking a year off this year) so they also have one person (Pat) to collate the entries, all of which go off to their two judges. Again this is a slow process.

    Presumably the competition you entered has a website (on which they’ll announce the winners)? Are they having a prize-giving? Nick’s only just advised the shortlisted and our prize-giving is 11th Feb so yours could run close to the wire too.

    I don’t know of any competition who advises those who haven’t been shortlisted so I’d say if you haven’t heard within 3 months then check with them to make sure so you can release the story for submission elsewhere.

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
